RSS

When Life Gives You Lemons (or Limes)

21 Feb

Bake with them.

That’s what I do.

It makes everything seem a little better.

I started with the limes first.

Yes, I know these are key limes and not lemons.  But I had to show you my new juicer!  Thanks TLI!  This is so much easier!

Look at my new juicer! Thanks TLI! This is so much easier!

Key Lime Cookies

Key Lime Cookies dipped in White Chocolate

This recipe is awesome!  It calls for graham crackers in the cookie dough, and then it’s rolled in graham crackers before baking, making them taste just like Key Lime Pie.  I dipped mine in melted white chocolate.  Just. Because.

I’ve also had some lemons in my fridge for some time now, and when I saw Terri’s Grandma’s Lemon Bar recipe, I knew what I had to do.  Terri assured me I could use Illinois lemons.  I’d rather have had fresh Arizona ones picked right off the tree, but my Illinois ones sufficed.

Lemon Bars

I made a few assumptions along the way.  I softened the butter.  I didn’t double the recipe.  And I used an 8×8 inch pan.  I don’t think they turned out as good as Grandma’s, but they were delicious just the same!  And better yet – I’m proud to have made a dessert that’s been passed down through the Terri Family generations!

My life’s lemons seem a little sweeter now… Even these:

Link had a major setback with his contacts this last week, and by yesterday he couldn’t even open his eyes.  Any amount of light was extremely bright to him – including his computer screen.  I took him to the doc today, and she is ordering some new contacts that will be a little looser on his eyes.  The thought is the contacts were too tight causing his eyes to be irritated which made even the light hurt him.  I hope the new contacts are the answer.  It seems to be the consensus among all keratoconics that patience is the key to finding the right treatment.  So we’ll be patient.

I’ve also been patient about the supervisor position at work.  I should find out more tomorrow, and hopefully will be able to get off the edge of my seat.  If necessary, I’ll bring out the big guns – my Key Lime Cookies.  They wouldn’t dare risk losing baked goodies over this.

 

 

 

 
21 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in Baking, Family, Parenting, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “When Life Gives You Lemons (or Limes)

  1. overtimecook

    February 21, 2013 at 2:51 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2013 at 11:23 am

      I loved them! Thanks so much for the recipe! 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    February 21, 2013 at 2:52 am

    I’m so happy you made the lemon bars! I made mine in a 9×13 pan, but doubled the filling. I’m sure they were just as good in the 8×8 pan.

    The key lime cookies sound yummy! Your desserts always look SO good!

    I’m sorry about Link’s setback. Hope all will be well again soon. It’s so hard having to watch one of your kids suffer, isn’t it? When they hurt, we hurt. We’re going through some stuff here with one of our kids and I just want to fix everything for him!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2013 at 11:33 am

      I figured that’s what all the side notes meant. 🙂 It was very fun to read that recipe card!
      I know exactly what you mean about wanting to fix everything for your kids. It’s extremely difficult to watch them suffer. Link’s 20 years old, so he’s been going to the doc by himself, but I went this time. I wanted to be sure we were getting satisfactory answers about his extreme light sensitivity. I’m still not 100% confident in this particular doctor, but I’m going to trust she knows more than me.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    February 21, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Now I want cake! Terri – did you post the recipe somewhere? If not, can I have a copy? Please?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2013 at 11:25 am

      The recipe card is on her “My Parent’s Old Stuff” blog. Definitely worth making!

       
      • Rock Chef

        February 21, 2013 at 5:02 pm

        Ah yes! I remember looking at the photo but never thought to read the recipe!

        DOH!

         
  4. agg79

    February 21, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Those lemon bars look delicious! Was considering trying out Terr’s recipe myself if I can round up the lemons. Those are the kinds of recipes that really bring back memories.

    Hope the doc is able to find the right prescription for Link’s contacts.

    And good luck with the supervisor job. Hope you get good news today. Sending lots of blog juju your way for the outcome.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:18 am

      No news today. We were extremely busy with lots of people making reservations due to the storm. Maybe Saturday….
      Terri’s recipe was very easy and delicious! If you make ’em, take pics! 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    February 21, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    We’re having us a snowday, I should bake something! I don’t have any limes… or lemons…. or a juicer… or many skills for that matter. But thanks to you, I’ve got motivation!

    Sorry about the setback with the contacts. It’s true, we just want to fix everything for them, like when they were babies.

    I hope you get some piece of mind at work, too. Kill ’em with cookies!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:21 am

      Sometimes all you need is motivation. A few lemons help too. Got any fresh ones up there?
      Link’s eyes feel better, but he keeps his contacts out, so he can’t see. Send blog juju please!
      Piece of mind, or a piece of my mind??

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 21, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    YAY! I am so glad you got a new (and appropriate) juicer! 😉 we love limes in Mexico, we actually call them “lemons” I don’t know if I already told you that… 🙂 we use “limes” on everything! ah! deliciousness!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:22 am

      I can’t believe how much easier it was to juice those! I still used my big juicer for the lemons though. (or limes…??) Wonder why we call them the opposite?

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        February 22, 2013 at 4:18 am

        Yes… I have no clue… what I do with big lemons is that I cut them in quarters (or even smaller) and still juice them with my lime juicer LOL! 😉

         
  7. meleah rebeccah

    February 22, 2013 at 1:07 am

    Woman, you are KILLING me with all of this delicious food on your blog!

    Poor Link! I hope new contacts will be the solution he needs.

    PS: I would hire you for the position just for those Key Lime Cookies!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 3:23 am

      Sorry Meleah! Maybe a warning the next time? 😉

       
  8. towardshealthylife

    February 22, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Mmmm I love lemon and lie sweets! Hope your son finds the right fit soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2013 at 8:50 pm

      Thank you THL. I hope so too.
      Lemon and lime sweets are a favorite of mine. They especially with fresh juice and rind. Quite refreshing!

       
  9. playingthehandiwasdealt

    March 19, 2013 at 10:49 am

    Yum! Those lemon bars look so good I could eat the screen, but I’m gluten-intolerant (and allergic to about everything). I used to make them oh-so-long-ago. I found you in the reader, as I have keratoconus like your son–think it’s your son?! I also used to live in Mexico years ago and had a big lime tree right outside my apartment, referring to your mention of limes. Those lime presses/juicers are used in Mexico, as well–very handy little things (now I forgot what they’re called!). Nothing like fresh limes, lemons, limas (a new one!), etc. Btw, there are a few of us blogging about KC if you ever feel like dropping by. I have LOTS to say about doctors (never by name) and please don’t assume they know more than you. That’s how they failed to diagnose me and caused me to lose so much vision as this disease just came on in my late-30s.

    Keep up with the scrumptious baking! Nice to know you…

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2013 at 3:41 pm

      I’m so glad you stopped by. Yes, it’s my 20 year old son who has keratoconus. And just from the few experiences I’ve had, I already know not to assume the doc knows more. Although, I know barely anything. I glimpsed through a few of your posts and will go back and read them more thoroughly. Seems like you were misdiagnosed as well. My son suffered two years with it before a doc finally diagnosed him with keratoconus. The contacts help his eyesight, but wearing them for an extended amount of time – which really just means throughout the day – tends to give him extreme light sensitivity. We will now be trying out a third pair of contacts. I switched doctors this last time. I tend to trust him a little more, and he’s informed me it may take a few fittings to find a pair that works well for him. I’ve read that that’s common, so I’m okay with it for now. If you have any advice, I’d love to hear it.
      Thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment. I may send him the link to your site as well!

       
      • playingthehandiwasdealt

        March 19, 2013 at 9:46 pm

        I know that saga! I write these l-o-n-g posts that aren’t for all, but have you guys considered cross-linking (CXL). You need to get into a clinical trial here in the US, but it’s been done for yrs in Europe (where developed) and around the world. It will halt the progression. I have a category on it but will probably freak you both out! It’s best in the young and probably will be a breeze. Epi-off CXL is the only type proven effective via medical studies. I have a link in my 1st post (I think) for the clinical trial site in the US. Those post are a mess as I couldn’t see to write them, but tried to clean them up! Still flying blind as lens-intolerant, so excuse any typos.

        Due to just getting KC within the last 2 yrs due to a connective tissue disorder (also misdiagnosed for 12 yrs!), I never really had contacts. Akhil at 1hundredworks comments a lot on my blog and was born w/KC and writes a lot about contacts (and so funny!). He’s a great, well-informed guy and you can always say I referred you as we chat a lot. If my eyes ever heal and stabilize, I’m going to look into scleral lenses, which may be covered under medically necessary, due to my severe dryness. Might want to look into those if covered. I have massive light sensitivity issues now post-CXL and it’s no fun! The good news is due to CXL, your son should be spared a lifetime of transplants and what not. Ugh, met a 70-yr-old keratoconic and was a mess!

        Keep in touch and ask away (no need to read the novels!). I do a lot of medical research by nature. Btw, I’m too liberal to ever think about it (lol), but the big cities in Texas have good medical care, or Atlanta come to think of it.
        Alisa 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
