RSS

Didn’t See THAT Coming

28 Jan

For her birthday last September, Mario asked for an iPhone.  With High School just around the corner, I promised her she could have one, but she needed to wait until she was available for an upgrade.  That day was January 21.

And every day since then she has begged me to take her.  Between my work schedule and her school schedule, and my lack of desire to wait around in a store for hours… we finally picked a time to go.

Yesterday, I sucked it up and took her in.

We were fourth on the list to be helped, so I took a moment to scope out my next phone.  I liked the slide-out keyboard with touch screen for $30, similar to the one I have.  But today was about her. I could come back later.

She’d already settled on the iPhone 4, because it was only a dollar with her upgrade.

Stop thinking I got off easy.  As most of you know, she’s needs the data plan to go with it.  $30/month times 12.  (times at least 4 more years….) Slightly more than $1 overall.

She became the fourth member of the family to be on the data plan.  You guessed it.  The 2 members not on the plan are Hubby and me. His phone is even dumber than mine.  (It still flips, for goodness sake!)

We listened to Bob as he informed us of the increase in the price of our plan.  My ears perked up slightly when he let me know the next person we added would be no additional cost, since we would then switch to a family plan.

He continued talking and figuring while thoughts raced through my head.   I could upgrade to a $30 phone with no need for data, or I could upgrade to an iPhone for $1 with no cost for data.   

I confirmed my thoughts with Bob when he returned with Mario’s new phone.

20 minutes later we both walked out with our iPhones, She extremely excited about being able to tell her FB friends about her awesome new phone, with her phone.  Me with a slightly nervous stomach about whether or not I’d be able to use my phone.

She patiently used our drive home to show me how to turn it on.  And call someone.  And end the call.  She only rolled her eyes at my dumbness a few times.  But I made sure to save some of my questions for the boys.  I figured if I spread them around, none of them would know how many questions I really need answered.

I can now call, text, and set the alarm.  All the things I did with my old phone.

I know how to check my email, but I haven’t done much of that.  Some of the joy of my couch time, is the anticipation of checking my mail and reading new blog posts.  I’m not ready to give that up by checking my mail throughout the day.

I wonder if all the phone’s gadgets and smartness will be wasted on me.  In a way, I kind of hope so.  I only got it because it was $1.  I didn’t really want it………….

………….I didn’t!

But I kinda like it.

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , ,

18 responses to “Didn’t See THAT Coming

  1. agg79

    January 28, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Oh, THAT’s how they get you sucked in. All that convenience, extra features you didn’t have before. I resisted the siren call and was the last one in my tribe to get an iPhone. Bells and whistles I didn’t need/want. But in the intervening months, I have come to enjoy some of the benefits. A lot of my communications from my cruise were through my iPhone. And I am able to follow several “important” blogs while out on the road. I agree with you about keeping it simple, but once you sample what’s available out there, it is hard to go back to school.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2013 at 2:32 am

      I’m trying not to cave, but it IS kind of exciting to learn all the things I can do. But really, since I’ve had it, I haven’t played with it a whole lot. This morning while I was running, I recalled hearing about an app for tracking your mileage. I may be interested in that. And maybe the stopwatch. And I liked being able to check the temperature before I went out without having to turn the TV on.
      I’m sure I’ll be like you, and begin to enjoy the benefits of it. Especially if I have to be away from my laptop for any length of time. But I plan to ease my way into it. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        January 29, 2013 at 2:58 am

        But think of all the new things you can pin with it…

         
      • shadowrun300

        January 29, 2013 at 3:19 am

        Agg – I’m trying to control my pinning addiction. I need support! Not encouragement! 😉

         
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 28, 2013 at 4:49 am

    very cool! 🙂 My phone still flips! It’s just for emergencies… I am a technology freak! I love tech stuff! Computers love me and I love them… I used to be in charge of IT in the company where I worked and since I married I don’t have anything like that! LOL! no WiFi, no laptop, no ipad, no iphone and barely a cell phone, we don’t even have cable… but everything is sooo expensive… I am just happy I have a computer and I can make phone calls! LOL! enjoy your phone! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2013 at 2:37 am

      We didn’t even get a cell phone until we started leaving the kids at home by themselves. It wasn’t long before they were all getting phones, and since they wanted nice ones, we were stuck with the flips. Which was fine with me. And even this time, I expected to just get a different dumb phone, but the $1 and no data cost sold me on it. So, as long as I have it, I may as well enjoy it. Right?

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        January 29, 2013 at 2:40 am

        oh! Enjoy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 those things are fun and to be enjoyed for sure! 🙂

         
    • towardshealthylife

      January 31, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      My cell flips as well and rarely use it, it’s for emergency too! How old were your kids at their first cell phones Shadow? Mine is 5 and knows how to use her daddy’s iphone, not me lol

       
      • shadowrun300

        February 1, 2013 at 12:56 am

        Oh I know! Kids pick up on those kinds of things so quickly! We didn’t let our oldest get a cell phone until he went to high school, since he would be going to a different town. Of course, each kid that followed got theirs earlier and earlier, but even Mario was 12 before she got hers. I based it on the activities they were doing, since most times they have to go to another town to do them. I liked knowing I could reach them and they could reach me. They did NOT start out with smart phones though…

         
      • towardshealthylife

        February 1, 2013 at 3:40 am

        I pretty sure I will always want to know where my child is so I will do the same when it’s time:-)

         
  3. meleah rebeccah

    January 29, 2013 at 4:36 am

    “The 2 members not on the plan are Hubby and me. His phone is even dumber than mine.  (It still flips, for goodness sake!)”

    That literally made me laugh out loud.

    I don’t use my iPhone for emails or blogs either. I prefer my computer for that. But I absolutely LOVE my phone. You’re going to fall in love with yours too. And it’s sofa king ways to use!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2013 at 12:22 pm

      I love my laptop almost as much as you love yours. I would much rather read blogs and answer emails with it. Plus I really DO enjoy the anticipation of waiting.
      I have a feeling I’ll like my phone too. But I don’t think I’ll be as addicted to it as my kids are.

       
  4. Abby

    January 29, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    Ooh, you’ve gone over to the dark side! I have yet to cave – staying in the dumb camp as a last holdout! But geez, a dollar?? I’m almost certain I’d have done the same thing – minus the almost.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2013 at 10:50 pm

      Yeah – the dollar got me. And since there would be no additional monthly charge anyway, I HAD to go for it. It may be a smart phone, but I’M still dumb, so all it’s bells and whistles are sitting silent. And probably will for a while.

       
  5. territerri

    January 30, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Congratulations! It’s a slippery slope with the smart phone. I didn’t necessarily want my iPhone but my job required that I get one. I didn’t use it much the first several months. Now I use it to check blog comments, email, Facebook, take photos, play Words with Friends and Dice with Buddies, check the weather, watch Netflix…..

    You’ll catch on quickly! Have fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2013 at 2:06 am

      I just downloaded my first App! (With a little help from Mario.) I’m hoping to try it out tomorrow morning on my run – if the weather cooperates. I’ll let you know if it’s a success!.

       
  6. Rock Chef

    January 30, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    I resisted the smart phone thing for a long time, but I now have a mid range android which is great for me.

    Enjoy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2013 at 4:57 pm

      I remembered you had just gotten one yourself. I guess we can only hold out for so long. There are definitely a lot of benefits of having one. I just need to learn about them all!

       

Leave a Reply

 
