RSS

Giving up the Reign

25 Feb

I often tease my husband – “I can’t wait til you’re rich and I can be a princess.”

He always responds – “You ARE my princess.”

And he does spoil me, and make me feel like a princess. And I even got some Princess perfume so I can smell like a princess.

But the truth is…. I don’t really want to be a princess.  I’d just be happy if someone would clean my bathrooms once in a while.

When I met my new trainee today, I was reminded of why I don’t want to be a princess. She’s been with us for a few weeks now, but has worked the evening shift.  This week she was to work the morning shift with me, to see what we do.

I expected her at 6 am yesterday, along with my even newer trainee, but she never showed.  That afternoon she called to tell me she had forgotten she was scheduled to work the early shift.  I connected her with a manager.

So this morning, I knew that she knew she was supposed to start at 6 am. At 7:15 I get a call.  She overslept and she’s not sure why, ’cause she set her alarm, but it didn’t go off, and she’s up now and will be in soon.

She arrived a little after 8, long after all the checklist work had been completed.  “I don’t know you guys do it!” she said.  “I even went to bed early last night.  11:30 pm!”  and “I set my alarm for 5, but I swear my phone turns itself off. I’m surprised I even woke up at 7!”

okay then.

I smiled understandingly and explained it takes some getting used to.  And I joked about how I am in bed by 9 pm at the latest, and that’s how I’m able to get up.  (Of course, I get up at 3 am.)

I spent the rest of the day trying to keep her focused on learning.  She spent the day focused on herself.  I learned that now that she’s 20, her mom’s begging her for a grandchild.  The other day she thought she was pregnant and her mom came over so she could take the test with her.  I think I managed to keep my jaw off the floor as I wondered why a parent would be encouraging an unmarried, unschooled, and barely employed daughter to have children.

I patiently paused my teaching while she yawned, stretched, checked herself in the mirror, clicked her extremely manicured nails on the keyboard, and questioned what she was going to order for lunch.

I gave up thinking I could teach her anything today.  I hope it was due to her being tired, and that today wasn’t a true indication of how she will be at work. They’re not high hopes.

She came across as a bit spoiled. A bit self-centered.  A bit “princess-y”.

And if that’s what a princess is like, I don’t wanna be one.

But I will continue to wear the perfume…and let my hubby think I am.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Giving up the Reign

  1. agg79

    February 25, 2013 at 3:32 am

    But I thought you WERE a princess? Maybe I am just jaded, but I don’t quite see her making this as a long term career. I hope you are able to teach her something, but i have my doubts. In the meantime, you reign is secure. I don’t think you have to worry about her usurping your throne.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2013 at 2:54 am

      Okay. I really AM a princess. Just not the “waste of space” princess that RC mentions below. 🙂
      I’m guessing she won’t make it to 90 days – especially if she’s ever scheduled to work the morning shift again. Heaven forbid she’d have to get up before noon.

       
  2. Rock Chef

    February 25, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Take it from an Englishman – there are different grades of Princess. This girl sounds like the “waste of space” grade 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2013 at 2:54 am

      What’s scary? She’ll be reproducing – and pretty quickly it seems.

       
      • Rock Chef

        February 27, 2013 at 2:29 pm

        Hm, I am suspecting that she will be one of those mothers who pays more attention to her phone than she does to her child…

         
  3. Abby

    February 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    One thing comes to mind – woe to the baby daddy.

    WE princesses need to set a better example.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2013 at 2:55 am

      You’re right! I need to keep my princess-ness, and just show her the right way to be a princess!

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Yeah! No princess here either! Don’t want to be one LIKE THAT ever! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2013 at 2:56 am

      It’s okay to be a princess at home – on your own time. But it’s NOT okay to be a princess at work – where everyone is working their tail off.

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 25, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Had a trainy once in a restaurant kitchen that gave up sitting behing a bar opening beers to a client every now and then because it was such a hard work…she taught it would be easier in a kitchen?!? Lots of complaining to realise a week after that finally her last job was easier.

    Poor you! You have to put up with that even if she might not last very long there. Do you feel like you are wasting your time training people sometimes? I bet she would feel the pea under the 7 matresses loll

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2013 at 3:00 am

      Luckily, I think I’ll only have to put up with her for a few more days before she goes back to the evening shift. Unless, of course, I have to work an evening shift…

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    February 26, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    “I think I managed to keep my jaw off the floor as I wondered why a parent would be encouraging an unmarried, unschooled, and barely employed daughter to have children.”

    What in the hell?

    Also, she sounds like a REAL nightmare to work with. I certainly don’t expect her to last very long!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2013 at 5:50 am

      I actually had a hard time keeping my opinions about baby encouragement to myself. I told her flat out I would be devastated if any of my children had children right now. (They’re the same age.) I know it happens… but it shouldn’t be encouraged.
      I’m guessing she won’t last long either.

       
  7. territerri

    February 27, 2013 at 1:51 am

    You have WAY more patience than I do. I’m not sure I could have put up with her lazy behavior!

     
  8. shadowrun300

    February 27, 2013 at 5:58 am

    I have an extreme amount of patience at work. I try to be compassionate, but I also make it clear what’s expected, and give suggestions on how she can avoid being late in the future. Maybe if she just stays on the evening shift, she’ll be okay. Maybe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
