RSS

Around the World in 35 Days

18 Jan

Mario’s Christmas present arrived today.  Only 23 days late.

On Dec. 12, I ordered her a One Direction sweatshirt that she’d been begging to have.  The ones at the mall were way overpriced in my opinion, so I found a place online.

I placed the order, and 3 days later got an email that “My Order Has Been Shipped!”  I breathed a sigh of relief to have bought my first present of the season, and even better, it was sure to get here by Christmas!

Every couple of days I would get online and track the sweatshirt.  On Dec. 16 it was in Pennsylvania.  On Dec. 18th it was in Jamaica, NY.

On Dec. 20th, it was in Jamaica, NY.  On Dec. 22nd it was in Jamaica, NY.

By this time I was getting a little worried.  I emailed the place I bought it from.  I emailed the postal service. Then I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Christmas came and went.  I had wrapped a box with a note in it saying “this present has not yet arrived.”  Her curiosity got the best of her, so I showed her a picture.

On Dec. 26th I received a reply from USPS. They thanked me for my recent email.  They told me they valued my opinion, and they are continually working to improve customer service.  They included a link to a survey, and asked me to participate.

No where in the email did they answer my question about why my package was still in Jamaica, NY!  What the heck?  So I promptly headed to the survey and gave “completely dissatisfied” answers to most of the questions. Did they expect me to be satisfied with just a “thank you” for my email?

On Dec. 29th, I received an email from the place I purchased it from. He stated that the USPS does not update the tracking number once the package is outside of the United States.  He went on to tell me international mail usually takes 21-35 days to arrive.

WTF?  I responded immediately with “Why is the item OUTSIDE of the U.S.? It was shipped from the U.S.  and I live in the U.S.??”

A few days later he came back with: Well, the shipping address you put on the order was

Shadow Run

Quiet Little Cul-de-sac

Small Town, IL

NORWAY

Norway??

How the heck did Norway get on there?

ugh.

I admitted fault.  I must not have noticed there was a place to fill in my country, and somehow NO (for Norway) was saved with my order.

Not only was I worried now that Mario may never get her sweatshirt, but I was a little upset with the postal service for only looking at Norway, and not recognizing that my zip code and state were right above it!

Not long after, I began receiving phone calls from the post office.  Charlie must have received my very unsatisfied survey, and was doing her best to track down the elusive sweatshirt. She seemed baffled as well, that the office in Jamaica, NY wouldn’t have seen the discrepancy.  She continued to monitor it as it made it’s way through Europe and then back to the U.S., and she called frequently with updates.

Yesterday I got the call that it was in the next state!  She felt pretty confident it would be in our small town today.  And it was!  She gave me a call this morning to tell me the good news, and only then did I let Mario know her present had arrived!

The packaging itself was in pretty good shape, despite all it had been through.  It was very crumpled looking and had one little slit on the front, but I thought it looked beautiful!

Mario immediately changed into it and proclaimed her love.

I suppose she probably loves it even more because she had to wait for it.  I guess  Abby really was on to something .

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Around the World in 35 Days

  1. territerri

    January 18, 2013 at 2:58 am

    What a relief that the sweatshirt finally made it, but seriously? Norway? I’ve heard stories of letters addressed only with a name and city making it to the intended recipient. And yet the post office couldn’t figure out the address on your package?

    I did a lot of online shopping this year and had nothing but very satisfying experiences. I’m especially grateful now, after reading about the sweatshirt. I’ll bet you’re glad it fit and didn’t need to be returned or exchanged! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

      At least I didn’t have to pay extra postage for all the traveling it went through.
      The first thing I said to her is “Tell me it fits….”. I did NOT want to have to exchange it. 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    January 18, 2013 at 9:29 am

    Glad it arrived in the end – and that she still seems to like One Direction too!

    My favourite post tracking story is from local (English) friend of mine. He ordered some stuff from a company in England but at one point the tracking system at one point the package was at the bottom of Lake Erie! That was one well travelled package!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 11:31 am

      Oh, I know. I was worried she would no longer like One Direction once the sweatshirt got here. You know how teenage girls are….
      Seriously? The bottom of Lake Erie?

       
      • Rock Chef

        January 18, 2013 at 1:57 pm

        Yep – or on a ship ON the lake.

        My older daughter did a huge shift in musical taste in her early teens, going from the boy bands to things like Green Day and Good Charlotte! Must admit that I wasn’t sorry!

         
  3. agg79

    January 18, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    Those post holiday gifts can really be a nice lift from the after Christmas blues. Glad that Mario got her gift, even it it was a wee bit late. At least it arrived while it was still in style.

    Most of our deliveries over the holidays were uneventful. I did order a pair of boots for junior a few years back and tracked them through FedEx – but thought they wouldn’t arrive until the week after Christmas. Was very surprised/elated when FedEx rolled up to the house on Christmas morning with the box (talk about perfect timing).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 9:29 pm

      Wow! Christmas morning? How awesome is that! I didn’t expect USPS to deliver ON Christmas, Day, but they didn’t have to go so far out of their way…. jeepers.

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    January 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    Holy crap! Norway? Dear lawd!

    Well, I’m happy it finally arrived!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      ME too! I really thought it was going to be returned to the place I bought it from, so I was thrilled when it came “straight” to me. (In a round about way.)

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    January 18, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    You usually have to pick a country if you are ordering from outside of your own country right? Weird! It’s amazing that it made it to you with all that travelling 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2013 at 9:32 pm

      Well, I’ll know next time to look for a spot for the country code. And yes! I’m thrilled it actually made it to us! It all worked out in the end!

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 19, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Oh! I am so sorry about the mix up! That must have been aggravating! 😦 … I am glad Mario loved her shirt! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      Live and learn, right? She was very understanding and even enjoys the fact that it went to Norway first. 🙂

       
  7. Abby

    January 20, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Note the irony! “ONE” Direction?? Seriously!

    Like you, I’m a little miffed that they didn’t catch the small town U.S. zip code for IL. Is there even an Illinois in Norway? I admit that I laughed a little bit at the NO for Norway. Sorry. Hopefully, all’s well that ends well for Mario. Maybe she will cherish it more after having to wait.

     

Leave a Reply

 
