RSS

Justified

25 Jan

It’s not really an addiction if you put it to good use, right?

I mean, if I actually use my excessive pinning to bring joy to others, that’s a good thing, is it not?

That’s my story anyway….

So to justify my habit, I knocked a few pins off the list this past week.

You’ve already seen the snowman cookies.  Yep.  Got the idea from Pinterest.

Melting Snowmen

Melting Snowmen

Along with the hot chocolate cookies…  All Pinterest.

Hot Chocolate Cookie with Marshmallows

Hot Chocolate Cookie with Marshmallows and 3 kinds of chocolate chips

And recently, I made THE BEST cupcakes EVER.  I merged 2 Pinterest pins to create these heavenly goodies.

Coffee Mocha Cupcake

Coffee Mocha Cupcake

Hubby's half on the left. Mine half on the right.

Hubby’s half on the left. My half on the right.

And just today, I made another cupcake with my hubby in mind.

Since we can’t go to  Key West, I brought Key West to us.  Or at least some Key Limes. I found this yummy Key Lime Pie Cupcake recipe… on Pinterest, of course.

Key Lime Pie Cupcakes

Key Lime Pie Cupcakes

These were absolutely delicious and I loved the fresh key lime juice and zest.

But for goodness sake….

Have you ever juiced a key lime?

Dehydrated Key Limes

Dehydrated Key Limes

It’s like milking a cat. (I’m guessing here)

They’re so tiny .  And by the time I got done, every little crack on my hand was screaming at me.

But I got 1/3 a cup outa the little buggers, plus a few more tablespoons for the glaze.

Then to nourish my newly converted vegetarian daughter, I made a cheesy cauliflower bake, and a crockpot mac and cheese.  They were okay, but nothing to blog about.

And for the  “not concerned about eating animals” rest of us, I made a Crockpot Lasagna, and some homemade pizza rolls, all thanks to Pinterest.

So yeah – I knocked a few pins out, and feel slightly justified.

But my boards are looking a little sparse….

gone pinning

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in Baking, Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Justified

  1. Brittany

    January 26, 2013 at 2:22 am

    Ohh those cupcakes! They are gorgeous!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:28 am

      Why thank you! They didn’t last long!

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    January 26, 2013 at 2:40 am

    I am hungry now 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:28 am

      Uh yeah… sorry. This post definitely wasn’t filed under “Health and Fitness”. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    January 26, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    Milking a cat. Thanks for the new expression I can add to my bag. I usually use “herding cats” (about as easy as). As usual, your culinary experiments are spectacular. The key lime cupcakes look delicious. I guess all that pining really pays off (gastronomically speaking).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:26 am

      Oh no! You hadn’t heard that before? Now I feel like a hick. Perhaps it’s only said in these here parts of Illinoiz.
      Most all my pins are gastronomical in nature – except for the running ones. I need those to offset the others.

       
  4. territerri

    January 26, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    The keylime cupcakes look fabulous. I thought I might look them up and give them a try myself… and then I saw the limes. No thanks!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:23 am

      So NOW I find out there’s a better way. The link in Thin Lady’s comment will show you. Maybe, just maybe, I will have to make these again. They were very good! Or better yet, YOU try it, and let me know how easy it was! 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    January 26, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    Yum-OH! I can almost taste the BEST cupcakes EVER (but too bad I can’t really). And nice lime work!
    To answer your question, I’m thinking yeah, it’s still an addiction, but go with it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:21 am

      I’m tellin’ ya, Abby. They were the BEST cupcakes EVER!!! That coffee buttercream was out of this world. I linked the recipe if you wanna try it. I used Starbucks Hazelnut instant coffee the first time, and their Caramel coffee the second time. But I’m sure it’s just as good with any instant coffee brand that you love – flavored or not.
      Ok. Fine. I’m an addict.

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 27, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Those cupcakes and cookies look yummy! I almost left your blog as I saw the treats! Lol! … BTW … That’s not a good lime juicer… You need one of these: https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSZqLnXExUeGt7eggy-LCbBz80NtNz-HhS6uXdd03PZtn3qb7Xi , all Mexicans have it, they’re easy to find and they are super cheap! 🙂 Just sayin’ … they are very easy to use too… forget about cow milking! LOL!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2013 at 1:15 am

      That looks WAY easier than what I was doing. I’ve never juiced a key lime before. I never even knew how they looked until I walked past them in the store one day. They oughta put the juicers NEXT to them, so we know!
      But this gives me more incentive to try them again! They were delicious! (My one bite told me so.)

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 28, 2013 at 3:42 pm

        We usually only eat limes in Mexico, lemons are not common, we actually call limes lemons and lemons limes… I was weirded out when people called the yellow ones lemons here LOL! … our “lemonades” are only with limes… either green limes or key limes… 🙂 yes, they’re delicious indeed! and of course every Mexican home has at least ONE of those lemon squeezers… you should definitely have one… those get all the juice out in a blink and not the seeds! those limes are what we use for our guacamole and tons of other dishes as well!

         
  7. meleah rebeccah

    January 29, 2013 at 4:33 am

    OHMAHGAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am dying over these! Holy deliciousness!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
