RSS

Teeter Totter

09 Dec

This has been a week of ups and downs.

Well, really only one down, but that one down has brought me down over and over again.

Please allow me one more tribute before I tell you about my ups.

Looking down Church Street

Looking down Church Street

tims funeral 2

At the cemetery.

At the cemetery.

tim's procession

Thank you.

Now on with the ups….

I have finally freed myself of the Fifty Shades series.  (I wonder if that’s why the last book was named Fifty Shades Freed.)  Although well written, it was definitely explicit and three books of it was quite enough.  I read it  for the articles, of course.  Behind all the x-rated scenes, there was a pretty good story line, however, it’s nice to have finished.  I’ve been anxious to get back to my regularly scheduled murder mystery and crime drama books.

Believe it or not, work has been somewhat of an up.  One of my supervisors put in her two weeks notice last week.  She has been with the company for about 5 years, and literally has been the right-hand-man to all the managers.  Everyone is in an uproar about it, and all of a sudden I’m looking pretty good. She has agreed to come in once a week to pass all her knowledge on to me.  I will be billing our major companies, checking to make sure rates are entered correctly, responding to emails, making sure rooming lists are entered correctly, etc, etc.  A lot more work.  No more pay.  But I am making myself more valuable to them which could lead to better negotiations in the future.  I’m excited to have the extra responsibility, and I’m happy they think enough of me to trust that I can replace her.  I guess time will tell.

Running has been a big up as well.  In November, I ran a total of 74 miles including an 8 mile, 9.5 mile, and 10 mile run.  December is starting out just as strong.  I’ve racked up 26.5 so far, running 10.5 miles of that today.  Woohoo for a new PR!  I continue to shake my head in disbelief over how well my runs have been going.  I’m being smarter about it, so that may be some of it.  Oh, and the shoes help too.

And I got to shop with my daughter this weekend.  She’s had a few gift cards burning a hole in her pocket, and she was in need of some clothes.  Mercy.  The girl is 14, has size 11 feet and stands about 4 inches taller than me.  We hit quite a few stores, talking and joking all the while.  A lot of our conversation on the way to our closest shopping district was about Tim, and life, and how important it is to live in the moment, not sweat the small stuff, and tell your loved ones how you feel, because you just never know.  Most of these were her revelations.  How awesome that she’s realizing it at such a young age.  Hopefully she can avoid getting so caught up in work and responsibilities when she gets older.  That way she’s able to enjoy the things that truly matter.  Like spending time with her daughter.

Once home, I decided to make the hot chocolate cookies I recently pinned.  Quite yummy, but a little chocolate chippy for my tastes.  The recipe called for 3 cups of chips – semisweet, milk and white.  I think next time I’ll leave a cup out. Either way, they were a nice treat at the end of a nice day.

Hot Chocolate Cookie with Marshmallows

Hot Chocolate Cookie with Marshmallows

Finally, we added a new member to our family this week.  You’d think 5 was enough, but noooo…. With our 5th family member driving now, Chip was forced to get a new vehicle.  Now we have 6.  Yes, your math is right.  We have 5 drivers and 6 vehicles, but one of those vehicles gets awful gas mileage and has no heat.  It’s good for hauling leaves and sticks to the clubhouse, and that’s about it.  After striking out multiple times for various reasons, Chip was able to find the right car for him.  Red.  Sporty looking.  Great price.  Owned by a mechanic.  The parking situation is a little tricky, but hubby’s plan is working out wonderfully.

The Parking Lot

The Parking Lot

When parked this way, everyone can get their vehicles out without having to move another.  The stick hauler and Link’s car are sentenced to the street.  Notice whose vehicle gets the prime spot and can just back straight up.  I’d like to think it’s because I’m the queen of the family, but most likely it’s because I tend to run into things. (BTW, she just got back from the shop and looks brand new.  No more deer dents or parking garage scars.)

So, overall a pretty good week.  I have yet to get any Christmas shopping done, but heck, I have 16 more days. Why rush things.

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Teeter Totter

  1. territerri

    December 9, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    Beautiful pictures of Tim’s funeral. His family and Tom’s will remain in my prayers.

    Congratulations on the new developments at work. I love to read your work stories because your approach to your work is a lot like mine. I get geeked up about my success at work. I love to take on new and bigger challenges. I figure if the office is going to get the majority of my waking hours in a day, I might as well dive in and enjoy it. You deserve recognition (and a pay raise!) Hope you get both.

    Congrats on your runs too! I’m excited for you. I’ve been doing my running on a treadmill, which isn’t nearly as fulfilling as being outside. But on days like today, it’s impossible to run outside here.

    I’m glad you got to spend some time with Mario. Doesn’t it feel good to spend time and really connect with her like you did? She sounds like a great kid and she’ll do just fine in life.

    The cookies look amazing! Those would disappear in no time in my house!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 9, 2012 at 7:16 pm

      I can’t take credit for the pics. I stole them from the newspaper’s website – and yes, I think they’re beautiful too. Thanks for remembering Tom. There’s an investigation going on and I just pray that it’s not going to be difficult for him.
      While I do deserve a pay raise, I plan to take on the challenges either way. I’m very excited about learning new parts of the business!
      I admire you for being able to run on a treadmill. I used to do that more often when the weather was bad, but I can’t stand it anymore. If I absolutely cannot run outside, then I’ll do the elliptical downstairs. The treadmill just bores me and makes running feel hard.
      And Mario is a great kid. I’m so proud of her.
      Thanks for your continued prayers, Terri.

       
  2. agg79

    December 9, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    I agree with Terri, beautiful pictures of the funeral. I googled the hometown website for more information on Tim and the tribute to him was incredible. I even watched several of the news stories from St Louis on how the entire community turned out en mass for him including many Fire Fighters from surrounding county. Don’t apologize for offering up more tributes for Tim’s life – he deserves to be remembered. I still pray for him and his family and the community in this time of healing.

    Good luck on the work front. I was wondering what impact this change might have on your Nashville plans.. In the interim, if it comes up, you should hold out for more $$..

    Kudos on the running progress. I keep telling you that 13.1 will be a breeze come April. Just remember to stay limber and carb load before the race. Are you planning to run in the same shoes or will you go for a new pair then (given the mileage they are accumulating)?

    That’s a nice stable of ponies you have there. I can totally get the stick hauler rationale. You can never have too many wheels when it comes to transportation. We’re up to three but one (Maria) is nonfunctional at the moment. And I love your parking arrangement. Nobody parks in momma’s spot.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 9, 2012 at 7:10 pm

      I can’t tell you how much it means that you took the time to look us up. Like I’ve said before, there are a lot of negatives to living in a small town, but when something like this happens, the whole town pulls together and leans on each other for comfort. Thanks again for your prayers.
      The Tennessee move won’t be affected by me too much. I can make a lateral move down there since we have a couple of locations in the Nashville, Franklin area. Our move really depends on my Hubby. He is applying at a University near us and hopes to get the position as a business professor. This would be awesome since he’d be able to continue working on his start-up business. He does not have a doctorate degree, however. Just tons of smarts and tons of business experience as well as adjunct professor experience. If this works out, we’ll have to push off our move to Nashville. Mario won’t mind….
      I definitely plan to get a new pair of shoes before the big day. The treads are already wearing thin on my current pair. I may get some now and just wear them occasionally so they don’t get too many miles before April.
      Anyway, thanks again Agg. I’m heading your way in a bit to read about the big ditch!

       
  3. Abby

    December 9, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    Well, I’m glad you had some ups to go with the downer week. It’s so sad that these things happen, but at least they usually help us to slow down and realize what’s important.

    Your work situation sounds pretty good, with one leader leaving, I’m sure you’re looking pretty valuable! And good on you with the running – nice totals! I just bought my second pair of Flex Runs. I was at the running store with the running son a couple weeks ago, and nothing else looked as awesome.

    Nice fleet of cars too! Congratulations to Chip. Our kids just continue to rent from their parents.

    That cookie is 50 shades of chocolate marshmallow!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 9, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      Yes, unfortunately it takes these kind of tragedies to make us realize what’s important.
      Congrats on your new pair of shooz! I’ve been scouting the sales because it’s nearing time for me, but eventually I’m just going to have to buy some more, sale or not.
      Our kids each got to use the “Family Fit” for free until the next driver came up. (About 2 years each.) At that point, they’re expected to buy their own car and cover the costs associated with it. Or at least the gas.
      50 shades of chocolate… yes. they. were. 😉

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    December 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Those photos are absolutely heart breaking.

    Also, I’m glad your finished with 50 shades. I don’t have the stomach for those. And I’ve heard so many negative reviews I didn’t want to waste my time.

    “A lot more work.  No more pay.  But I am making myself more valuable to them which could lead to better negotiations in the future.” Well I sure hope so. I don’t think anyone should take on MORE work WITHOUT more pay. That’s taking advantage of a person.

    Kudos on the Running front. I truly admire that about you.

    And hooray for good times shopping with the daughter! She sounds amazing. Really. Good job, mom!

    Those cookies? OMG!! *drool*

    ” I’d like to think it’s because I’m the queen of the family, but most likely it’s because I tend to run into things” – that made me laugh out loud, literally!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 9, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      I don’t really have anything negative to say about 50 Shades, except that 3 books was too many. And ALL were explicit.
      I’m beginning to accept that my job will always take advantage of me. It’s the nature of the hotel business. I suppose they’re happy with college graduates working there while they look for their next job, since they’re getting somewhat professional people without having to pay a whole lot. I need to either accept that and continue working because I like it (which I do) or get out. The extra responsibility makes me feel needed, which is a lot of what I’m looking for. I’d like to be more than just a “dime-a-dozen” front desk agent. We’ll see.
      I AM the Queen. But I run into things too. 😉

       
  5. Rock Chef

    December 11, 2012 at 9:45 am

    I am always taken back by how even a small town puts on such a show of respect like this. I guess it goes to the heart of what makes America what it is.

    Those cookies look great – the idea that you can have too many chips is alien to me…

    Your daughter sounds very sensible – you really don’t know!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      Really, the whole county got together to show support for Tim and his family. It was very heart-warming to see. Sometimes I feel like our country is made up of a bunch of selfish people, but when times are tough, all selfishness is put aside,and we do a pretty good job of helping each other out. It’s something to be proud of.

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    December 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Sorry my comment will just be about that cookie… IT LOOKS YUMMY!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
