RSS

More Juju Please

19 Mar

I’ve been poppin’ Greek yogurts, peanut butter, and eggs like a maniac these past few days.  They’ve been my drug of choice for healing my bum knee. I’m tempted to slather it directly on my knee, wrap it up, and hope it heals through osmosis.

I haven’t run for 4 days now. It seems to be doing better, but I can’t walk up stairs without pain, so I know I’m not ready to run.  I broke down last night and cried.  I am so incredibly sad about the possibility of not being able to run the half marathon in three weeks.  I’m trying to stay positive though. Just bought my third pair of shooz.  My gut tells me that was part of the problem.  I’m also pretty sure my lazy stretching after my long runs was a big part of it.  Every article I’ve read seems to confirm that as well.

Anyway…..

I’ve been told that Tuesday will be my “coming out” day at work.  They must first break the news to the lying auditor who also applied for the position.  Once that is done I will officially be the Guest Service Supervisor.  I’m excited to assume the role, but right now, I don’t know how many more responsibilities I can take on.  Training two people at once has been exhausting.  We’ve been quite busy at work, and without having another experienced person at the desk to help out, everything falls to me.  The trainees try to help, but they end up needing my help.  I’m quite patient on the outside, but inside I just want to take a break.  This week, because I’ve requested a real weekend off, I am scheduled 8 days in a row.  Yeah – I’m exhausted – and the couch is calling.

couch time

I am really looking forward to the weekend though – sort of.  Saturday will be our 22nd wedding anniversary.  We’re going to replicate our first date by going to a comedy club in St. Louis.  We’ll stay the night at one of my hotels and then head home on Sunday. That part I’m very excited about.  What’s bringing me down, is I have been looking forward to running a 10 mile race on Saturday morning.  Hubby would come cheer me on.  I’d get some experience of a long race a few weeks before the half-marathon. And I’d have the rest of the weekend to spend time with my hubby.  It was gonna be perfect.

**sigh**

I know.  I’m whining again.

I haven’t ruled the race out, but I’m certainly not expecting to run.  If I can, I will.  If there’s even a slight twinge, I won’t.

Continue sending juju my way.  Things are getting better, so it must be working!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “More Juju Please

  1. Abby

    March 19, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Crap, sorry about the lingering knee troubles. I wish I could offer you a fix, but I’ve got nothing to add to what you’re already doing. The cat image is very cute, though – kudos for that? And happy GSS coming out day :).
    Have a wonderfully romantic anniversary weekend, and I’ll continue with the blog juju! There’s still time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:16 am

      The knee is getting better every day. I just have to stay patient. Not an easy thing for me to do.
      I stumbled across the cat pic one day, and thought it was perfect! I feel just like he does about my couch!
      Thanks for the GSS kudos! It was posted tonight, so by tomorrow the whole world, uh hotel, will know.
      Thanks also for the juju. I’m soakin’ it up!

       
  2. Sandi

    March 19, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    sending ‘juju’!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:17 am

      Thank you Sandi! Coming from Australia I should expect it in, what, a day or two? 🙂

       
      • Sandi

        March 20, 2013 at 8:15 am

        Nah, I’m from the future according to your time zone, so it’s already yours! 😉

         
  3. territerri

    March 20, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I can’t imagine how frustrated you must feel and I can certainly understand not wanting to be patient. Don’t be too bummed if you can’t do the ten-mile run. Keep your eye on the half-marathon. I know you can do this and I’m sending some juju your way!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:18 am

      Thanks for your support Terri! I’ll just be a little bummed about missing the 10-mile. If I have to miss the half-marathon I’ll be devastated.

       
  4. lottajoy

    March 20, 2013 at 12:39 am

    I hate it when visitors suggest one miracle after another for my assorted aches and pains. (But) there was once a huge fad regarding applying WD40 to painful joints. At least it didn’t kill anyone, or make anyone hungry from smelling peanut butter, yogurt and eggs.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 6:24 am

      I suppose I opened a can of worms by asking for help. But it’s cheaper than seeing a doc.
      WD40? Not something I would have thought of, but it makes sense, and I’m desperate enough to try it. lol
      (And I bet my dog would quit licking my leg….)

       
  5. agg79

    March 20, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Damn. I was hoping things would get better. I feel your frustration, all those miles, all that sweat, and so close that you can taste it. I agree with your strategy – take it slow & easy and see how it goes.. The 10 miler might be tempting, but I’d forego it if your knee doesn’t feel right. You’ve worked to hard, too long to have this keep you off the course. And, WD40 sounds like an interesting remedy. Mega juju headed your way!

    Congrats on the promotion! Well deserved. Enjoy the anniversary weekend with hubby and skip the disco (until after the 7th).

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      Things ARE better, just not good enough for me to feel comfortable running. I took some baby steps today, though. I ran on the treadmill (UGH) for 5 minutes at a time, and it seemed to do okay. I may go outside tomorrow and run/walk to test it on the “real” pavement. That will help me decide if I should try the 10-miler on Saturday. I’ve pretty well talked myself out of it, but there’s always a chance the juju will hit me all at once, creating a miracle! 🙂
      Thanks again for the kudos and the anniversary wishes! (No disco-ing…..got it.)

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 25, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    I hope you can run like you had originally planned! This is not fun! 😦 I am sorry for the pain and I’m sorry it took me so long to stop by and send you more “juju” 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 26, 2013 at 2:53 am

      I hope so too. My excitement has come to an abrupt halt. I’m terribly sad about that.

       

Leave a Reply

 
