RSS

Lookin Up

16 Jan

I looked up today and almost wish I hadn’t.

My light fixtures had a coating of dust so thick, the light could barely shine through.  And the amount of dust on the living room fan was sickening.

I’ve always proclaimed to be a lazy housekeeper.  I do the bare minimum.  Enough to keep DCFS from taking my children.

But even I know when it’s time to do a little more.

So I got to work removing light bulbs and fixtures, washing them, dusting them, and replacing burned out bulbs. First in the bathrooms, then the kitchen.

I made the mistake of looking around while I was standing on the kitchen table, and saw all the accumulated dust on the cabinets and the sparse knick knacks I have up there.

With slumped shoulders, I climbed up on the counters and began cleaning the tops of the cabinets.

Then I went on a hunt for the extended fan blade cleaner that I’ve only used a few times in the 14 years I’ve lived here.

Not surprisingly I had to dust it off before I could dust the fan.

Before I put it back, I used it to sweep the dust that was hanging in the corners of my vaulted ceilings and draping from my built-in plant shelves.

I haven’t always been a neglectful housekeeper.

When I was a new bride and a young mom, I was determined to do it all. I let myself believe that to be successful, I needed to work, keep a sparkling home, and raise a bunch of happy kids.

Problem was… I wasn’t happy. It was near impossible to keep the house clean with 4 kids and a couple of pets.

Many times my hubby would tell me not to worry about the house.  “It’s lived in,” he would tell me.  “There’s nothing wrong with people seeing that we live in a lived-in house.”

It took many times of hearing him say that to finally click in.

And when it did, I was all for it.  No more stressin’ out about the house for me.

We still live in a lived-in house.  I’m lucky enough to have my hubby keep up with laundry, and we both share the dish washing duties.

I vacuum almost daily, but only because I find it therapeutic.

I’ll scrub the bathrooms if I know we’re having company, or when they become too gross.  Otherwise, they just get a brief wipe down a few times a week.  (Love those Clorox wipes.)

I must admit, though, as I sit here typing, I have every light on in the house to show off my hard work.  It’s amazing how bright my house can get.  It’s a good feeling, for sure.

But I don’t plan on looking up again for a while…..

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Lookin Up

  1. Abby

    January 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    I found this funny in that you had to dust off the fan cleaner before using it to get the dust off the fan – only because I can SO relate! Okay, so my house isn’t dirty either. It’s just lived in 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      Now that my lights are cleaned, I can really see how “lived in” my house is. :/

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    January 16, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    I also have a good friend who used to tell me “don’t worry about the mess, there is people living in this house” I embrace that saying until someone is coming over then I freak out and clean like a maniac. It’s so nice when it’s all perfectly clean and tidy, it’s a shame it can only last for an hour in our house but I blame it all on the previous owners who put white carpet upstairs! Thank god the ceiling is right on top of my kitchen cupboards!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      We had light colored carpeting for a long time. Had ourselves to blame for that one. The wood floors are much nicer, and so much easier to clean.
      We also loved the vaulted ceilings, until I decided to repaint… and cleaning any light fixtures up there is near impossible.
      And when I stood on the counter to clean the tops of the cabinets, I looked over at my fridge… holy moly.
      BUT, it’s all good now.

       
  3. territerri

    January 17, 2013 at 2:19 am

    I love hearing (or reading) about how other people “don’t” clean their houses. I always feel the obligation to keep things clean, I just HATE spending my precious weekend hours cleaning house. And even as they grow up, even more so maybe, it’s impossible to keep the place sparkling with kids and husbands coming and going and pets making themselves comfy all day long. We need to give ourselves permission to have less than perfectly groomed homes. And I feel like you just reminded me of that.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 17, 2013 at 2:38 am

      Yes. You can definitely look to me for inspiration on keeping a “lived in” house. I’m really good at that. Occasionally I feel the need to clean, but usually if I sit for a minute, it goes away. Don’t know what happened to me today…

       
  4. agg79

    January 17, 2013 at 3:23 am

    Ah, I love those housecleaning confession. We’ve settled into the “lived in” mode as well. With two times the Goldens as you have, it is not an uncommon sight to see a few “tumbleweeds” or fuzzy dust bunnies rolling across the floors. Love to read how everyone else gets wound up over a little dust.accumulation. And, thanks. You reminded me to look up and, dang, those ceiling fan blades are looking fuzzy.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 17, 2013 at 3:30 am

      NO! Don’t look up! Now you’ll have to dust off your duster to clean it. Sorry.
      Last week I vacuumed and scrubbed my hardwood. The next day the dog came in from playing in the melting snow and tracked cute little paw prints EVERYWHERE. That’s why I don’t spend all my time cleaning….

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Keep your head down! LOL! … What are you doing looking around? SNORT! When you clean something it just makes everything else look dirtier! there’s a balance! And you messed with it! LOL! … I would live in a lived-in house (organized, not crazy dirty, just clean enough to survive) if it wasn’t for hubby, he is a neat freak! LOL! the good thing is that he doesn’t put the pressure on me… he knows I do the basics… anything beyond that, he does… 🙂 Every now and then I wake up to a room that seems to have been sterilized! I realize he stayed up late cleaning even (I am not kidding you) even the electric plugs of the appliances that he unplugged just to do this task! … People say my house is always clean but I can’t take all the credit, when it’s just me and the girls the house is “decent” and “presentable” but when “daddy is home” things go to a whole new level (that I actually enjoy because it’s nice!!! but I don’t have the time, patience and/or skill to do it!) My house never looks cleaner as when he’s on vacations! 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 17, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      Trust me. I learned my lesson about looking up. 🙂
      Now that my lights look so clean, I feel like I need to clean everything else.
      It’s nice that your hubby likes to clean, yet doesn’t put pressure on you to do so. I feel blessed that my hubby just doesn’t care. Don’t get me wrong, we don’t live in a pig sty, but we’re not in a sterilized environment by any means. You’re right though. Sometimes it is nice to sit back and enjoy a sparkling clean house. Maybe someday…..

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 17, 2013 at 3:57 pm

        well… I didn’t think you lived in a pig sty… I totally “got” what you said… because my house would be like that if it wasn’t for Mr. Monk… I mean… for hubby! -snort-

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 17, 2013 at 4:27 pm

        Perhaps you could send Mr. Monk up my way…

         
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 18, 2013 at 4:19 am

        lol!

         
  6. meleah rebeccah

    January 18, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    “It was near impossible to keep the house clean with 4 kids and a couple of pets.”

    Not NEAR impossible. DEFINITELY impossible!!

    “I vacuum almost daily, but only because I find it therapeutic.”

    I actually LOVE to clean. Yes, I know that makes me sound like a crazy person. But I believe I love cleaning so much because with all of my food & health issues, it’s the only thing I have control over. Since I can’t help or prevent what’s happening to my body, I scrub things.
    A LOT.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      I know you do! I wish I had a little of you in me. Now my car, on the other hand, is different. THAT I clean almost TOO often. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
