RSS

Smarted

01 Feb

Damn.

I pushed it too far.

The plan was to spread my dumb questions between my four kids so not one of them would know how dumb I really am at working my new phone.

But Mario was the closest.  And she came when I texted her.  And now she knows…..

On my own, I had figured out how to sync my iTunes library to my phone.  I was feeling pretty good about myself and couldn’t wait to start listening to the music via my phone and not my iPod.

But I could NOT for the life of me, find my playlists on my phone.  So I synced it again.  And looked.  And synced one more time.  And looked.  It was NOT there!

Frustrated that I needed help, I texted Mario.  Yes, she was in the next room, but the house was quiet, and I didn’t want to yell, and I was settled on the couch under mounds of blankets and wasn’t getting up.

She obligingly huffed out of her bedroom.

“I figured out how to sync my phone to iTunes,” I began proudly.  “But now I can’t find it on my phone.”

She grabbed my phone and with quick fingers began clicking buttons and navigating around.

“Where ARE you?”  She asked when she couldn’t find it either.

She quickly realized that I wasn’t looking in the right spot.  I was still in iTunes when I should have been in Music.

“Your playlists are in the music app.  That’s where your music is,” she said with all the sarcasm of a 14 year old.

I shrunk a little deeper under my blankets, and uttered a meek, “oh.  ok.  Thanks, Honey.”

Damn.

Now I can’t ask her any more questions.  And I’m worried that with the boys’ busy schedules that they may not be around when I need them.

*sigh*

I suppose I can always look my questions up online.  There’s a site I found, designed with me in mind.

dummies.com

I’ll use that from now on.  I’ll still feel dumb. but at least I won’t have the rolling eyes and sarcasm and sighs of exasperation from them when I can’t figure out something so easy-peasy.

And maybe someday, I’ll be able to show Mario how to do something

Maybe.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2013 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Family, Humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Smarted

  1. territerri

    February 1, 2013 at 1:38 am

    I rely on one of my coworkers to show me what my iPhone can do. She’s a techy and knows all the ins and outs of phones. You just need to find a phone mentor outside of the family!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2013 at 1:44 am

      Good thinkin’! I’ve been trying to figure out how to move my apps around. And I wasn’t sure who to ask. But Cory at work would know… and he probably wouldn’t laugh at me. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    February 1, 2013 at 3:19 am

    “It’s funny… because it’s TRUE”. I’m sorry, but I couldn’t help but laugh through this post!
    Heck, I finally just got an iPod, let alone an iPhone! I don’t have enough kids to spread the dumb around.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      I suppose the good news is, that she now KNOWS I’m a dummie when it comes to that. So I should just go ahead and keep asking her. You should have seen us at the store. I didn’t even know where to begin with the dang thing. She literally had to show me how to make a call. lol

       
  3. agg79

    February 1, 2013 at 3:44 am

    That’s the problem with the latest technological devices. Shelf life is measured in days, not years. I gave my son an iPad when he graduated and I think I rated a “cool dad” for at least a month. I have been maxing out the potential of my iPhone but lately I have hit a wall. Need to consult with my geek squad when he comes into town this weekend.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      Why does it seem to come so natural to them? I’d like to think I’m not really a dummie – even with technology. Heck, I was the one who had to hook up our original computers, and the VCR, and the DVD player, etc. So I’m not worried about catching on… but there are some things I need my geek squad to help me with.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    February 1, 2013 at 9:21 am

    You will get there. My wife started using Facebook at Christmas (she is a real technophobe) and was soon showing me how to use it rather than the other way around!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      I’m not a technophobe, but I’m not familiar with the iAnythings. Hubby has an iPad that I’ve played with a few times, so that has helped me, but I’m a long way away from not needing a geek squad. (BTW, I’m a FB dummie too.)

       
  5. Melissa Gastorf

    February 1, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    I can work my phone, but I keep accidentally moving my apps around, and when someone asks why my productivity folder has games in it, I truly don’t know.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 2, 2013 at 1:28 am

      Too funny! Sounds like something I would do. If I could get my apps to move, that is. That’ll be my next lesson. Just gotta find the right kid to ask.

       
      • Melissa Gastorf

        February 2, 2013 at 10:30 am

        I now know how to move them, but I usually am not doing it on purpose. And usually can’t get them to move back. 🙂

         
  6. meleah rebeccah

    February 3, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    I text my son even when he’s in the next room – because I don’t want to yell for him, or get out from under the cozy covers either!

    Also, I am CRACKING up, because it took me a week to figure out my playlists were in my Music app and NOT in the iTunes app.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 3, 2013 at 9:53 pm

      I am SO glad I’m not the only one. It still doesn’t make sense to me why it isn’t in the iTunes app.
      I text my kids all the time while we’re in the house. So much easier than getting up and going to them. It’s like a very high-tech intercom system! AND… I can nag and bark out orders without hearing the sighs and seeing the rolling eyes. I just get the “yes, ma’am”. 😉

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 4, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Aw! I am sorry! And I feel bad when I’ve been impatient with my parents when it comes to technology! Particularly when they were so patient with me when I had no clue of things and they even let me believe “I was smart” being a mom changes the way you act though… and the way you think too.. It’s made me way more considerate towards my parents… and seeing how smart my “4 yr. old” thinks she is (already) and how she tries to “correct me” makes me think how stupid I must have looked to my parents too… and embarrasses me! So … one day, God willing, Mario will get the big picture… and she’ll regret even this small thing that you might think she’ll forget about soon! Love ya!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 5, 2013 at 1:19 am

      Mario is pretty good at taking what she dishes out. I’m used to the MOM!’s and the rolling eyes, and know in some cases I deserve it. But when she’s deserving of it, I give it back to her. We’re both pretty comfortable with our weaknesses, so most times we laugh about it. But there was this one time, that she really hurt my feelings with her lack of concern, and by the end of the whole discussion, we were both crying. I try to be patient with her, because I totally remember what it was like to be 13.

       

Leave a Reply

 
