RSS

I’ll Never Tell

07 Mar

I was all set to call my hubby after work today to complain about how exhausted I was.  Again.

After all, we had a lot of people checking out.  And I had a 2 week old trainee.  And a brand new trainee.  And admin work to catch up on from the other day.  And a few folios to fix from the night before.  And, sheesh, I was just. busy.

So as I was leaving the garage I grabbed my phone to make the call and noticed I had a text from him.  “Call me as soon as you can.”

That was at 11:30 a.m.  I got the message at 2:30 p.m.  I tried not to panic.  If it was a true emergency, surely he would have called me at work, since he knows I have no access to my cell phone during my day.

“You’re scaring me,” I blurted out when he answered the phone.

“Well, we had a minor emergency this morning, but everything’s okay now.”

I stayed quiet while he told me how Link had been involved in a head on collision while driving to school this morning.  And how he suffered only a few minor injuries.  And how the other guy seemed to be okay.  And how the truck was totaled.  And the other truck too.

I completely forgot about my own exhaustion as I listened to him.  His morning was much worse than mine had been.

Every emotion coursed through my body as I bombarded him with questions.  I was ecstatic that he was okay.  I was scared of what might have been.  I was worried about Link’s feelings.  (He never likes to be a source of trouble to us, and it REALLY bothers him if he costs us money – no matter how often we tell him he’s no trouble and worth every penny we spend on him.)  I was concerned about my husband’s feelings as well.  He will view this as one more reason to find a “real” job, instead of continuing to grow a new business from home.  He also knows the car hunt will most likely fall to him, as Link has a difficult time making a decision.

Since he wanted to speak with Link before he left for work, we hung up and I continued to drive in silence.

After a while, I called back.

“How’d the talk with Link go?  Is he worried about driving again?”  (I know after my wreck I was scared to get behind the wheel.)

Hubby assured me the talk went well, and he was just fine to drive.

But no sooner than Link left the house,  Chip called him.

“Ummm…. I ran out of gas….”

I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.  I felt so bad for him.  (My hubby, not Chip.  Chip should know better.  It’s not the first time he’s gambled with making it to the gas station.)

At least Chip was pretty close to home.  But either way, my hubby couldn’t wait to go teach his class tonight.

“Sad that you need to go into work so you can rest,” I told him.

He chuckled a little.  I was impressed that he could still find a funny side.

But I won’t push it by telling him how exhausting my day was….

 
17 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “I’ll Never Tell

  1. territerri

    March 7, 2013 at 2:39 am

    First of all… I’m so glad that everyone is okay! It’s a horrible feeling to know that your child has been in an accident and there’s not a thing you could do to stop it. Your hubby seems to be the picture of calm. He managed everything while letting you get through your work day. He knew that you wouldn’t be able to focus if he’d reached you with the news before your shift ended. And then after all that, to have to go rescue Chip from his empty gas tank! You should think about sharing your ice cream with your hubby tonight! 🙂 He’s had a tough day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 3:14 am

      I draw the line at sharing my ice cream! lol
      But I did get him some of his own to enjoy when he gets home from class tonight.
      He’s done an exceptional job of being a “work-from-home” Dad/Son. He’s so patient with them and handles the tough times very well. At least on the outside. I happen to know it’s quite tough on him on the inside. It’s difficult to express how much I appreciate his being there for their every need. So I bake or buy him treats. 🙂
      His day was definitely much tougher than mine.

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 7, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    wow! how scary! I am so glad nobody got really hurt… it could’ve been so much worse! You did the right thing by just listening 🙂 Great wisdom! 🙂 Your hubby sounds like such a great guy, like mine! We’re blessed girls! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 3:02 pm

      It is scary to think about how bad it mighta been. He got very lucky. It was his fault – he just crossed right over into the other guy’s lane while turning into the school. They hit almost head on which doubles the speed at which they were going. Thankfully it wasn’t too fast. Enough to total both trucks though.
      My hubby IS pretty wonderful. He’s sandwiched between taking care of his kids and his mom, and he handles it so much better than I could. He wouldn’t think so, but I do. 🙂

       
  3. lottajoy

    March 7, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    It makes me wonder why it took so long for his text to show up. ON THE OTHER HAND, you got to spend the day with new trainees. Now, doesn’t YOUR day pale in comparison? Yep. It always grinds down to perspective. And you missed having THE WORST DAY OF YOUR LIFE since Link wasn’t badly hurt – or worse.

    Perspective honey. Perspective.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 3:56 pm

      I have a job where cell phone usage is frowned upon. My family knows to call me at the hotel if there’s an emergency. The text came on time. I just didn’t get it til after work. Which as you pointed out was a good thing. That news made working with some newbies a piece of cake.
      Thanks for helping me keep things in perspective You NEED that when you live with 4 teenagers – 3 of whom are boys that drive. :/

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    March 7, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    As a mother of a soon-to-be-driving alone teenage boy – my BIGGEST fear is getting THAT PHONE CALL. “Your son has been in a head-on collision.”

    I am SO thankful, Link was not injured severely.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      The oldest two have been in a few minor fender benders, but this is by far the worst. It’s scary sending them out on their own, for sure. That fear is what makes parenting the kids at this age so much harder than when they were younger.

       
  5. agg79

    March 7, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    Damn. I really hate those kinds of calls. My son has had one and, while he handled it well, his parents were a bit freaked. I am glad to hear Link is ok. Cars can be repaired (or replaced). People are a wee bit harder to “fix”. To be in a head on collision and have both two trucks totaled, it had to be pretty massive. I bet Link is a bit sore from the wreck and I hope it doesn’t affect his driving. I’ve had a few wrecks and it can take time to get back to some sense of normal. You are right about how it changes your perspective when one of your kids is hurt or in a wreck. All other problems seem inconsequential.

    And you’ve peeked my curiosity when you mentioned your wreck. Did you cover it in an earlier post?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2013 at 11:23 pm

      This was our second call. The first one, they were hit on their way to school. No injuries and the car was fixable, but we were on our way to the Florida Keys. Everything had to be done by phone, and I was extremely worried. But like your son, they handled it better than I.
      This time, it was a little more serious. Luckily neither were going very fast, but since they hit head on, it doubles their speed. I’m sure he’s a little stiff today. It was quite a jolt.
      My wreck happened years ago, so no, I haven’t blogged about it. I flipped my Toyota Tercel (a very flippable car) trying to avoid a 3-wheeled campus vehicle. It came to a halt on the driver’s side, and I climbed out the passenger window. The car was totaled, of course. When I got a new one, I was afraid to make any turns, and would take them soooo slowly.
      But now I got a Mustang and a motorcycle…. and turns are fun. 🙂

       
  6. Rock Chef

    March 8, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    So glad everyone was OK – except for the trucks, I guess…

    Hope he is OK with driving still – I am sure that it is a big thing to get back in the driving seat after a smash like that.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 9, 2013 at 1:14 am

      Hubby’s pretty sad about the truck. It was a favorite vehicle of his for a long time. But, of course, we’re extremely happy that Link is okay.
      Driving again hasn’t seem to bother him. At least on the outside.

       
  7. Abby

    March 8, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Oh, man! I’m glad everyone is okay for the most part, but sheesh. Really puts a “rough day” in perspective, huh?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 9, 2013 at 1:17 am

      Yeah – it was kinda hard for me to complain after hearing that. I made up for it today though. :/

       
  8. Lucie

    March 11, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    It must have freaked you out! I always get scared of what might have happen even if it did not happen. The important is that Link is alright. What a tough day for your hubby and you too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2013 at 2:20 am

      It did freak me out! It’s the thinking about what could have happened that’s really scary! Definitely puts things in perspective when it involves your child. Even if he is 20 years old! 🙂

       
  9. towardshealthylife

    March 11, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Wow you had such a tough day, and so did you hubby! Happy that Link is fine!

     

Leave a Reply

 
