RSS

Credit Due

14 Mar

“I don’t know if I’m gonna get High Honors this quarter,” Mario whined at me today.  “The math teacher never takes any grades so I don’t have a chance to raise my B.  And the Social Studies extra credit is SO hard!  And in reading, I have A, A, A, A, A,…, and one B, but I have a B average!”

She grew a little more positive as she listed off some chances to improve her grade in the next week or so, but she’s still concerned she won’t get ALL 3 of her B’s up to earn the High Honors award.  She’ll have to settle for just Honors.

I offered her suggestions and encouragement – neither taken with much hope.  Especially since she “already knows” who the Valedictorian and the Salutatorian of her class are going to be.  “It’s obvious…”, she replied dripping with sarcasm, when I asked her how she could know with another whole quarter to go.

And she’s probably right.  Her little class of 14 is a pretty smart group.  And their 8th grade grades are the ones that determine who graduates with top honors.  Only in the event of a tie, do they look at grades from the previous years.  And when multiple people receive High Honors each quarter, one “slip-up” could cost them the title.

I changed tactics.  Instead of giving her false hope, I mentioned how High School would offer her another chance at Valedictorian or Salutatorian.  And all 4 of her years would go towards her grade point average.  “And those grades are way more important,” I told her.  “Wouldn’t it be cool to be the head of your class?”

She let the thought sink in for a little while, then went on with more typical 14 year old girl stuff.  As the discussion came to an end, I realized that I’ve had many discussions with my very intelligent boys about raising their grades,  but that was just to get them to pass their classes.

What a great feeling to know that one of the four has intelligence and motivation.

I plan on taking credit for this one.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Credit Due

  1. agg79

    March 14, 2013 at 9:38 am

    And you deserve the credit! Worrying over that one B – I guess that is a good problem to have.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 12:47 am

      Well, I really DON’T deserve the credit. It’s all her! But I suppose when I have my mind set on something, I go for it full force – so maybe she does get it from me. 😉

       
  2. gabby.runs

    March 14, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    I’ve had the same type of discussions with my parents and if I could offer any advice to those younger than me with the same worries, then I would join you in saying, focus on high school! so awesome to hear that she is motivated and determined to do her best already. Smart cookie! 🙂 Must get it from her mom …

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 12:50 am

      Her heart broke when she realized today that her book report grade was not enough to bring her overall grade up to an A. I felt so bad for her! But once again, I turned the focus to high school, and what she could do differently to earn straight A’s there. I just hope she doesn’t lose her confidence and willingness to try.

       
  3. Abby

    March 14, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    It’s so good that she cares, isn’t it? So many don’t 😦
    I think you gave her sound advice too. I often wonder about all this hype over “graduating” 8th grade.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 12:57 am

      It’s a huge relief that she cares! I have such a hard time getting Amp, especially, to realize that his grades mean something.
      I was in Germany during my 8th grade year, and although we went to an American school, there was no 8th grade graduation. Is this something ALL schools do? I suppose it IS the end of an “era”. Especially in our school where they’ve gone to the same school with the same 14 kids for 9 years. What seems silly is the Valedictorian and Salutatorian are picked with just one year’s worth of grades.

       
  4. territerri

    March 20, 2013 at 12:09 am

    It must be such a great feeling to know that your child’s problem is that she is earning good grades and she wants to make them better! Thank God for those daughters, huh? 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:27 am

      She really has made things so easy for us! I’d like to take credit, but it definitely is all her! Must be a girl thing…. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
