RSS

Giving Thanks

22 Nov

Thanksgiving has to be my favorite holiday of the year.  I mean, come on..  Turkey, mashed potatoes,yams, corn, stuffing, cranberry sauce, and a medley of desserts…. what’s not to love?

And then there’s the parade and football and games with the family.

**sigh**

Love it.

I wonder if I love it because it seems to be the underdog of the holidays.  It’s merely a stepping stone. A reminder that there’s only 4 MORE WEEKS til Christmas!  And every year it gets pushed further and further in to the ground as the Christmas commercialization gains more and more strength.

I have vowed to never let Christmas take over Thanksgiving, and this year will be no different.  I plan to spend my Thanksgiving Day baking, eating, and watching Amp’s high school band perform live on TV.  And, of course, giving thanks for all that I have.

It goes without saying that I am extremely thankful that I have an intelligent, creative, funny husband who loves me even when I make it difficult.  (Well, at least he says he loves me…. I told you he was intelligent.)

And I’m very thankful that I haven’t failed miserably as a parent.  My children are happy and healthy (continue crossing your fingers for Link, please…), and cause us very little concern.

I’m also thankful for my blog friends.  I feel very lucky to have been able to get to know some warm, caring, entertaining, and determined people from all over the word.  There are many days when reading your posts has been a great source of stress release.

But I’m also thankful for quite a few little things. To name a few, in no particular order……

I am thankful I have a job.  Okay, that’s a lie already.  I mean, I am thankful, I suppose, when I think about all the people out there who don’t have jobs, but having my job means I have to work on Thanksgiving Day.  Luckily it’s later in the afternoon, so I’ll get to stuff myself ahead of time.

I am thankful that Amp can now drive on his own.  With the older two boys busy with their own schedules, the carpooling has fallen to us again.  Sure, our insurance premiums are going up  a ton once again, but if it means I can sit on the couch at night, undisturbed, then it’s totally worth it!

I am thankful my eyes don’t realize they are over 40 yet.  I’m not going to be the one to tell them.  I hope you all can keep quiet as well. I like being able to read with my arms at a normal distance from my face.

I’m thankful that my hairdresser can squeeze me in once every 5 weeks to disguise my gray.  Hmmm… that could be the reason my eyes don’t know they’re over 40…

I am particularly thankful for Pinterest, and my colleague at work who recently got me hooked on it  Where has this been all my baking life?

And I’m thankful that Love From the Oven has pinned a “Keep Calm and Make Hostess at Home” site so that my friends and family don’t have to go without Twinkies and Hostess Cakes and Donut Gems and Hostess Fruit Pies.

But I’m more thankful that it was Hostess that went bankrupt and not my beloved Prairie Farms.  If I had to go without my favorite ice cream, I would just surrender to the Zombies.

Finally, I’m thankful that my legs have been very cooperative with my desire to have a good showing at the half-marathon in April.  Just 8 days after my 9.5 mile run, I ran a full 10 miles.  And they’re being real troopers through it all.  Of course they can thank my new shoes and my rolly thing.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you, your family and your friends!  Hope you’re able to enjoy your day as much as I plan to!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2012 in Family, Friendship, Holidays, Humor

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. agg79

    November 22, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    All excellent reasons to be thankful for. Glad to hear that your legs are cooperating with the training. If you can pull off 10 without any real problem, what’s another 3.1 more? At this rate, you’ll be coasting next April’s run.

    And hopefully someone will pick up the Twinkie. Otherwise, it really could be the end of civilization as we know it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      At this point, another 3.1 miles would do me in. But I feel so much more confident now that I can do it. Were you able to get any runs in while on vacation? Those are my favorite times to run, because the scenery is all new.
      Someone HAS to pick up the Twinkie. I’ve actually never been a big fan, even as a kid, because they’re so sweet, but they’re an institution. They can’t be gone forever!

       
  2. meleahrebeccah

    November 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Awesome post, Shadow!! Happy Thanksgiving!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Same to you Meleah! Hope you have a great day with your family! I love them you know! 😉

       
  3. Rock Chef

    November 22, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    Have a great day – it is just business as usual over here, so have an extra desert for me, eh?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      I had extra dessert, trust me. I don’t feel so bad now, knowing that one of those pieces was for you! Did you want the apple spice cake, the pumpkin crumb cake, or the pecan pie truffles (or the ice cream I had on the side.) They were all quite yummy if I do say so myself, but the pecan pie truffles were exceptional! Hope your having a good “just another day”. 🙂

       
      • Rock Chef

        November 23, 2012 at 10:44 am

        Hm, I think that the pecan things were for me…

        Yes, I did have a good day, thanks. Not bad for a Thursday.

         
  4. Abby

    November 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Nice thoughts on a special day! All wonderful things to be thankful for (let’s just not dwell on the grey hairs and “old” eyes…)

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

     
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    November 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    WOW! That’s amazing! All that running! Good job! You sooo inspire me! I love Thanksgiving as well! but right now there’s this weird love/hate feeling about Holidays when it comes to food! 🙂

    -sigh-

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2012 at 5:50 am

      Thanks TLI! I’m excited about all the running too! It’s fun having a goal to work towards!
      So hard to avoid all the yummy Thanksgiving food, isn’t it? It was easy to avoid the dressing though. yuck! (Have you ever had it?)

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        November 24, 2012 at 2:33 pm

        I have had what in the North is called “Stuffing” and it’s basically “mushy croutons” so I don’t like it… when I’ve heard what “dressing” is… I know I’ll never include it in my menu! LOL!

         
      • shadowrun300

        November 24, 2012 at 4:39 pm

        I can handle Stove Top’s version of stuffing, but the sweet, mushy dressing (especially with raisins in it) is awful! Some people just love it though!

         
  6. territerri

    November 25, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    I love Thanksgiving too. It’s a chance to just be with family without that sense of rush and chaos.

    You have much to be thankful for. Hope your day was as wonderful as you’d planned.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 26, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Yeah – that’s exactly right. It seems like there is no sense of rush or chaos on Thanksgiving. It was almost as fun as I had planned. I was able to enjoy lunch with the family- what little of us were able to make it – before heading into work that afternoon.
      Work was even enjoyable because our guests were in great moods for the holiday.

       

Leave a Reply

 
