RSS

Breaking Up IS Hard to Do

12 Jan

I guess I’ve been lucky.

I’ve never in my life had to break up with someone.  They’ve always broken up with me. So I’ve never had to worry about how to say it… when the best time is to do it… how the person will react… if I’ll hurt their feelings.

So when I had to break up with my hotel pantry vendor guy, I was nervous.

For days I practiced in my head how I would tell him that our relationship must come to an end.

I decided it best to go with the “It’s not you, it’s me” approach.  And in a way, it really was.

Since I’ve been working at the hotel, I have been in charge of the snack pantry.  I did all of the ordering, tracked all the sales, counted all the inventory, and kept it cleaned and stocked.  Most days it was a thorn in my side, but I liked the added responsibility, and it gave me something to do on extremely slow days.

I recently found out that the hotel plans to outsource the pantry.  Someone else will be doing the ordering and stocking, and I’ll just have to do a monthly inventory.

I was thrilled when I first learned the news.  It would relieve me of quite a bit of responsibility.  Great news, since I’ve taken on a ton of responsibility with billing our corporate groups and convention groups.

But I dreaded telling my vendor guy.  After a rocky start at the beginning of our relationship, he turned out to be a terrific vendor.  He owns his business himself, and pretty well takes care of all aspects of it.  Including delivering it to us.  If I needed something in a hurry, all I had to do was ask.  Turns out, when you’re respectful and appreciative of a person’s efforts, their efforts tend to increase.

With the changeover happening next week, I decided to give Mike one last hoorah.  I placed a huge order with him, and hoped I would be there when he delivered it.

Sure enough, he came walking in last week, with his usual smile, and asked if he could just place it in the pantry right away for me.

Sigh.

He was making this even harder for me.

I decided to just come out and say it.   So as he unpacked the snacks, I blurted it out.

I stumbled a little…. kinda nervous… kinda shy… and very worried about hurting his feelings.

I blamed it on the hotel company, and then did plenty of gushing about how happy I’ve been with his services.

He responded very professionally, and claimed he understood.  He told me he’d just picked up a partner and a few other businesses, so he was going to be alright.

I let him know that I would absolutely be referring other hotels and businesses to him.

He left, saying “I guess you won’t be needing these….”  and he placed brand new ordering sheets on the counter.  Sheets he had made specifically for me, since I typically ordered the same things each time.

I gathered them up, my heart breaking.

Such a sweet guy.

I have two more days before the outsourcers take over.  Perhaps I can squeeze one more order in.

For old times sake.

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Breaking Up IS Hard to Do

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 13, 2013 at 1:25 am

    I am so sorry! That must be tough! It’s tough being on the “I was dumped” side… (which has always been my side LOL!) so you don’t even think of how hard it must be for the one who dumps… hmmm interesting! Makes me feel better … a little bit… to know that at least the ones that dumped me might not have found it that easy… 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 13, 2013 at 2:25 am

      Well now I can testify that it’s as difficult to dump as it is to be dumped.

       
  2. Abby

    January 13, 2013 at 1:34 am

    I’m sure Mike appreciates you letting him down easy, and certainly the “one last hurrah”. I’m glad he’s got some new interested hunnies.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 13, 2013 at 2:29 am

      I’m very happy he’s got some interested hunnies. It’ll help him get over me more easily. Not that I was his everything. In fact, I would feel much better if I knew I hardly meant anything to him at all.

       
  3. territerri

    January 13, 2013 at 4:16 am

    Professional relationships like that one are rare, I think. And that makes you appreciate them all the more. In a world where “cold and impersonal” is the norm, someone who works extra hard AND makes you smile is such a blessing. Sorry you had to “break up” with Mike but I’m glad he took it so well. It’s pretty clear he’s going to be just fine once he gets over the initial shock and starts to move on.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 14, 2013 at 3:18 am

      I really did appreciate his efforts. And I let him know each time I saw him. He would say the same thing back to me. It’s a shame that more business relationships can’t be as respectful. We WANTED to help each other. I’m sure losing our business won’t hurt him much, financially speaking, but I still wanted him to know how much I enjoyed doing business with him. And I really do wish him well.

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    January 14, 2013 at 4:27 am

    Your such a thouthful person, I don’t think everybody would have done it nicely like you did!:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 14, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      I think the management there wouldn’t have said anything at all to him. I’ve only been working with him for a couple of years, buy he’s been their vendor for many years.
      I didn’t want to just quit ordering from him. I thought he should know the situation, and know how thankful I’ve been for his great service.

       
  5. agg79

    January 14, 2013 at 10:59 am

    It is never pleasant/easy ending that kind of relationship after so many years, so many snacks. A lot of people might take the easy way out – “it’s just business” but you had some vested interest in Mike’s service and it had to be hard to break it off. But you did it as best as you could and Mike took it very well. Sorry to hear it is over but glad he has other business in the wings. Hope the new service can live up to the bar he set.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 14, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      Like I said to THL, I think the management wouldn’t have said anything at all. I figured I should say something so he would at least know why we weren’t ordering from him anymore.
      As far as the new service… I don’t think they’ll be as friendly and easy to work with, but it’s really THEIR business now, so all I have to do is count what’s in there at the end of the month. With Mike, it was just Mike. He worked hard to keep his little business going. I think that’s what made it so difficult for me to tell him we wouldn’t need him anymore.
      How’s the legs feeling today?? .

       
  6. Rock Chef

    January 14, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    It is better have vended and lost than to never have vended at all.

     
  7. meleah rebeccah

    January 16, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Awwww… that’s tough. I’m glad you both handled it so professionally, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
