RSS

Let’s Start Over, Shall We?

06 Jan

If I had any doubts at all that my husband could handle the family and the chores should I not be around, they have been erased after this past week.

While I spent 9 days curled up in a fetal position on the couch (aside from the 4 days I stupidly went into work), my hubby picked up the ball and ran with it.

He washed, dried and folded the laundry.  He loaded and unloaded the dishwasher daily.  He got the kids off to school in a timely fashion.

He planned his dad’s funeral.

Deep down beneath my headaches, body aches, ringing ears, and upset stomach, I was impressed with how well he was managing.

I was not well enough to attend the visitation on Friday night, and he was incredibly supportive of me staying home.  I, of course, was quite upset about not going, but as usual, I couldn’t stay awake long enough to really fret about it.

Luckily, Saturday morning I awoke feeling slightly better.  I was able to attend the funeral ceremony and pay my respects to the man who welcomed me so openly into his family.  I was happy to be there for my husband and my kids.  Mario took it the hardest and it touched my heart to see her brothers give her sympathy.  They had a difficult role as well, being pall bearers for their grandpa.  I’ve never been so proud as to see them accept this role with such strength.

Now, 10 days later, I am finally feeling a little like my old self.  I contemplated going for a run, something I have not done since the onset of this virus, but the wind and cold scared me away.  Instead, I hopped on the elliptical for a respectable 30 minutes, and tried to do a few muscle strengthening exercises.  I’m quite weak, but it felt great to work up a sweat.  At least I have hope that I’ll be able to work myself back up to the way I was before.

Not quite the way I envisioned the new year to begin, but if the worst is behind me, then I’m glad to have it out of the way.

I’m ready now 2013!  Bring it on!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Family, Health and Fitness

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Let’s Start Over, Shall We?

  1. agg79

    January 6, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I’ve said it before, your husband is a rock. A great father/husband/son. I don’t know if I could handle it as well as he did. Our prayers are

    I hope you will be able to turn the corner on that flu. I am trying to dodge it myself (momma’s sick) but I see that 3/4ths of the country is laid up with the flu right now so I may be fighting a losing battle. Keep getting rest, stay off the roads and ease back into it. No need to force a relapse.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2013 at 5:54 am

      Oh gosh – I hope you can avoid it. At least until after your big day!
      And yes, I will definitely be easing back into exercising and even eating. I feel like I’ve been run over by a truck. :/

       
  2. territerri

    January 6, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Wow! You really had it bad! I’m glad to hear you’re finally starting to feel better. Don’t push yourself too hard. You’ll probably need to ease back into routine.

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your father-in-law. He obviously left a very positive and loving impact on his family.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2013 at 6:00 am

      When you’re that sick, you wonder if you’ll ever feel good again. So when I woke up this morning with out a pounding heading and aching muscles, I was ecstatic. Still quite weak though, which my body was happy to remind me after I made it stand for a while. But I’m on the mend!!
      My father in law was a stand up guy. From the second I met him, I felt welcomed into the family. I was so proud to share their last name.

       
  3. Abby

    January 6, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Your husband definitely had a lot to handle. Sounds like he handled it all fabulously. And I’m glad you’ve turned the corner. I think 30 respectable minutes on the elliptical was the right choice.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2013 at 6:04 am

      Yes, he was fabulous. I think I’ll let him take over all the family and home responsibilities. 🙂
      My heart is very anxious to get back to running, but I’m trying to ease my way back into it. Don’t want to risk anything before my big day. I have time to build back up again.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 7, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    What a rough way to start the year… I was sick too but not as bad as you were, it’s amazing what your hubby did, not the chores (which is great) but mostly going through such a hard emotional time and being able to keep it all together… that’s wonderful, we’ve been blessed with strong men who step up when needed… that’s awesome! I am glad you’re finally feeling better and I would forget about the running just ONE more day… but … you decide… oh wait! this post is from yesterday… so… did you go? let me know! Big HUGS! So happy you’re back!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2013 at 2:36 am

      Yes – a strong guy who has a ton of compassion as well. Very lucky we are!
      I did NOT run today, but I AM going to run tomorrow. I’d like to go at least 4 miles. I’ll let you know how I do… :

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 8, 2013 at 1:34 pm

        I am glad you took another day off! I hope you’re completely recovered now!

         
  5. Rock Chef

    January 7, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    He is clearly well trained!

    Glad you are feeling better!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2013 at 2:36 am

      Thanks RC! My whole family is glad I’m feeling better. Hubby especially. 🙂

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    January 8, 2013 at 12:13 am

    Oh my word.

    First of all, I am SOOO sorry to hear of your family loss. My deepest sympathies. Also, your husband sounds like a super hero. Seriously.

    And I am very happy to hear you’re feeling so much better.

    XOXOXO

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2013 at 2:39 am

      Aw, thanks for your kind words Meleah. (But I will keep the super hero comment to myself. He needs to maintain some since of humble-cy.) And I hate to complain too much, because I know some of you (you) are dealing with much worse health problems, but gawd this week sucked for me. :/

       
  7. towardshealthylife

    January 9, 2013 at 4:18 am

    So sorry that someone you love is gone. It sounds like he was a good man(to have raised such an amazing son) and will be missed and remembered! Sad way for the year to start but at least you have each other and it can only get better from now on…

     

Leave a Reply

 
