RSS

Preppin’

15 Jan

I’m an outside runner.  Period.  I avoid the treadmill at all cost.  It’s boring.  It’s blah.  And it’s boring.

So all my running is done outside, rain or shine, or frigid cold, or steamy hot.

this is my gym

There’s only a few weather situations that keep me from going out – ice on the roads, blustery, below freezing winds, and lightening storms.

This week, it was ice on the roads.

Ugh.

I had planned on running at least 7 miles on Sunday, in an effort to build my stamina back up, but that was nixed as soon as I looked outside.  Sleet and freezing rain covered the streets, the cars, the deck.

Sigh.

I trudged downstairs to the elliptical.  (For whatever reason, I can work out on that for 45 minutes, sweatin’ my tail off.  I just can’t do the treadmill.)

I awoke the next day, determined to go outside.  Ice still covered the ground AND the winds were blustery and below freezing.

Down to the elliptical I went.

Today, I awoke, itchin’ to run. A quick look outside showed no wind, no ice.  It was 18 degrees…. but I can handle the cold. (Wait… did I just say that?)

I donned two pairs of pants, 4 layers of shirts, 2 pairs of socks, my earmuffs, my mittens, and my scarf.  By this time I was sweatin’ just standing in my house.  18 degrees was going to feel pretty good.

And it did.

It felt good to be running again.  Today was only my 3rd day back after that Flippin’ Flu, so I didn’t expect to go long.  I managed a 5.6 mile run in 42 minutes – just over 7 minutes a mile.  Amazing how freezing temps can spur you to move a little faster.

I’m still anxious to push myself for a long run.  Gotta get back to those in order to feel confident again about finishing the half-marathon.  It’s been difficult due to the weather and my work schedule, but I’m determined if nothing else.

And I’m very excited about it!  Especially after reading about Agg’s experience.  Running 13.1 miles in a downpour with gusty winds is very inspirational.  I can’t wait to have that same experience.  Of course, my run will be in 40 degree temps with the sun shining and no rain.

(Don’t worry.  I crossed my fingers so I wouldn’t jinx myself.)

Either way, I’m looking forward to training these next few months, and anticipating the thrill of crossing the finish line.  And I plan to use Agg’s tips on what to wear, what to eat and drink, and which potties to use.

Nice to have an experienced blog friend to help me through….

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

26 responses to “Preppin’

  1. lottajoy

    January 15, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    WOW. What am I doing here? The one time I tried running, it was during a rainstorm and I was heading to the car, determined to show my daughter how athletic I was. In my mind, I was running like Rocky . . . when my daughter WALKED past me. I still live with the shame.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Well, if it makes you feel better, I can’t fire a gun to save my life. But I really admire that about you. 😉
      Thanks for stopping by!

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 15, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    That is soooo cool! I admire your love for running! I love how much you love life… it just jumps out of every post you write! 🙂 Love your gym too! 🙂 you’re setting a great example for those around you! both IRL and online!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 1:43 am

      That’s very sweet of you to say. Especially, when I feel like I whine my way through most of my blogs. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    January 15, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    I’ll run on a treadmill when it’s dark and COLD outside. It’s been a long while since I’ve run outside and I miss it! You make me want to get out there again!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 1:54 am

      I’ve never minded running in the dark, and now that I have a reflective vest, I feel much safer about it. (Great Christmas gift from my hubby.) I admire you for being able to run on the treadmill for any length of time. It just seems so unnatural and BORING. I want to quit after 10 minutes. I suppose that’s why I put up with almost every kind of weather. In fact, I prefer running in the cold, much more than running in heat. Even the 18 degree weather today wasn’t too bad. Just bundle up and wrap a scarf around your nose and mouth, and you’re good to go.

       
      • territerri

        January 16, 2013 at 2:05 am

        I have the gear to run in the cold, I guess I just don’t because I’m paying for a gym membership. So when it’s dark and cold, I run on the treadmill. I log into Netflix on my iPhone and that helps me pass the time. But maybe this weekend….

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 16, 2013 at 2:31 am

        Oh… you run in a gym. To me that’s different. If you’re in a gym, there’s other people to watch, and I’m actually more motivated because I refuse to quit early if other people are around. 🙂
        My treadmill is in the basement. Boring.

         
  4. towardshealthylife

    January 16, 2013 at 4:31 am

    This why I want my treadmill in front of the TV lol Maybe you needs some kind of winter tires for your shoes so you can still run on icy roads 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      Watching TV helps. I just can’t hear it over the treadmill and don’t want to wake everybody help. I think that’s why I can do the elliptical. It’s not as noisy, so I can watch TV.
      Either way, I MUCH prefer being outside. I’ll have to look into spikes for my shoes…..

       
  5. Rock Chef

    January 16, 2013 at 10:33 am

    My wife attaches her Kindle to her crosstrainer so she can read as he goes.

    I hope you get some reasonable running weather soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 2:00 pm

      I think I’d get motion sickness from that. How can she keep her eyes on the words? I’ve heard and seen of others doing that, but I really haven’t attempted to master it. Plus, I don’t have a kindle.
      You guys are becoming very high tech these days…. 😉

       
  6. agg79

    January 16, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    I have the same gym! I HATE treadmills and get bored running track. And thanks for kind words about my little jog last weekend. No way I can match your 7 minute pace. I know you will breeze the course in April. It should be a lot warmer than 18 degrees and you won’t have to wear all those layers. Although, I do get better times when it is colder. Good lucks on the run and remember to ease back into it. You don’t want to sprain anything.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      I wondered why my legs were acting like I was working them too hard. Turns out I was goin’ pretty fast. Shocked myself. NO way I’ll be able to do that for 13.1 miles.
      But yeah, the treadmills and running in circles sucks. I’m considering going to a different town tomorrow to run, just to have a change of scenery.
      And of course I’m saying kind words about your little “jog”. I’m so impressed that you were able to run that long in THAT kind of weather… and for the 5th time. Incredible.

       
  7. Abby

    January 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I can manage a treadmill when I’m desperate, but it always seems like it takes twice as long as the actual time spent. Glad you got back out there, nice pace too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      I’ll do a treadmill in a hotel gym, if there’s no other option… and will usually split the time on that with the elliptical machine. And yes, it definitely feels like it takes twice as long to go the same distance.

       
  8. meleah rebeccah

    January 16, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    ” I managed a 5.6 mile run in 42 minutes – just over 7 minutes a mile. Amazing how freezing temps can spur you to move a little faster.”

    Holy crap! That’s amazing!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 4:34 pm

      Yeah, well, it was a fluke. My legs are a bit sore today. Guess I was more anxious than I thought to get back home.

       
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 16, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    I was thinking of how much I hate the treadmill too LOL… I feel like a hamster in one of those wheels… never getting anywhere! LOL! … But I do prefer it than the elliptical just because it seems that you burn more calories on the treadmill (although elliptical is great for your muscles!) and it’s hard for me to go outside and run…with these 2 little girls of mine 😉 and due to how hot it gets most of the year (we reached 114 in the summer!!!)

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm

      Maybe because I’m so conditioned to running, I feel like I get more exercise on the elliptical. My heart rate tends to go up more with that, and I’m more out of breath.
      That heat is a killer when running. There are times I go out before the sun comes up and it’s 80 degrees and so humid. I’d much rather run when it’s 18. 🙂

       
  10. gabby.runs

    January 18, 2013 at 2:44 am

    Brrrrrrr, now 18 is COLD! Sounds like you had the right idea to layer up and keeping off the ice. Totally agree with working out on an elliptical than a treadmill. Ugh! WOW! Running so well after being sick? That’s great! Good to hear that you’re feeling better. I’m sure you’ll be back to some longer runs in no time! 🙂 Reading about how excited you are for your half makes me excited too, haha.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Hi Gabby!
      Yeah,18 is cold, but some of weather conditions you run in are awful. I rarely have to run through rain. 🙂
      I know you’re trying to get some longer runs in. Do you have plans for a half or full marathon???

       
      • gabby.runs

        January 19, 2013 at 1:32 am

        Where I’m at, we usually don’t even reach below 20! Even with the rain, I’m condsidering myself lucky, haha. 😛
        I’d love to run a half this summer since some of my long runs will be that far anyway, but my coach wants me to wait until I’m out of high school. As for marathons? Someday! 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 19, 2013 at 1:38 am

        Your coach seems to always have your best interest at heart, so I’m sure he’s got good reason for wanting you to wait. You have plenty of time. After all, I have kids your age and I’m just now running one. 😉

         
      • gabby.runs

        January 19, 2013 at 10:06 pm

        Haha you’re totally right! Just getting antsy and wnting to try one. 😛 But I’ve decided … I’ll run a half vicariously through you!

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 19, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        I’ve done that a few times through my blog friend Agg. It’s more fun to actually be preppin’ for it myself, I must say. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
