RSS

Almost Like the Good Ol’ Days

24 Mar

I was 18 when we met.  A co-worker of mine was dating his roommate and insisted I go on a double date with them.

I was hesitant.  I’d just recovered from a broken engagement.  (I know!  I was 18!) I was shy, and I felt uncomfortable going out with someone I hadn’t met yet.

She somehow convinced me to go anyway.  I let her do my hair and make-up (ugh), and then we made the long trip to their apartment in St. Louis.

I was nervous the whole way there, but as soon as I met him, my nerves disappeared.  He was cute.  He was down to earth.  And he was FUNNY.

Shortly after the introductions, we made our way to the Funny Bone – a comedy club nearby.  More laughter ensued.  More nerves retreated.

We ended the night with a few games back at the apartment and an exchange of phone numbers.

Then I went home and waited.

Lucky for me, he phoned a few days later.  And on March 23, 1991, after a year and a half of dating, we married.

That was 22 years ago.

To celebrate, we decided to recreate our first date, without the other couple, of course.   That would have been awkward since they are now married to different people.

We packed an overnight bag and headed to St. Louis.  Before checking in to the hotel, we ate lunch at a little diner with Greek cuisine.  Yummy.

Then we headed over to the Humane Society where we adopted our first dog as a married couple.  It was fun to play with the dogs and puppies that were there, but heartbreaking to leave them.

Next, we took a drive to the apartment where we first met, and reminisced about how fun and worry-free those days were.    Nearby were the apartments we lived in during our first year of marriage, so we took a drive by those too.

The highlight of our night, though, was the Funny Bone.  Both acts were hilarious and had us rolling with laughter. It felt good to laugh together and not worry about children, or work, or money.

It took working 8 consecutive days to get this weekend off, but it was so worth it! We’re at home now, camped out on the couch, in front of a TV with no signal, watching the blizzard outside our window and worrying about Link who’ll be on the roads soon to drive home from work. (Obviously someone didn’t get the Memo….)

But even this has been nice.  It’s comforting to know that after the kids are gone, and it’s just the two of us, that we’ll still be friends and enjoy doing things together.  When that day comes, though, I can guarantee there will be no blizzard in the forecast.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Family

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Almost Like the Good Ol’ Days

  1. Abby

    March 24, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Happy Anniversary! What a great idea to recreate “The Beginning”! (I google mapped Magnum’s and my first apartment – not quite the same).
    And what? No wedding pics for us??

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 25, 2013 at 1:22 am

      Our apartment hasn’t changed at all – on the outside anyway. They’re putting on new roofs, however. It’s nice to see they’re still keeping them up.
      I wish we had a scanner at home. Then maybe I would have posted our wedding pics. In fact, the couple we doubled with that night were in the wedding. I’ll see what I can do… any ideas?
      (Last year I took a picture of the picture and uploaded it that way.)

       
  2. territerri

    March 25, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Happy Anniversary! So glad you were able to get a real weekend off and enjoy some much needed time with your hubby. Sounds like a wonderful date and weekend.

    P.S. Sorry about the blizzard and PLEASE do not send it my way! I’m liable to hurt someone if we get any more winter around here!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 25, 2013 at 1:25 am

      Thanks Terri! It was a well-deserved, very fun, very relaxing weekend. Even with the snow. The kids just got word there’s no school tomorrow. I’ll be going in to work though. I’d make a great Minnesotian!
      Abby was kind enough to send the blizzard our way, but if you don’t want it, I’ll just send it out to the east coast.

       
  3. agg79

    March 25, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Happy Anniversary! 22 years! Congrats on making it work for 22 years. That’s several lifetimes in Hollywood years. Great idea to go relive your first date, but be careful around that Human Society. Hard not to take home another “souvenir”. I guess it’s a good thing you didn’t say no to that double date those many years ago.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 25, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      Hard for me to believe sometimes that it’s already been 22 years. This was a much needed weekend for us. We tend to get caught up in all the stresses of life and family and work and forget about the ‘us’ that started it all. It was nice to go back and revisit those earlier times when it was ONLY us.
      We’ve gone to a few Humane Societies this past month. My favorite was a little cross-eyed terrier. So hard not to take him home. We just have to be satisfied with giving donations since we’re not ready to take on another dog. Maybe someday.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 25, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Beautiful memories! Thank you for sharing them with us! 🙂 So happy you can recreate the whole first date WITH each other… not many can do that… you guys are blessed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
