RSS

An Exceptional Day

26 Mar

My daughter said it best:

“What a lovely winter we’re having this spring.”

Spring Snow

Chancie loves it

My drive to work

It really was pretty, but it’s the end of MARCH!

I think Mother Nature finally got the Memo though.  Most of the snow has melted, and we’re expecting the highs to be in the 50s by the end of the week.

As the snow was falling, I snuggled under multiple blankets and rested.  Not sure when the last time I allowed myself such laziness.  But from the time we got home from our anniversary get-a-way, (about 10:00am) until bedtime, I sat on the couch.  I had planned to watch Tiger’s golf game, but Florida was having a warmer version of our storm.  So I napped, played word games, blogged, napped again, ate a bit, and then turned in for the night.  Much needed laziness after 8 crazy busy days at work.

We rarely eat meals in the living room, but Sunday was an exceptional day all the way around.

Beggers

Beggers

The split pea soup sounded good to everyone.

By the time Monday came around, I was feeling good again.  I put in 9 hours at work and now I’m off again for a couple of days.  I’m getting spoiled, but enjoying it while I can.

Oh yeah —one last thing…

I RAN 7 MILES TODAY!

And my knee is doing great! (Actually, I think it’s my hamstring causing pain in the back of my knee.)

I’ve got two weeks left to train, but I’m not pushing it.  I will rest tomorrow, and then run again Thursday.  I gotta get some hill work in at some point.  Holy Hill is beginning to worry me.

But I’m thrilled to once again be excited about the half.

Blog Juju – my drug of choice.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “An Exceptional Day

  1. Abby

    March 26, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Your spring looks an awful lot like our spring! (operative word, “awful”?)
    I think sometimes we just get so busy that we don’t realize how tired we are, then once the busyness wanes, we hit the wall to catch up on our rest. YOU will NOT be hitting any half-marathon walls, however. Yay for the Magnificent Seven miles!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 27, 2013 at 1:40 am

      I know! I kept saying, “I don’t know why I’m so tired”, but it all just caught up to me I guess. And my hubby was so nice about it – only making fun of me a little for just sittin’ around all day.
      Hooray for the Magnificent Seven!

       
  2. territerri

    March 27, 2013 at 12:26 am

    You’re running again! YAY! And it sounds like the weather is shaping up nicely to accommodate your running plans.

    Isn’t it great to enjoy such a lazy day every once in a while? You needed it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 27, 2013 at 1:42 am

      Such a great feeling to be running! Still have to be careful though, because it’s only about 90 percent good.
      I’m not usually content with being lazy, but sometimes ya just need it,

       
  3. Rock Chef

    March 28, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Holy Hill sounds terrifying to me – hope someone will be able to get pics of the event!
    Slobbing on the sofa is good, and is exactly what I am going right now…

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2013 at 5:48 am

      My hubby will be cheering me on. I hope he can get a few pics, since I doubt I can run and snap pics at the same time – unlike some people. (agg….)
      It was your slobbing on the sofa that let me know it’s okay if I do it. Quite the role model you are!

       
      • Rock Chef

        March 29, 2013 at 4:35 pm

        I try my best to set a good example 🙂

         
  4. agg79

    March 29, 2013 at 2:02 am

    What an exceptional day! Still having problems with the temps up there? I’ve called in the maintenance crew back in and they are working on getting the temps back up to normal level.

    It is great to hear that the knee pain is behind you. A little pampering and rest never hurts (you’ve earned it). Only 9 days and a wake up. I am glad you are getting back into the groove and getting pumped about the run. Don’t worry about Holy Hill. Just keep your head down and your pace steady. By the time you spot Reverend Mike, you’ll be almost to the top and ready to make the turn back to home. I just hope the weather warms up enough that you won’t have to run in a parka.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2013 at 5:51 am

      The temps are now hovering in the mid to upper 40s. Maybe 50s in a few days. I checked the long term forecast and it’s looking pretty good. It’s a safe bet that I won’t have to wear my parka anyway!
      Gawd – 9 days and a wake up! I’m scared and excited at the same time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
