RSS

The Big Three-Oh

01 Mar

I have finally reached the big 3-0. (I’ll hold for the applause….)

It’s eluded me for weeks since first, I didn’t have the opportunity, and then when I did, the weather got in the way.

But this week, I pushed through a few different obstacles, determined to reach my goal…..

30 miles of running in one week.

Scheduling at work and impossible weather conditions have kept me from reaching the 30 mile mark in the past, but this week, everything fell into place.  Sort of.

I talked to the boss about splitting my days off work, to allow me to actually run on my 2 days off with a day of rest (work) in between.  Mondays are not a factor since it’s an admin day for me, and I don’t have to be there til 9 or 10.  And splitting my “weekend” would allow me 2 more days to run.

He was very willing to oblige, but last week the snow and ice arrived on my day off, knocking the wind out of my sails.  Elliptical training doesn’t count as running miles.

This week started out more promising.  I ran a quick 5 miles around the Arch right after work on Sunday. Bonus!  Then I ran 8.4 miles on Monday morning.  Tuesday, I rested and Wednesday I struggled through 7.8   Sheer determination got me through that one, ’cause I knew if I quit when I wanted to, I’d miss my goal again.

Today would be the deciding factor.  All I needed to do was run 10 miles, and I was there!  Easy peasy.

But when I awoke, a thin layer of snow covered the ground and flurries were still falling.  I decided to risk the slippery roads and go for it.

I was met by my usual entourage of neighborhood dogs.  Rudy, especially, gives me a jovial send-off, knowing that when I return, I will have a treat for him. He refused to look at me, which is just like him.  Very independent.  Does what he wants.  But a sweetheart deep down.

Rudy

Rudy

Rudy

This hill would be my first test of how slippery the roads would be.  If I could make it down this without falling, I figured I’d have it made.

The Starting Gate

I’ve been choosing the town routes during the winter, because it allows me to have the wind at my back at least half the time.  But this means I have to go around the parks, many, many, many times.  Seven, in fact.

By the 7th time, the snow was beginning to melt off the sidewalk, but you can still see my steps.  They’re all mine.

7th time around

 

As I made my way home, the snow still falling and catching on my nose and eyelashes, I was smiling inside.  I’ve run in rain before, but never snow.  Parts of it were difficult, my feet slipping here and there trying to find traction, and the areas with deeper snow reminded me of running in sand, but I felt good!  I met my goal and I’m slightly more confident about the big day!

Only 37 days to go!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “The Big Three-Oh

  1. agg79

    March 2, 2013 at 2:56 am

    Bravo! I saved my 30something comments until I read further down. I think that is some admirable progress. Working through the challenges, obstacles to still hammer out a good 30 mile week. And a good 10 mile run to wrap up the week! You are ready. Despite the snow and cold, I think the run should be a breeze for you. Love your running buddies. Good to know you have your four footed friend out there cheering you on. It struck me – have you considered asking your boss/hotel to sponsor you for the run? Might be some good PR for them in supporting a local charity event with one of their own.

    36 days and a wake up (old Army expression). Getting jazzed, yet?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 2, 2013 at 11:38 am

      Thanks for holding back your 30-something comments. I don’t want to be reminded that I used to think turning 30 was awful! Then I hit 40 and beyond…
      Great idea to ask my boss to sponsor me. They probably would, but I doubt I’ll ask this time around. There will be others, I’m sure.
      I am SO jazzed for this, but part of me doesn’t want the date to arrive. I’ve loved the training and anticipation of the big day, and I’m looking forward to my first experience of it all. But then it’s gonna end, and I’m sad about that. That’s how I know this won’t be my last, but I’m worried the future ones won’t be as exciting. Nothing like your first, ya know?

       
      • agg79

        March 2, 2013 at 3:27 pm

        The first one is the most memorable. Nervous, unsure, don’t know what’s going on, not sure if I can really do this, my god, all the other runners are so damn young/fit. I had some misgiving on my first one – especially when I got up at 0300 that morning to head downtown. But don’t sweat it. All the butterflies will disappear once you cross the start line. I only hope you are able to enjoy the sights & sounds of the entire event. But be forewarned – like that bag of Lays, one is not enough.

         
      • shadowrun300

        March 3, 2013 at 1:56 am

        I’m so glad I don’t have to get up at 0300 to drive in. But I may be too nervous to sleep the night before!
        I can totally see how you get hooked on running these. I’m already thinking beyond this race to the next one in October. I love having a goal to shoot for. Actually makes running more fun!
        I just found out my newest trainee at work is running the full marathon. It’s been fun talking with him. Someone else to share my geekiness with. Hard to believe it’ll all happen next month!

         
  2. territerri

    March 2, 2013 at 3:24 am

    Way to go! I admire how driven you are, not letting the weather hold you back. I used to enjoy running in the snow when the pavement was clear enough to do so. Problem was, it rarely was. There was either too much snow, or it froze and was too slippery, which is why I joined the gym.

    Love your cute little neighbor dog! He’s sweet.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 2, 2013 at 11:43 am

      I was definitely worried about falling – especially since I slipped and fell on some ice after my run around the Arch. (Nothin’ hurt as I had just finished and was walking at the time.)
      Rudy, the neighbor dog, is so funny. He’ll stand in the middle of the road and block the cars from getting through – especially if he doesn’t know you. I feel sorry for delivery guys because the look Rudy gives as he’s staring at you sitting behind the wheel is quite intimidating. But he’s so sweet deep down. I was stretching after a run the other day and he came up and kissed me on the mouth. Nice.

       
  3. Abby

    March 2, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Happy 30! Literally a milestone :D.
    This time of year, it’s always a challenge to find the best routes through the snow and muck.
    Rudy’s cute. Not up for the run, though? Just the treat at the end?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2013 at 2:01 am

      You’ve had your share of snow runs, I’m sure. Adds a new dimension to it!
      Rudy will follow me for a little while, but then he’ll turn back home. I’m glad. At one point I cross the highway and I’m always nervous he’ll get hit. When I get home, he follows me to the door. I’ll go in for the treat, and if Chancie’s inside, she’ll go out and stand next to Rudy so she won’t miss out. It’s cute really.

       
  4. lottajoy

    March 3, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    Rejoice also, in the fact your exercising for good health hasn’t resulted in breaking your hips or getting hit by a snowplow. I can’t walk more than 1/2 a block before my hips lock up on me, so the sofa keeps me safe. lol

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2013 at 11:31 pm

      Exercising for good health has injured me on a few occasions, but a snowplow hit and run would make for a much better story!
      I like you on your sofa – you produce great reading material from there!

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    March 4, 2013 at 2:04 am

    I almost though you said you turned 30 😉 I think you are going to be so ready for you marathon. Good on you for going in the snow! It look like a pretty scenery anyway!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 10:45 pm

      I WISH I could say I was turning 30! The scenery was very pretty, but once in a while I inhaled a snowflake! 🙂

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    March 7, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    WHOA!!! You ran 30 miles in one week?? Congratulations!

    I don’t think I’ve ever run 30 miles in my whole lifetime – combined! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 10:49 pm

      I couldn’t believe it either! I’m proud of how far I’ve come this year. A year ago, I thought I was going to have to give up running. So yay me! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
