RSS

Back At It

24 Jan

Went for a brisk little run this morning.

17 degrees.

10.7 miles.

Oh yeah.

After cooling down outside, I came in and immediately wanted to snuggle with my winter love.

Hot!

When I’d had enough of that, I went for a roll on my bedroom floor til I was weak in the arms.

foam-roller

Feelin’ pretty good, I sat down for some coffee.  I had only been sitting a few minutes, when I got up to fix breakfast.  My calves immediately made it known to me they were not going anywhere anymore!  They refused to budge.  I slowly coaxed them into just going a few more steps, by bribing them with another roll on the floor.

That seemed to satisfy them enough to allow me to make breakfast.

After another roll, they were eager to take me grocery shopping.

By the end of the day, I could tell I’d run my longest ever, but my muscles had recovered much faster than I’d anticipated.  Especially after the long break they took while I was down and out.

I take back everything I said about them a few weeks ago.

Although, maybe…

maybe that was the incentive they needed to get us back to where we started.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Back At It

  1. Rock Chef

    January 24, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    You make your calves sound a bit, um how do I put this without sounding crass?

    Slutty?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 7:40 pm

      They were making it quite clear they wanted another roll. I must say, it was easy to talk me into it.

       
      • territerri

        January 24, 2013 at 11:31 pm

        RC! Haha! I never would have thought that, but went back and reread it and suddenly… SR’s calves were definitely seeming a bit slutty!

         
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 24, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    oh wow!!!! That’s a brisk “little” run! 🙂 Go you! you are unstoppable! YEAH!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      Yay me! 🙂 Hopefully I can get one of those in a week, and be totally ready by the first weekend in April!

       
  3. Abby

    January 24, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Ha! I don’t know about “slutty” calves. The bimbos just want their due compensation!
    Nice to see you back at the long haul! I ran 9.5 in 39 degrees this morning. It was so HOT, I shoulda left the socks at home.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 7:46 pm

      At least in 17 degree weather, you KNOW how you need to dress. 39 is tough, especially when you’re used to cold mornings. You bundle up, then immediately want to take most of it off.
      Congrats on your 9.5! Wanna run with me in April? Won’t be any mud involved, but it could be fun. The hardest part will be the drive through Kansas…..

       
      • Abby

        January 25, 2013 at 2:12 am

        I think that would be awesome! But yeah… like they say, the worst miles are those first 430.

         
  4. towardshealthylife

    January 24, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Almost 11 mils and still able to go shopping! You are my hero! I am sure you will be more than ready in April 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      Aw shucks…. that’s nice of you to say. 🙂 I’m looking forward to April, but I still feel like I’m a long way away. A few more runs like this, and I’ll feel better about it.

       
  5. territerri

    January 24, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    I have a winter love like that too. I keep it at work.

    You are a champ running in such cold weather and going the distance too. Way to go!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 11:41 pm

      I’m thinking of bringing it to work with me on Mondays. I work in the back office those days, and one of the ladies keeps it SO flippin’ cold. I made a joke about having to go outside, in 20 degree temps, to warm up! She just laughed. :/
      It WAS a pretty cold run, but if the winds are light, I really don’t mind. Occasionally I felt like my eyeballs were freezing up though….

       
  6. lottajoy

    January 24, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    What have I done? I’m following someone who RUNS 10.7 miles? I walked a few blocks on Monday and my joints haven’t stopped hurting yet.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 24, 2013 at 11:57 pm

      I’m following someone who packs heat during a manatee festival….. 🙂
      You can shoot the bad guys and live. With MY aim, it’s best to try and outrun them.

       
  7. agg79

    January 25, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Brisk my but. 17 freakin’ degrees? Are you insane? And I feel like a slacker complaining about 41 degrees. You da man! That is some kind of snot freezing temps. I hope you layered up for the run and made sure to keep the fingers and toes warm. 10.7 is excellent progress. Only another 5k and you have that 13.1 down. Good to hear you are getting back in the pattern, even if the calves are being whiny (don’t listen to them). Come April, you’re gonna smoke the course.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 25, 2013 at 2:27 am

      Maybe a little insane. But I CAN’T do the treadmill! So yes, I bundled up in many layers, doubled the socks, wore Colorado style gloves (with my hands balled up inside them), and a scarf that I put over my mouth and nose at the first sign of snot-cicles.
      Another 5k? Sheesh. I got more training to do….

       
  8. meleah rebeccah

    January 25, 2013 at 2:34 am

    “By the end of the day, I could tell I’d run my longest ever, but my muscles had recovered much faster than I’d anticipated. ”

    You’re amazing.

    It’s 11 degrees here, and I wont even walk the five feet to collect my trash cans from the curb!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 25, 2013 at 2:41 am

      I wouldn’t do that either! I can’t explain it, but I don’t mind one bit running in the cold. But if you ask me to do ANYTHING else out there – no flippin’ way. It’s TOO cold! 🙂

       
  9. gabby.runs

    January 25, 2013 at 4:53 am

    10.7 miles and grocery shopping!? Woah. You ROCK! 🙂

    I’m curious. Do you have any special stretches or tips that you’ve found by using your roller? I have one, but don’t use it very often, but am hoping to learn more about it. Definitley if it will help recover sore muscles so quickly!

     
  10. shadowrun300

    January 25, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I’m sure there’s a “real” way to use it… and then there’s MY way. I just sit on it in whatever position I need to to reach the muscles that hurt or are tight and then I roll back and forth. For my calves, I have to hold myself up with my arms – which is a good workout in itself. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
