RSS

My Treat

09 Mar

I treated myself to these today.

N.Y. Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

N.Y. Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

And these.

Oatmeal Creme Pies

Oatmeal Creme Pies

Even bad pictures make them look yummy, dontcha think?

I’ve been pinning many versions of chocolate chip cookie recipes to try – all of which claim to be the very best. I made it my goal to try them all to find out for myself.  I started with the N.Y. Times recipe.  And these have definitely set the bar high.  They’re crunchy, but not crumbly, and very tasty to boot!  Well worth the 24 hours I had to leave them in the fridge before baking. (I was actually surprised to find all the dough still in there 24 hours later.)

So, yeah, those were good, but the oatmeal creme pies…. Oh. My. Goodness.

These have been on my pin board for a while, and I’m kickin’ myself for not trying them sooner.   I can’t even describe how soft, and chewy, and sugary and creamy they are.  SO much better than the boxed version.  The only thing I’ll do differently the next time – and there WILL be a next time – is double the filling.

I’ve mentioned how I’m usually pretty good about just taking a bite or two to taste.

But today, I treated myself to a whole one.  Of each.

Wanna know why?

‘Cause I ran 12 miles.  12!  Miles! That’s 1 hour, 35 minutes and a few seconds of running!

If that doesn’t deserve a cookie and an oatmeal creme pie along with my ice cream, then I don’t know what does.

Well,  maybe a promotion.

(yeah.  i got it.)

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2013 in Baking, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 responses to “My Treat

  1. Sandi

    March 9, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    Those oatmeal cream pies look so amazing I am NOT going to click on the link for the recipe, because I could see myself eating an entire batch.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2013 at 2:28 am

      It was definitely hard to practice self-control around these. I brought most of them to work, and let my family eat the rest. It didn’t take long for them to disappear!

       
  2. territerri

    March 10, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    You got a promotion??? YAY! Congrats! You deserved it!

    The chocolate chip cookies sound delicious. I think the perfect chocolate chip cookie is chewy, yet crispy. Mmmmm! But the oatmeal cream pies sound amazing. I have to admit to being an oatmeal cream pie junkie. (So I don’t buy them, or I would just eat them all.) I’m impressed you could stop yourself at ONE!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      Yay Me! 🙂 It hasn’t been made official at work yet, but I HAD to tell someone.
      I think you would have liked these chocolate chip cookies. They had a crunch to them, but were chewy.
      And who doesn’t love oatmeal creme pies! I hope you can find a good reason to make a batch – maybe a bake sale – spring vacation – really any excuse will do – so that you can try one. (just one.) 😉

       
  3. Abby

    March 10, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    I saw what you did there, snuck in your promotion quietly at the end of the post. But I saw it! Congratulations! About time!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      Just testin’ to see if you read through to the end. Glad you passed!
      It IS about time. It’ll be a slight raise, but more important, they’ve shown me they appreciate and respect what I do. Such a good feeling!

       
  4. agg79

    March 11, 2013 at 2:47 am

    I was going to start out griping about putting up more obscene food shots. Those oatmeal creme pies look absolutely sinful. But I cannot blame you for wanting to celebrate. 12 miles in a little over 1.5 hours. Not too shabby. At this rate, you are going to smoke the course next month without breaking a sweat. Just remember to hydrate and dress in layers. But at this point, you don’t need my two cents. I am still sticking by my bet of a sub 2 hour run.

    And mega congrats on the promotion! I was really hoping you’d get it and glad they finally came to their senses and recognized your talent. Kudos!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2013 at 2:09 am

      Oh, but I DO need your two cents! You’ve mentioned before about staying hydrated and I realized I wasn’t, Now I drink a ton of water throughout the day, (before I drank coffee or soda) and that has made a big difference! I still don’t drink during a run, though. Did you bring your own on the run, or did you grab a cup on the go?
      My training so far has been on fairly level ground, so the hills of St. Louis are scaring me a little. I plan to change my route the next few weeks to focus more on hill work.
      And thanks for the promotion kudos! I knew I deserved it, but when they started to look at other properties, I got a little concerned. I’m glad they didn’t keep me in suspense for too long – although it hasn’t been made official at work yet, so no one else knows. Should happen sometime this week. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        March 12, 2013 at 11:18 am

        Water- I’ve done both carry and pick up. I don’t really go for the utility belt warriors with water pods strapped to their hips – too much weight to carry, flop around. I did carry a bottle last year but tossed it after mile 5. I used one of those energy mixes thinking it would help, but really didn’t work for me. I prefer to get my water along the route. They usually have those every 3 or so miles. But I do avoid the Gatorade. Tried it the first year and it didn’t sit well with me (while running). Maybe it’s just me, but I’ll just stick with plain old H2O. And one minor detail about the water spots, you might want to navigate carefully around those spots. Usually the Gatorade tables are first followed by the water tables about 30 yards down the trail. It is at those spots that things get tricky. A ton of people jostling to get water or get out of the way. I’ve had two ladies come to a full stop right in front of me right by the table. I prefer to “grab & go” and keep on trucking. Watch the pavement around those spots as well – usually wet and littered with little plastic cups. Kind of a slippery spot.

        And, again, well deserved on your promotion! It’s about time and you definitely earned it. Does it come with your own parking spot?

         
      • shadowrun300

        March 14, 2013 at 1:05 am

        Great advice! I think I’ll grab and go at the water tables as well. If I stop, I may never start up again! If the tables are too busy, I can see me just passing them by completely. I have a habit of not wanting to be bothered by some things – like hydration. 🙂
        My new position comes with A parking spot. As we’re reminded of often – “most businesses in the city charge their employees to park.” It’s their way of justifying how unhappy most of us are with our pay. Whatever. I work there because I love the work. Really. 😉

         
  5. towardshealthylife

    March 11, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Way to go! You sure deserved a cookie! Now I am going to head towards other(no so tempting) post of yours and try to catch up a little 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2013 at 2:11 am

      Thank you THL! Great to see you again! 🙂

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 11, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    wow! Of course you deserved cookies! Good job! So excited for you! For ALL OF YOUR ACHIEVEMENTS! Have an extra cookies for me if you can! 😉 YUM! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2013 at 2:13 am

      Thank goodness they’re all gone now. No temptations anymore!

       
  7. lottajoy

    March 12, 2013 at 2:58 am

    You had TWO? I hate you. I would have eaten every last one, and I have diabetes!! But I LOVE a crispy crunchy cookie while Stud like the soft chewy ones. He is wrong.

     
  8. lottajoy

    March 12, 2013 at 3:06 am

    I sent you a long, detailed email in answer to your comment at my blog, but I can’t tell if it went to you or not. Your name showed up in my email as “no-reply comment”. If you didn’t get it, send me your email address.

     
  9. lottajoy

    March 12, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    JUST SO YOU’LL KNOW…..You are the reason I was crashing through my kitchen at midnight, hoping I had all the ingredients for the chocolate chip cookies. I didn’t.

    And I deleted your comment at my post that had your email address in it for your privacy. I resent my email to it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2013 at 6:30 pm

      Sadly, I ALWAYS have the ingredients on hand to make some sort of sinful treat. I feel kinda lucky, though, that I’m usually satisfied with one or two bites. My favorite part of baking is letting others enjoy them.
      And thanks for deleting my email. 🙂 Yours was very helpful!

       
  10. Rock Chef

    March 12, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Well done on the promotion! Knew it was yours!
    Those cookies look great. I had the urge to bake last night but I didn’t have the stuff for cakes so I make peanut butter flapjacks. Rather good.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2013 at 1:07 am

      Oooh! I’ve made chocolate chip flapjacks, but never peanut butter! Yummy! Almost as good as cake!
      I knew the promo should be mine, but until they actually told me it was, I was afraid to get my hopes up.

       
  11. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 12, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    OMG! YUMMERZ!! And HOORAY and CONGRATS on the Promotion!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2013 at 1:08 am

      Thank you Meleah! Hope you’ve recovered from the flu!!

       
  12. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 13, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    hey! I stopped by just to see if there’s anything new and I found these evil cookies again! LOL! they look too good to be good! LOL! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2013 at 1:09 am

      Nothing new yet. Hard to find a blog topic that beats oatmeal creme pies and chocolate chip cookies! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
