RSS

Curious…

17 Nov

I have yet to finish the Fifty Shades trilogy, but I’m close.  It’s difficult to get through more than one chapter at a time.

Just as you might think, the books pose questions and ideas that may never have crossed your mind before.  Or perhaps they have, but they’ve been dismissed quickly.  Or not….

The last book in particular briefly mentions a topic that got my wheels turning.  I began thinking about what I do.  It occurred to me that my current morning choice is totally opposite of what I enjoyed as a new bride.  And I wonder when and why I changed my mind.

Early on, I liked to wait until after I’ve had coffee to do it, and I would scoff at the idea of doing it before.  In fact I would make fun of anyone who actually wanted to do it before coffee.  It seemed like total nonsense to me.

But as the years past, my feelings began to change.  Somewhere along the way I became a believer in doing it before coffee.  I am now to the point where it is the first thing I want to do when I wake.

And it’s so gratifying from beginning to end.  Sometimes I want it to go on forever.  But like all good things, it must come to an end.  I rinse off, then head to the kitchen to start my morning java.

Funny how coffee is so much more enjoyable after I’ve had my little tryst.

I’m quite sure not every one shares my feelings.  Heck, I didn’t even have these feelings until I’d been married a while.  But since I’ve been in favor of both ways, I am no longer critical of others’ choices.

So go ahead and be honest……

When do you like to brush your teeth?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2012 in Everyday Living, Humor

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Curious…

  1. Abby

    November 18, 2012 at 2:50 am

    HA!

    Y’know, BEFORE I got married, I never even thought about “when”. I’d just make sure to do it regularly and often. Now, it’s usually an afterthought. It could be lunchtime and I’ll suddenly wonder if I’ve gotten it yet. One thing is for sure, though. I HAVE TO have it before I go to sleep.

    I’ve got this friend? Does it 3 times a day. I worry about chafing. All that friction. She’s going to rub everything off in there pretty soon.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 18, 2012 at 2:57 am

      It’s a given that I have to have it before I go to sleep! It’s just the morning routine that has changed as I’ve aged.
      Three times a day? As enjoyable as it is, that would be a little much. Kinda gotta allow for build up to make the evening time more worthwhile.

       
  2. territerri

    November 18, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Sometimes after work, I’m feeling a little… you know… DIRTY. So I will often want to do it just as soon as I get home from work, in addition to the usual times for doing it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 18, 2012 at 10:46 pm

      Oooh…. right after work….. That’s somethin’ I haven’t tried yet. I usually chew gum, but maybe a quickie in the bathroom would be more enjoyable!

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    November 18, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Hey Shadow! I just stopped to say hi! Stopped reading those books they’re going to mess with your brain! LOL! 😉 big hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 18, 2012 at 10:42 pm

      They’re GOING to? I think they already have. 😉 Good to see you again!

       
  4. meleahrebeccah

    November 19, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Bahahahahahhahaha! I can’t brush my teeth until AFTER I’ve had my coffee!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 19, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      That’s really the only thing I CAN do before coffee.

       
  5. Rock Chef

    November 19, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    I am happy to “brush my teeth” at just about any time, really.

    I just saw a book called “50 Sheds of Grey”, about a guy trying to deal with a wife who has just read and been inspired by “those books” – when all he is interested in is his shed!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 19, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      Oh that’s funny. I’ll be ready for something a little lighter once I’ve finished the series… I may have to check it out! 🙂

       
  6. agg79

    November 22, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    I like to do it before AND after coffee. I know of a coworker who will even do it 5-6 times a day (he’s sort of obsessed) but I think he is just abusing himself. Of course it is nothing like when I was younger and only did it at night.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      5 or 6 times a day? That’s crazy.
      Like you, when I was younger, I rarely wanted to do it. ‘Course as I got older I wanted it more and more. I appreciate it so much more now.

       
  7. Jules

    December 10, 2012 at 12:47 am

    Are those books worth reading? Aside from all the romance stuff, does it have a good storyline?
    As for brushing teeth, I brush twice a day, once in the morning, once before I go to bed. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
