RSS

Proof That I Work Best Under Pressure

26 Dec

As most of you predicted, things really did come together.  But only after complete focus on the tasks at hand.

I mentioned yesterday that I pretty much began and completed my Christmas shopping in two days.  These last two days.  For whatever reason I have a hard time buying gifts early.  I seem to think that I may find something bigger and better down the road, so I buy nothing until crunch time.

I’d also saved most of my baking til the last minute, due to working overtime, defending my territory with lasers, and, well, last minute Christmas shopping.

So I woke early Christmas Eve morning and hit the ground running.  Really.  I went running. After 6 days of not being able to for various reasons, I was thrilled to be bundled up and out on the streets.

The fun continued as I baked 4 types of cookies, made peppermint and regular Oreo truffles, and mixed up some peanut butter krispie treats.

I rewarded my hard work (who am I kidding, it was great fun!) with my favorite lunch, then I locked myself in my room to wrap all the presents.  Well, at least the ones that would be needed first.  The days of opening pajamas on Christmas Eve are long over, since the boys never wear them, and Mario is content with her t-shirts and shorts, but the idea is still the same.  Their Christmas Eve gift will be something they can wear… socks, boxers, shirts, slippers, etc.

With those wrapped and a few others to boot, I donned my church outfit, gathered the family, and headed to church.  Gotta love the children’s mass… crying babies, babbling toddlers and anxious parents, all crowded shoulder to shoulder in the pews.  But hearing Christmas songs sung by the sweet voices of school kids while Mario played the piano for them made it all worthwhile.

So yes, it all came together.  We exchanged our non-Santa gifts after church and enjoyed our traditional Christmas Eve meal of chili, egg nog and way too many cookies.

My heart swelled as I watched the kids exchange gifts, proud and impressed of how well they know each other, and how thoughtful they can be.  And before “going to bed”, I received hugs and I Love You’s from them all.

Once they were behind closed doors, Santa distributed the scavenger hunt clues while Mrs. Claus  wrapped the rest of the presents, and distributed them under the tree.

Minutes before the clock struck Christmas Day, I crawled wearily into bed, content with the knowledge that I was finally ready for the big day, and thrilled that I would be able to sit back and enjoy it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2012 in Family, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Proof That I Work Best Under Pressure

  1. agg79

    December 26, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Bravo! Seems like we have similar plans of attack when it comes to shopping for Christmas. I did attempt some early shopping but wound up doing the bulk of it on the last few days. I’m definitely not one of those “I’ve got my Xmas shopping done by Halloween” kind of people. One of my problems is that I bought a few items early on as “great gifts” for various people in the clan, but come the few hectic days before Christmas, I have either forgotten about them or cannot find where I hid them. Still, sounds like you had a great Christmas with the family. Merry Christmas!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 26, 2012 at 11:31 pm

      Funny you mention losing or forgetting gifts. Every year we give Chip a big tin of popcorn, and it’s ALWAYS my first purchase ’cause I know for sure I’m giving it to him…. but for the past two years, I’ve forgotten it in my closet. We laughed about it this year, but I’m sad that he hasn’t gotten to open his “traditional” gift on Christmas morning. Instead he goes and digs it out of my closet. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    December 26, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Yay, nicely done!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 26, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      Yay me! I’m beat, but I did it!

       
  3. Rock Chef

    December 26, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Hah I knew you could do it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 26, 2012 at 11:34 pm

      I couldn’t let you down. I didn’t want to be the one to make you lie for the first time. 😉

       
  4. territerri

    December 28, 2012 at 12:41 am

    So glad that it all came together for you! (I don’t like to buy gifts too early either, but I’ve never cut it as close as you did! 🙂 )

    Your Christmas sounds wonderful. Ours was a blur and we haven’t even had our own family Christmas yet. We’ll do that on Saturday when Brad will be home and Mark won’t be working.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2012 at 3:57 am

      I’ve wrapped a few remaining gifts on Christmas Eve before, but never ALL of them. That was rough.
      We have not celebrated Christmas with my mom yet. Still trying to find a day when we’re all off. Fine by me, because I haven’t bought her a gift yet. lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
