RSS

Sad to be Weight Free

13 Feb

I’ve had this pain in my elbow for, oh maybe, 2 or 3 years now.  I’d gotten quite used to it, but lately it seems to be getting worse.

I figured it was time to see the doc.  Dr. WebMD that is.

I did a search for my symptoms:

Pain in the outside part of my elbow.  Sensitive to the touch.  Hurts to scoop ice cream.  Hurts to drink coffee.  Hurts to open the fridge. Hurts to lift my purse.  Hurts to pick up my laptop.  Hurts to… well, it hurts to do ANYTHING.

Diagnosis:  Tennis Elbow.

Hmm.. that makes sense.  I’ve played tennis for, let me think, NEVER!  But I have bowled for a gazillion years so maybe that’s how it started.  Except that I haven’t bowled for almost a year now and the pain has only gotten worse.

The only other thing I think could be causing it is my free weights.  There’s one move in particular that is very painful to do, but my usual stubborn self just pushes through it. Now I can’t even pick up the weight without pain in my elbow.  And since it’s affecting my ice cream scooping ability, I’ve decided I’ll have to forego the weights for a while.  All arm work will have to be in the form of push-ups and car washing til I can scoop pain free again.

In other health and fitness news:   I ran 11.41 miles today! A new record for me.  According to the lady on my favorite App EVER,  I averaged a pace of 7:55 min per mile which continues to surprise me.  My first mile or two starts out the slowest, but as I go, I build up speed without even realizing it.  It feels like I’m lumbering along, especially towards the end, so it’s nice to know I’m running faster than I think.  It still boggles my mind that I can run like I have been when only a year ago I was contemplating quitting.   From past experience, I plan to enjoy my triumphs while they last!

Now I’m off to make chocolate covered strawberries.  This is NOT my thing, but for whatever reason, my coworkers think I’m a whiz in the kitchen and can do ANYthing.  So I agreed to try.  I have a feeling, though,  that I’ll need to take some lessons from Abby about Just Saying No.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Sad to be Weight Free

  1. Rock Chef

    February 13, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Good luck with the elbows! Can’t have impaired ice cream scooping!

    Hm, going to have a look at that post of Abby’s too…

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      Last night I had to use my left hand to scoop, and if it comes down to it, I’ll just eat it directly out of the tub.
      You have a problem saying “no” too? Seems to be a common problem.

       
      • Rock Chef

        February 14, 2013 at 2:22 pm

        My wife and I have come to the conclusion that we are too nice for our own good…

         
  2. lottajoy

    February 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    YAY! I have finally managed to get your blog listed on my BLOGGERS BLOCK!!!

    As for the tennis elbow. I’m wondering if it’s something (viral) that is going around. My elbow is tender to the touch, and I can’t lift my purse or my dog. It HURTS LIKE HELL and has for nearly a month.

    Live with it.

    On the other hand, you ran 11 miles, so quit yer bitchin.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 7:20 pm

      I’m so excited to be on your block! Just keep that viral thing to yourself. I’m okay with it in my elbow, but if it reaches my knees, I may get a little testy.
      Keep taking that mucinex and your happy pills and soon you’ll feel like you can run 11 miles too!

       
  3. Abby

    February 13, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    Isn’t WebMD great? Usually?? My total unprofessional self was ready to jump on the bowling bandwagon, but then maybe it is the free weights thing. And if it’s not that, it’s something else, I’m pretty sure!
    Nice miles and pace!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 8:38 pm

      I visit WebMD quite often.
      Thanks for your unprofessional help! I’m pretty sure it’s “something” too. 🙂 Guess I’ll just back off of the things that cause it to really hurt bad, and see if that helps.
      It was great running this morning. Upper 30s, no wind. Awesome.

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    February 13, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    I actually gave myself a “tennis elbow” doing roses out of icing when I was 19…I know weird… but it came back a few years ago for no reason, I did physiotherapy and it disapeared again. I realised that typing and using my laptop made things worst lol. Sorry for you I know how much it hurts 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2013 at 8:40 pm

      What’s this physioptherapy? I may need it.
      Luckily typing doesn’t hurt. Just picking up my laptop hurts. I’m becoming quite proficient with my left hand.
      Good to see you again! How’ve you been?

       
      • towardshealthylife

        February 13, 2013 at 8:51 pm

        I am not too bad actually, I figured out a way to ease my sciatic pain: shopping lol (walking)
        Physio is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_therapy lol
        They use cold, heat, tens unit to heal and after show you exercises you can do to help yourself. I used to try to do everthing with my left hand too lol You can put ice on it , it may help. Did the doc prescribed some magic gel to apply where it hurts? It use to work for me 🙂 Take care!

         
  5. agg79

    February 14, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Sounds like one of those mystery injuries that occasionally show up without warning. I would say that happens when you get older, but you ain’t that old like moi. I chalk my aches and pains up to poor judgement and bad habits from my younger days (too many miles running on pavement or jumping off of tanks).

    11.41 with a 7:55 pace! Impressive. And with only 51 days to go! That last 1.5 should be a cakewalk for you. Plenty of time to practice that finish line smile/wave! Your pace during the run is not all that surprising. You start out slow and stiff (I do) and pick up speed as the muscles limber up. That is an actual strategy many used by many marathoners. Break the race into thirds – first part you start out slow, and then you kick it up a notch in the 2nd part and kick it up again in the final third. I always wind up doing the opposite – jackrabbit at the start and slow up towards the end. I am still betting that you will pull down a sub 8:00 pace. It is amazing to look back at your progress from a year ago. It shows that, with the right motivation/inspiration, people can move mountains.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 1:06 am

      Well, I’m older than I used to be, but sometimes I forget to act like it. Until a body part reminds me.
      You make a great cheerleader and coach! Sometimes I think I may actually be able to do this. I’m glad you pointed out the start slow strategy. I mean, I knew that, but I didn’t really KNOW it. Hopefully it’ll stick with me, so on race day, I won’t jackrabbit out of the gate. 🙂

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    February 14, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    “And since it’s affecting my ice cream scooping ability, I’ve decided I’ll have to forego the weights for a while.”

    Good call!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 1:08 am

      Yep. I know when it’s time to get serious.

       
  7. territerri

    February 15, 2013 at 1:50 am

    There must be some kind of physical therapy you can do for your elbow. Can’t have your ice cream scooping being negatively impacted!

    I had some kind of issue with my shoulder several years ago. And it was ongoing for a few years! And I wasn’t even bowling at that time! The doctor labeled it bursitis and gave me some simple exercises to do. It’s been non-existent for years now. Hopefully there’s something you can do for the elbow.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 1:59 am

      I suppose I’ll have to research some physical therapy. It’s linked to the forearm muscles, if I remember right. Something about the twisting and straining of those that cause the elbow to hurt. It’s becoming quite annoying. Anyway, good to know there may be a cure! Gotta save my ice cream scooper!

       
  8. Practical Parsimony

    February 15, 2013 at 5:32 am

    No pushup, just rest and some heat and maybe anti-inflammatory. You can lick the ice cream out if necessary!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 11:30 am

      Aww… but push-ups don’t hurt. Lifting things with my hand hurts. And if necessary I will lick the ice cream out. Gotta do what I gotta do….

       

Leave a Reply

 
