RSS

Old and Improved

12 Feb

Lots of things improve with age.  Wine.  Cheese.  Chili.

And I’m almost daring enough to say ME.

Almost, because I still lack confidence,  and almost, because I’m afraid of the misconceptions you all might be having, that I’m a little egotistical.  After all, my blogs are mostly about myself, and I usually just share the good things.

But the truth is, I think most of us improve with age.

When I was in my 20s, I was hot.  Hot headed, I mean.    At that time, I felt the need to be in control of everything, and when I couldn’t be, and goodness knows with four young kids I rarely was, I’d lose my patience and have to sit myself in time-out.

The kids generously kept practicing my patience, until eventually, I got pretty darn good at it.

I’ve also improved at not sweatin’ the small stuff.  Spilled milk on my newly cleaned floor?  Pshaw – the dog’ll clean it up.   Clean clothes still in the basket?  Well, at least our closets look cleaner.  The dishwasher didn’t run the night before?  YAY!  I don’t have to unload them!

I’m also more accepting of others and their differences, and believe me, I come in contact with a lot of people who are different.  My co-workers will often criticize our night auditor for his compulsive lying.  But I understand it’s just who he is.  He can’t help telling people he’s the most popular piano player at the local dueling piano bar, or that he runs a marathon daily, or that he’s the manager of the hotel.    While all this makes me smile inside, and sometimes cringe when a guest believes his stories,  I am just as polite and respectful of him as I am of everyone else I work with.

My biggest improvement, however, has been dealing with the hand that’s dealt me.   There’s still room for improvement here, but more often than not, I find myself saying “It is what it is”.  Of course, if I were to get hurt right now and not be able to run, “It is what it is” would  NOT be the words I utter.  But for the most part, if I’m stuck in traffic and my hour commute turns in to an hour and a half,  no worries. I crank up the music and enjoy the extra time I get with my car.  Or if my work schedule keeps me from running as many miles as I would like, I come up with other ways to prep – like tackle Holy Hill right after work.  Before I realize I’m tired. Basically, if it’s not something I can control, I don’t dwell on it, and instead, learn to work with it.

Now you know…. I’m leaving out the things I’m still bad at, but when I look back at how uptight and stressed and tense I used to be, I’m really liking the more laid back and positive me.

And it’s great to know that there is something good about growing older.

Well, at least until I reach the age when I’ll become a Grumpy Old…um… Gal.

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Old and Improved

  1. agg79

    February 12, 2013 at 11:59 am

    You? Grumpy? That’s hard to picture. Ok, maybe when the ‘stang is scuffed. Or someone doesn’t respect your distance on the Shadow. Or when you get crappy BBQ. Those I can totally understand. We all get “out of sorts” when things don’t turn out how we expect. But I prefer the term: curmudgeon. Still, part of growing older (and wiser) is learning how to deal with those little things that annoy the crap out of you. Like you said, don’t sweat the small stuff.

    I hope you are able to carve out the time and energy to keep up the training runs. I found it hard the last month to keep up the pace with all the meetings and end of year priorities. 53 days until the starting gun.

    BTW – I missed your earlier post about your favorite night auditor. Sounds like a real piece of work. He’s what we would label: All Hat, No Cattle.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 12, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      I can get grumpy, but not near as often as I used to. Bad BBQ and a scuffed ‘stang would definitely set me off.
      I thought winter would be a great chance to train, since last year I averaged 3-4 days of work only. This year, I’ve found myself pushing overtime quite often. I’m not complaining, but it sure makes it hard to run when my shifts start at 6 am. I really find it difficult to run after work. Either way, 8 miles is becoming very easy, and I try to get 10+ miles in one day a week. Some weeks, those are the only 2 runs I have. 53 days! I am so excited! 🙂
      The night auditor used to bug the heck outa me. Now I feel kinda sorry for him. There’s a reason he lies and makes up stories about himself. I don’t egg him on, but I don’t criticize or talk bad about him either. It’s who he is. I don’t let him bother me.

       
  2. Abby

    February 12, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    I surely HOPE we get better with age – since we don’t have a choice in which way the clock moves! I think wisdome really does come with experience. And I love your bright spots!

    “Clean clothes still in the basket? Well, at least our closets look cleaner. The dishwasher didn’t run the night before? YAY! I don’t have to unload them!”

    Okay, now I have to go read about the lying night auditor…

     
    • Abby

      February 12, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      Okay, I just read about your weird auditor. Sure it’s a good idea to have him doing da books?!? But yeah, I feel kinda sorry for him too.

       
      • shadowrun300

        February 12, 2013 at 10:06 pm

        I just don’t want to turn into a crabby ol’ codger. I seem to be heading in the right direction though…
        As far as the lying auditor…. he’s “okay” at the books. He makes mistakes, but they’re fixable. One more write up and he’s out, though. But if that’s the case, he’ll be fine. The latest story is that he’s won a multi-million dollar settlement…..

         
  3. territerri

    February 13, 2013 at 3:01 am

    I think we all tend to write the more positive stuff about ourselves and conveniently leave out our failures. 🙂 I agree with you, though. I think we get better with age. With each passing day, we learn how to be better people, we smooth out our shortcomings and we learn how to be happier. Other than those fleeting years when our bodies were as close to perfect as they were going to get, I think everything else improves with age. I wouldn’t choose to go back in time.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 3:06 am

      I wouldn’t choose to go back in time either, however, sometimes I wish time would slow down just a little.
      I suppose it’s our experiences that help us to understand what’s really important, and what we should shrug off. I am definitely more mellow now than I have ever been. It’s a great place to be!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    February 13, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    I like the older me much more than the younger me. Except for the odd creak, and the times when I am thinking “I really should get up”, but my body ain’t listening…

    I have a friend who used to work in hotels and from his stories I can see that it takes a lot of tolerance to be good at it. He was NOT very tolerant 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 3:16 pm

      I get that odd creak too. I just try to ignore it.
      I’m having a blast working in my hotel, but I most definitely have to be tolerant. I’m getting much more so as I get older. A lot of the young ones there don’t have any tolerance, so it’s not as fun for them. Just a way to pay the college bills…

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    February 14, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    I think your reasons are also my favorite reasons as to why getting older does NOT suck. And honestly, you couldn’t PAY be to go back to my 20’s. Hell no.

    I am much more easy going. I’ve learned how NOT to sweat the small stuff. I’ve learned how to say NO, and how to set boundaries. And I’ve also learned how to truly enjoy and appreciate what I do have, rather than dwelling on what I don’t have.

    So, yes. Growing older = kind of awesome!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 14, 2013 at 11:13 pm

      With all the big stuff you’ve gone through, the small stuff really does seem small. I remember reading your posts about saying NO, and appreciating what you have. As long as we can get past the grey eyelash, the stray hair, and that one wrinkle, growing old’s pretty cool!

       

Leave a Reply

 
