RSS

On the Edge of _______

19 Feb

Yesterday I was asked to evaluate an employee from a different property who happens to be vying for the same position as I.

In other words, I was supposed to let management know if I thought she had the necessary skills, the motivation, and the right fit to be a front desk supervisor.

What the heck.

Really?

You’re asking me to evaluate her when I want the job myself?

Some things I just don’t get.

Hubby thinks I’ve been patient long enough with the backwoods way our management has of doing things.  I tend to be a little more accepting of the procedures and let faith determine whether I should be promoted or not.

Not that I’m not trying. Ever since Ms. Know-It-All (I mean that in a good way) moved on to a *yawn* boring 9-5 Monday thru Friday job, I have become the go-to person.  She spent her last few weeks training me to be the Ms. Know-It-All.  After her departure, I stepped into her role of managing the front office, handling the billing, and setting up groups and buses.  Along with that, I have been training new employees, and continuing with my regular duties as a Guest Service Agent.  I have accepted my new responsibilities with much enthusiasm, and have a renewed love for my job.

So when I saw the posting for a Guest Service Supervisor, I was thrilled.  Perhaps this will be the chance for me to get the title and the pay I deserve for all the extra work and responsibility.  And knowing that I’m pretty well the only one at our hotel that would qualify, I feel like I’m a shoo-in.   I let HR know immediately that I was interested, and she assured me she would pass it along to my direct manager.

Two days later, Kelly (pfft) was observing me and the front desk operations.  I, very considerately and even eagerly, explained how our hotel works, and how it’s quite different from our smaller properties.  While I answered all of her questions, I continued to answer my trainee’s questions, resolved a few bill disputes, handled a complaint, and helped out the rest of the agents.

“So… you’re not a supevisor?” she asked.

“No,” I replied.  “I’m interviewing for it as well.” (So there. hmph.)

I’m not really concerned about her beating me out for the position.  She’s only been with the company a year, and the hotel where she works is nothing like ours – other than the procedures and software system.

But, I am concerned that they released the position to the other hotels.  I want to ask why, but I don’t want to appear whiny.  I wonder if they still have concerns that I can’t handle it (whatever.), or perhaps they want to hire more than one.  I’ve been told from the beginning they would like to have 3 supervisors over the front desk, so maybe that’s it.  Either way, I’m a little disheartened.  Only time will tell.

As far as my evaluation of her?  Well, my heart wanted to mark all NO’s, but my brain was reminding me that this itself could be a test.  I chose not to act child-like, and instead marked all “Definitely’s”.  In my comments I was honest about what I thought of her, I expressed my concerns about her adjusting to the busyness of our property, but followed up with “in time, I feel she would adjust well and be a good fit for our team.”

And then I quickly turned it in.

sigh

I’m definitely on the edge…

of my seat.

of glory (if things go well).

but mainly,  just on edge.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2013 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “On the Edge of _______

  1. Abby

    February 19, 2013 at 3:43 am

    I dunno, it could be policy that they “have” to post the position to other hotels, so… yeah… okay… But asking YOU to evaluate someone vying for the same position?!? Maybe your hubby’s got the right idea. I think I would have asked.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2013 at 11:38 am

      I doubt I stay quiet for long. Especially if I haven’t been talked to about the position yet. (Because so far, no one has mentioned it to me – although my direct manager has been on vacation.)
      For now, I’m going with the flow. But if things don’t go my way… I won’t be back. So both hubby and I will be jobless with no medical insurance. Are you willing to take us in?? 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    February 19, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    That seems to be a bit odd to me as well. Perhaps you are right – it is a test to see how you would rate a peer that is vying for the same rung on the ladder. I applaud your honesty and patience in doing the survey and taking the high road. I hope your management wises up and recognizes your talent. I’ll be rooting for you to get the job. Let me know if you want me to “Nancy Kerrigan” her for you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 1:57 am

      I should know more on Thursday. You may get “the call” Thursday night.

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 19, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    oh my goodness! that’s weird… I hope you get everything you deserve! You sure sound knowledgeable of what you do and experienced! -sigh- I am on the edge… with you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 1:59 am

      I know I can do it. Management is just so “hush hush” all the time that I don’t know what they’re thinking. That’s what puts me on edge. I’m hoping to find more out on Thursday when my immediate manager returns from vacation. I’ll let you know!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    February 19, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    I think you did the right thing with the evaluation – sounds like a test to find out about YOU, not HER!

    Good luck!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 2:01 am

      I always succumb to doing the right thing. A good trait to have, I suppose, but nice guys don’t always finish first.
      Thanks for the luck! I’m holding on to it!

       
      • Rock Chef

        February 20, 2013 at 3:23 pm

        Well to be honest I would rather lose than win by trampling others underfoot….

         
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 19, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    It does seems a bit weird but maybe like you said it is a test to see if you can endle people honestly even if you might not like the person or situation. So you did right by being honest and if they don’t give the job to you they is certainly another hotel who will need and apreciate your good work!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 2:04 am

      Yes. Somebody out there would be lucky to have me! haha I just hope it’s my own hotel. 🙂 But if not, “It is what it is” and I move on.

       
  6. territerri

    February 20, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Seems very strange that you would be asked to evaluate the person with whom you’re competing for the position. You handled it with maturity and grace. I hope someone sees that, adds it to you list of already stellar qualifications, and offers YOU the promotion.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2013 at 2:06 am

      I hope so too, Terri! Thanks for your support! This “not knowing” is a killer, but like I’ve mentioned, I’ll get to speak to MY manager on Thursday. I plan to back him into a corner til he spills at least a few beans. 🙂

       
  7. meleah rebeccah

    February 22, 2013 at 1:05 am

    “You’re asking me to evaluate her when I want the job myself?
    Some things I just don’t get.”

    Um — I don’t get that either.
    Also, I agree with your husband.

    I really hope YOU get the position. And NOT her.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:24 am

      Thanks for your support. I may use you as a reference!

       

Leave a Reply

 
