RSS

The F Word Revisited

15 Feb

I spent the last day of my “weekend” preparing for Valentine’s Day.

For other people.

I made chocolate covered strawberries for a co-worker.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Somewhat successful!

Then I made chocolate cookie hearts for my favorite Valentines.

chocolate heart cookies

Time consuming, but successful!

And right before bed I finished the ChocoFLAN Cake for Amp.

He needed a Mexican dish once again, and even though flan is my nemesis, I went for it.

After all, my sweet blog friend, TLI, promised me it would be easy and delicious.  And I promised her I would try one more time.

So I did.

And this time,I didn’t dump anything into the trash, and I only got mad once….. As the caramel seeped through the bottom of the only bundt pan I own.  A springform one.

And I knew the flan probably would too.  But I put the pan in the water anyway, shoved it in the oven, and didn’t look at it for the next two hours.

When I pulled the cake and pan of water out of the oven, I cringed as I saw boiled flan floating in the water.

I left it covered and pouted for the next 15 minutes.

Finally I decided to just take the foil off and look.

Chocoflan Cake

It almost looked like hers.

TLI's flan cake

And then I flipped it over.

And the caramel drizzled out just like she said it would…..  but only down one side.

And the flan…. well what was left of it sat nicely on top.

ChocoFlan Cake

Just like hers…….

LTI's Flan

 

 

Or not.

Amp eagerly tried a piece, thinking it looked awesome!

Then he tried another.

“It’s delicious!”  He declared.

Shew.

Maybe I’ll get an A.  HE!   Maybe HE will get an A.

Either way, I’m sitting here on Valentine’s Night, with my bowl of frozen carbs, missing my hubby down in Tennessee,but feeling pretty good,

Because I almost made flan.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2013 in Baking, Blunders, Family, Friendship, Holidays, Humor

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 responses to “The F Word Revisited

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 15, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    What’s the order that you followed? The caramel goes on the empty bundt pan! I am telling you, there’s no way anybody can ruin this one if you follow the right steps… and I hear that the caramel went to the bottom? Well… there’s no way it doesn’t because the pan is empty when you put the caramel in there… then… you just throw the cake batter OVER the caramel and finally the flan… I think it sounds like you put the cake batter first and then the flan… if that’s the case that’s the reason why it didn’t turn out… Shadow… please don’t give up on this delicious dessert… I beg of you! You’ll never regret making it again! I swear! You and everyone will love it… let me know how I can help!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      I followed the order right. The problem was my pan. The only pan I had was a springform one, so it doesn’t exactly seal tight. When I put the caramel in, some of it seeped out the bottom. I put the flan on top of the cake like I should have, but again, while it was making it’s way down to the “bottom”, it seeped out of the pan. That’s why it was floating in the water. So I guess I really didn’t mess it up…. my pan did. 🙂
      The good news? The class LOVED it! Even if it didn’t look as nice as yours!

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        February 15, 2013 at 9:38 pm

        yay! awesome! I hope you try on another pan because it’s totally worth it! 🙂 I am glad the class liked it! 😀 so happy! it still looked good! You did AWESOME! 😀

         
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 15, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Those strawberries are just ADORABLE!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      It was actually quite fun to do. It took 2 hours or so, but very relaxing.

       
  3. Abby

    February 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    The strawberries and cookies look fantastic as always! As does the chocoflan! I’m not sure what the chocoflan is supposed to look like, but I’d eat it!. I’d say you deserve acceptance into the AP Flan program!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2013 at 9:32 pm

      The top pictures are mine. The bottom pics are hers. Just a slight difference. 😉 I’ve been told it was quite delicious though! I may try one more time – with a new pan – just to prove I can do it!

       
  4. Sandi

    February 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Yum!

     
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 16, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Can we order online? 😉 I just had strawberries covered with chocolate except that mine didn’t have the chocolate on it lol Mine were easier to do as well but not as pretty as yours. You have been busy! This chocoflan looks so delicious(both of them)!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2013 at 11:15 pm

      I really liked making the strawberries. There was something very calming about it. Not sure why I’ve never done it before. The chocoflan wasn’t quite as calming, but I was relieved that it tasted good. The cookies took a ton of time, but they were fairly easy to make.
      As for ordering…. can I practice saying NO now? 😉

       
      • towardshealthylife

        February 17, 2013 at 2:39 am

        What a NO! lol Practice some more I am sure you get better at it 😉

         
  6. agg79

    February 16, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    You’ve really got some amazing talent when it comes to baking. All of those treats look sinful. The cookies and strawberries look great! Where can I order for some? I know the flan is still posing a challenge for you but you’ve never been one to back down from a challenge. If AMP loved it, I’m sure it was excellent. All those sweets makes me wonder how they fit in your new training diet. I would find it hard to resist.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2013 at 11:25 pm

      Sinful is the right word. Well, except maybe for the strawberries. I think, because I know what I put into them, (tons of butter, cream cheese, sugar etc.) that it’s pretty easy for me to resist them. I may have a taste, but that’s about it. I get enjoyment out of creating and baking, and then bringing them to work for my co-workers. They never mind being guinea pigs. 🙂

       
  7. Rock Chef

    February 18, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Well if it tasted good it can’t be that wrong. Once you start chewing on it, looks become irrelavant! Unless you are someone who chews with their mouth open, of course 😦

     
  8. territerri

    February 20, 2013 at 12:41 am

    I don’t know how you manage to create all these goodies and not just go crazy eating them! I would have NO self-control.

    Your flan looks FABULOUS by the way!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 1:06 am

      Are you sure you’re looking at MY flan? My flan looks just “ok”. 🙂

       
  9. meleah rebeccah

    February 22, 2013 at 1:03 am

    OMG!

    I am dying over those chocolate covered strawberries!

    And those cookies!

    And that cake!

    Great! Now I need to find something sweet in this house, ASAP!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:25 am

      Hope you had some coffee ice cream in the freezer!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
