RSS

Happy New Year’s Eve

01 Jan

It’s 8 pm on New Year’s Eve night, and I am heading to bed.  The deadly flu virus has kicked my butt.  Oh wait.  I guess it wasn’t deadly.  I just wanted it to be, especially after four days of tear inducing pains, aches, coughs, and fever.  I continued to work through it all, but gawd it’s been a miserable week.

Hubby’s spending his New Year’s Eve with his dad.  As I mentioned, he’s in his final days of life, and right now is needing 24 hour care.  Since Hubby has the time and is so close, he’s offered to be the one to take care of him.  It’s been quite hard on him, but when his dad looked up at him tonight, and whispered “I’m glad you’re here”…  well, that’s all he needed to hear to know he’s doing the right thing.

On the bright side, we’ve finally got some decent snow!  For years, we’ve only seen rain, sleet, and ice, so to see inches of snow has been quite enjoyable!

Look what I woke up to a few days ago!

IMG_3100

 

IMG_3099

IMG_3102

Then on New Year’s Eve day, we got a bit more…

Amp and Friend

Amp and Friend

Mario and Friend

Mario and Friend

Hope you all are enjoying your New Year’s Eve!  I’ll be getting up at 3 am, so I’ll get to greet the New Year very early… and welcome the all-night-partiers back to the hotel for a few hours sleep before they have to check out.

Cheers!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Family, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Happy New Year’s Eve

  1. Abby

    January 1, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Well, sorry the wish-it-were-deadly flu hit. At least now you’re immune, right??
    And the night snow pictures are really pretty. Way better than ice and rain, I say. The snow people even look happy 🙂

    Get well!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 1, 2013 at 11:23 am

      That’s what I keep telling myself – at least I’m building immunity. It was nice to see my kids out playing when I got home from work, even if they didn’t have proper winter wear on. They’ve been down and out for a while as well.

       
  2. Abby

    January 1, 2013 at 3:16 am

    …Oh and sorry about your father in law. Somber times. I’m sure it means a lot to him that Hubby’s there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 1, 2013 at 11:34 am

      I’m so proud of my hubby for putting everything aside to take care of his dad. It’s been a difficult couple of months running his mom and dad to various doctors, and taking care of their bills etc. Now Hospice has been called and we know it’s just a matter of days, so he has literally dropped everything and offered to stay with him to administer meds and keep him clean.
      Thank goodness Hubby didn’t catch the flu bug. ‘Somebody’ was watching out for him….

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    January 1, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    Oh no!! I hope you feel better, ASAP!

    My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family.

    Hooray for snow!

    & Happy New Year!

     
  4. territerri

    January 1, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    I’m so sorry you were knocked down by the flu virus. I hope your feeling better soon.

    And I know you’ve been wanting some real snow. Yours is beautiful! And it looks like the kids had fun with it.

    I’m sorry about your father-in-law. It’s good that your hubby can be there with him. What a comfort that must be for both of them.

     
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 2, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Oh Shadow! I am so sorry you ended your year feeling soo sick! 😦 I hope when this year ends you’ll share pictures of a very happy closing of 2013! I am sorry about your hubby and what he and his dad are going through… how sweet of him to be taking care of his dad… I hope you are feeling much better now! It must be a powerful flu to affect YOU like that… such a strong woman!

     
  6. agg79

    January 3, 2013 at 11:33 am

    Happy (belated) New Year! I hope that you are able to knock down that nasty flu soon.

    The snow looks great! I hope it did not make your drive in too treacherous.

    I am sorry about your father in law. It is great that your husband can be with him at this time. At this time in our lives, family is most important and time is precious.

     

Leave a Reply

 
