RSS

Help Wanted

15 Mar

I should be celebrating!

It’s Pi Day!

I got the promotion!

I found a nickle doing laundry!

And I’ve been running distances that I never thought possible!

So, YES!  I should be celebrating!

But I don’t wanna.

My run this morning knocked the wind right out of my sails, and I’m scared.

It all started on Tuesday.  For the second day in a row I ran 8 miles.  By the end of that run, I could feel a twinge in my right knee.

I NEVER get knee pain!  So I pushed it to the back of my mind – even when it twinged going up the stairs.  I figured I would have a full day of rest on Wednesday for it to get better.

And it did get better.  When I started out early Thursday morning, I felt really good!  I had only planned to do 8 miles, but my legs felt so good that by mile 2 or 3 I considered going a little further than 8 miles.

By the time the App Lady announced my fourth mile, I was feeling the twinge again.  And by mile 5, it was a full blown hurt.  I stopped for a little while to stretch my calf.  It worked for about a 1/2 mile before I came to the conclusion that I just better stop before I do some real damage.

I had two miles to walk to get back home. and I went as fast as I could.  I was mad.  I was sad.  And I was freezing.  (I was dressed to run in 30 degree temps – not walk.)

The whole way home, I thought about what may have caused it.  I’ve been fairly good about eating right, staying hydrated, resting between runs, pushing myself just enough but not too much.

I have noticed recently that my left foot has been kicking my right ankle while I run.  Makes me wonder if I’m running a little differently.  I also know that it’s probably time for my third pair of shooz.  Or maybe it’s because I’ve been a little lazy with my stretches the past couple of runs.  I don’t know.  I’m just mad.

I took my frustration out on my floors.  They’ve never looked better.  Then I headed to the kitchen and scrubbed it from head to toe.

And I still just want to sit and pout about it all.

I’m trying to remain strong mentally, and stay hopeful that with a few more days of rest (ugh) it’ll start to feel better.  But the little girl in me is pushing her way out.

Perhaps a little blog juju will work.  Send it quickly, wouldja?  I entered a 10 mile run on March 23 as a kickoff to the half-marathon.  That’s only 9 days away.  And if you have any knee advice, other than rest (shiver), send that along too.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “Help Wanted

  1. Ani Danelz

    March 15, 2013 at 1:49 am

    What a terrible time for you to be having troubles! My guess would be your shoes. If you have been running in the same page for a majority of your training, the cushioning could be worn out. That would alter your stride and could cause some unwelcome knee pain. Good luck, I hope it’s nothing serious!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 9:28 pm

      I’m thinking my shoes could have caused it too – especially with all the miles I’ve been putting on them lately. I won’t run again until I have a new pair AND get my knee feeling good again! Thanks for your comment! 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    March 15, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Ok. I gotta be the first one to say – back off. You are pushing yourself hard. You got a half marathon coming up and you are really wound up tight for the run. I think you are ready but you are pushing the envelope. The 10 miler next weekend is a good shake down run, but take it easy. You’ve been training too hard, too long to hurt yourself at this point. I’d stick with the shorter runs every other day and try to stretch and relax the other days. One of my fears has always been that I would get sick or injure myself a month before the run. They say that life is a self fulfilling prophecy. For my first half marathon, I trained hard up to the month before the race when I fell and dislocated my shoulder. Totally screwed up my shoulder but I was still able to run the course.

    You could be pushing too hard and need to lay off a couple of days. I agree with your thoughts of new shoes, but I always hesitate changing shoes so close to race day. But, for you, it could help. You might try getting taped or a knee brace. I tried some kinesthetic tape this last time and it seemed to help my knees. One store was doing taping at the expo before the marathon and I got taped for the race. Even bought a roll (not cheap). Maybe it was all mental, but it seemed to help me and my knees did not hurt as much this time. Look up Rocktape.com to get an idea.

    That said, I still think you are doing excellent. Take it easy, back if off a bit, and try to ease into it. If you have to cut your pace, do it. To me, the key is to finish the race without hurting yourself. Once you have the first one under your belt, then you can start going for the gold. Good luck and congrats again on the promotion (and finding a nickle).

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      I know you’re probably right, but when I only run 3 days a week, it really doesn’t seem like I’m pushing too hard. I did a 12 miler last week, but the others were much shorter. This week, 2 of my 3 days of running happened to be back to back. So yes, I probably pushed it with two 8-milers in a row. Should’ve made one a little shorter, then run 8 after a day of rest. 😦
      I DO know I need a new pair of shoes though. These are 3 months old with lotsa miles on them. I’m not worried about getting a new pair. I will stick with the exact same kind, same size, same color even, and I know from experience they won’t need any “breaking in”. Plus, they’ll hopefully get a few miles on ’em before race day.
      Anyway, it’s hard to hear, but thanks for the advice. I’ll dedicate a blog to my promotion in the near future. I’m excited to talk about it!
      And it’s always fun finding money in the wash. Sometimes it’s a nickle.. but sometimes it’s a few dollars! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    March 15, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Okay, I’m not going to panic, but I so know how you feel. That having-to-give-in-and-walk-home feeling sucks!!

    You’ve been doing really great – putting in some strong distances and times, but I’m inclined to agree with Agg that maybe you could scale back a bit. Take it easy for a few days and see how the knee feels. If it’s good to go for a run, go for it, but have rest days in between your run days. That kinesthetic tape might be worth a try, and house buffing is good cross training!

    I’m turning up my blog juju volume knob!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 9:24 pm

      I’m not in panic mode quite yet either. But I’ve certainly lost some excitement.
      As I told Agg, I’ve been very good about resting in between runs. It was just THIS week that I ran back to back.
      Luckily, I’ll be working the next few days, so I won’t be tempted to run. And I definitely won’t push it, because I have 5 days of possibilities next week – not just 3.
      Anyway, thanks for the blog juju! I feel it working already! 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    March 15, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    I am so sorry! I don’t know anything about knees or running so I can only hope that all you need is taking it easier until it gets back to normal…

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      Yeah – you know more about bad backs! 😉 Hope yours is feeling better!

       
  5. lottajoy

    March 16, 2013 at 3:50 am

    Maybe this will make you feel better. I was one of the first idiots to buy those shoes that advertised a good workout just by walking. If you remember, they had that curved sole. I walked across the street, and tore the ligament that runs up the shin bone. I had to lean against the stop sign til my husband FINALLY looked out to see what was taking me so long to walk through the neighborhood. He helped me hop back across the street and, since then, that knee and shin still hurt. Have patience, and enjoy your clean floors.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 16, 2013 at 10:35 pm

      Um… I think that actually DOES make me feel better! At least it got a giggle outa me. 🙂

       
      • lottajoy

        March 18, 2013 at 4:37 am

        Well, if I made you giggle, my work here is done. Or else you’re just enjoying being cruel to old people.

         
  6. Mike

    March 16, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Ah, running. I should really look into that sort of thing again. My waistline cries out for calorie release.

    Promotion??? Congratulations! As you can see, I have some catching up to do here. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 16, 2013 at 10:30 pm

      MIKE!! Great to see you! Did you already tell Julia about the promotion? She doesn’t know yet! I was gonna email her this week.
      Hopefully the weather will turn around soon and motivate you to run again. I’ve had such fun training for the half marathon… until this happened. ugh.
      Anyway, good to “see” you again!

       
      • Mike

        March 17, 2013 at 12:17 am

        Haha… no, I haven’t told her yet. I’ll let you break the news to her. 🙂

         
  7. Rock Chef

    March 17, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    I will let others give running advice. I hope things are ok for the big day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2013 at 2:13 am

      I hope so too, RC. I will be so disappointed if it’s not.

       
  8. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 17, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    Awwwwwwww, that sucks. I hope your knee pain goes away soon!

    “I took my frustration out on my floors. They’ve never looked better. Then I headed to the kitchen and scrubbed it from head to toe.”

    LOLZ! I do the same exact thing when I am mad, sad, or anxious about anything.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2013 at 2:14 am

      It was nice taking my frustrations out on the floor – but the only outcome was clean floors. I still had the frustration. In fact, I still do.

       
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    oh no! That is horrible 😦 I am so sorry you got in pain and couldn’t run as much as you wanted to! 😦 No wonder you didn’t feel like celebrating! I hope you figure it out soon and can enjoy your running pain-free! 🙂 Glad you took it out on your floors though… what a productive way to feel better! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2013 at 2:16 am

      I think I’ve figured out what caused it. Now I’m just waiting for it to heal, so I can get back to it.
      My house definitely benefited from my sadness. IT feels better. Me? Not so much.

       
  10. territerri

    March 20, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Oh, I’m SO sorry! I have no advice, but I see that our expert runner friends have chimed in with their expertise. So I have to agree. Listen to your body. Give it some rest. You’ve worked really hard and you’re not going to undo all that progress with a few days of rest. Hope you feel better soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:25 am

      Thanks Terri! The rest has been helping. Fingers crossed!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
