RSS

Opposites Attract

09 Jan

I love helping people.  My hotel job is perfect for me.  If guests are asking for something that requires me to “bend the rules” a little, I bend the rules a little.  If they request something and change their mind, then request something else, I smile and respond with a genuine “of course!”  “Whatever makes things easiest and most comfortable for you.”

I work with a girl who, shall we say, is….ummm…..bi*chy.  People tick her off quite often.  She has no patience with needy people.  She tells it like it is in her matter of fact tone, and feels no remorse if people walk away upset or confused.  She rarely bends the rules and she never offers an alternative to a “no” answer.

What’s surprising is how much I like her.

She’s a young twenty-something, going to school full time, working full time, living at home, but forced to be independent by her mother.  So she pays her rent and covers her portion of the bills.  She has an intern position, along with her hotel job, and is taking masters classes.  She’s incredible.

She just doesn’t like people.

We laugh about our different personalities.  I tease her when she actually does something nice for someone. She rolls her eyes at me when I give in to a guest’s excessive whining about a parking fee.  (Not worth getting a bad survey over $16.)  We joke often about how I’m the good cop, she’s the bad cop.  And it’s fun!

We worked together today, and many times she stopped herself in the middle of a negative comment, reminding herself that she had resolved to be less judgmental   Many times.  So many times, I was cracking up and voicing my concern that she may not be able to.

I mentioned how if we merged our personalities together we would be a perfect person.  Caring and nurturing, yet candid and straightforward.

Opposites attract, they say, and I suppose it’s true.  I actually admire her candor and wish I had a little of it in me.  She’s never come out and said it, but I have a feeling she wishes she had the patience for people that I have.

I’m glad she’s resolved to make herself better by being less judgmental, but hopefully she won’t turn too soft.  I’ll need her strong personality for when we partner up on The Amazing Race.

She’s already said yes.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2013 in Friendship, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Opposites Attract

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 9, 2013 at 4:35 am

    Yes, my closest friends have always been very different to me… but interestingly, even when I am nurturing and caring… I can’t bend rules! I am weird that way! People are more important, that’s for sure… But rules, for me… are… ugh! to be followed! weird!!! LOL! So I’ve always tried to help others within the rules (it wouldn’t be that way if it was a life or death situation … hey! I am not that inflexible! LOL) sounds like you guys are the perfect match! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      I suppose it depends on the rules they’re asking me to bend. If it’s a security issue, I don’t bend. But if I sense a complaint or bad survey in the works due to something else, I bend. There’s a very gray area in my job. I visit it quite often. She does not. I think I like her mostly because she’s so honest. What you see is what you get. You gotta love that about a person.

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 9, 2013 at 2:08 pm

        I know what you mean Shadow… I didn’t think you’d bend serious rules… I am talking about “not so big deal rules” that I still find hard to bend! LOL! They always put me in charge of “rule keeping” in my jobs… because they know I will keep them… and then, even who put me there, gets frustrated LOL! It is hard for me to find the “gray areas” it is hard for me to think of bending a rule because it makes me always wonder “then, where do you stop?” I don’t know why! My peers have many times hated me for that … they’ve thought I must be hypocritical and that I just want to make their lives impossible… they can’t believe I am HONESTLY trying to help them and at the same time keep the precious rules! LOL! When I read your post I guess it made me see how they must have seen me… b*chy! I am sure! if they knew how many tears I shed because I actually tried to be their friend… 🙂 I’ve always been like that… since I was a little girl! I never let anybody see what I was answering on my test… I never helped anybody cheat… LOL! But I did help many friends study for the test and/or explain the formulas, spelling/grammar rules, etc… weird weird! Now I see how weird! LOL!

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 9, 2013 at 2:50 pm

        I definitely wish I was more of a rule follower – especially where my kids are concerned. They know they just have to pout or whine and I’ll give in. Thank goodness Hubby abides by the rules a little more.
        Now cheating is a totally different thing. I am with you on that. I never let anyone see my answers either. And if I’m playing a game with someone who cheats, I get upset – even if they’re on my team.
        I have a hard time believing anyone would think you’re b*chy. But even so, you are who you are, and you should be proud of it. Everyone has quirks and we all should learn to love and accept them in ourselves and others. You’re not weird, you’re you. 😉

         
  2. agg79

    January 9, 2013 at 11:43 am

    There are occasions where you need to be an a%%hole to people, but you have to learn when it is required/appropriate. One of those valuable life lessons they don’t teach you in school. I used to be a lot more flexible/agreeable, but my newer role has put me in a position where I have to be the bad guy (at times). However, whenever I travel, I don’t complain about the little things and I try to be a gracious guest (you deal with a lot of idiots who really need a good slapping). I am glad to hear that you are out there providing service with a smile to counter all the grumpy people out there. I think that is doubly important in your role. Now, Can we talk about that $16 parking fee??? .

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      Even when I have to say no to a guest – I do it in such a way that they know I’m on their side, but it’s a rule I can not bend. (Such as security issues with room keys etc.) And I ALWAYS offer alternatives, so they know I’m trying to help them.
      Thanks for being a good traveler, but to be honest, I don’t mind hearing complaints. I’d rather fix it while they are there, than have them come back later in a survey with all their complaints. The guests that come down with a written list of what’s wrong crack me up. But I thank them for letting me know, then get to work “fixing” it for them. Crazy that I like that stuff, but I do.
      I’d LOVE to talk about the parking fee. Bring on your questions and complaints… I’m sure I’ve heard it all before. 😉

       
  3. Abby

    January 9, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    Sometimes the best teamwork emerges from contrasting personalities! My desk mate Harry-now-a -priest and I were a lot like you and the bi*ch, although I MIGHT use different terminology for our two-pronged attack 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      Didn’t you just love working with someone so different from yourself? I love it. The only “different” person I don’t like is a compulsive liar and backstabber. No exaggeration. But even he can be fun to work with because I’m amazed at how outright his lies are.

       
  4. territerri

    January 9, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    You two sound like a great team. You’ve got the right personalities to cover almost every situation.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      I like her feisty-ness and bluntness. Honestly, if I ever fulfill my dream of being on the Amazing Race, I want her with me. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
