RSS

Changing of the Mood

29 Mar

I debated whether or not I should write yet ANOTHER blog about running.

But then I remembered it’s MY blog.  And I’ve been thinking about running a lot.  And so that’s what I want to write about.

If it helps you can just skip right to the end, write a comment of support, and get on with your day.  Really no reason to muddle your way through the extra words if you’d rather not.

Anyway.

There has been a noticeable shift in the mood around here.

Gone are the feelings of doom, the feelings of sadness, the feelings of “why me?”.

They have been replaced with feelings of hope, determination and purpose.

My hubby is thanking the higher ups – in silence of course.  He’s a smart guy and knows not to say out loud that I should just get over myself.

But I finally did just get over myself.  Only because I finally coaxed my knee into agreeing to run.

Maybe it was the rest.  Maybe it was the protein overdose.  Maybe it was the stretching of the hamstrings and quads.

Maybe it was the blog juju.

Whatever it was, I am thrilled to be back at it, and excited once again about the big day!

The weather’s looking to be perfect for running.  The long range forecast shows starting temps to be in the low 50s heading up to 65 for the high.  Great news for me, since I have some anxiety about what to wear, and whether or not I’m going to have to ditch some clothes along the way.  If the forecast holds true, I’ll be able to keep my clothes on the entire time.

The plan this week is to stockpile some glycogen.   I’m excited to have an excuse to eat a bunch of carbs! Haven’t decided yet if I want to risk one more 10 mile run this weekend, or if I should just fit in a few short ones throughout the week just so my muscles don’t forget what to do.  I’m leaning towards the latter.  Don’t want to risk my fragile knee, and I don’t want to deplete all the stored up glycogen.  It’s hard work getting those built up.

I’m also not going to focus on Holy Hill.  It’s too late now to prep for that.  If I stay healthy, I feel pretty confident that I’ll be able to charge up the hill and recharge on the way down.

I’ve got the hotel room booked for the night before.  I have the day of the race scheduled off.   I have my running attire steamed and pressed.

I haven’t decided what I’ll have for supper the night before, but I have an idea of what my breakfast will be, and I’m pretty sure Pappy’s is going to provide my post run re-fuel.  Nothing like a big slab of protein, smoked to perfection, to cap off 13.1 miles of  running bliss.

8 days and a wake up, as Agg would say.  Hard to believe how close it is!

Go St. Louis here I come!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Changing of the Mood

  1. Ani Danelz

    March 29, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    Good luck to you!! I have my first half in June and I am already so excited for it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 30, 2013 at 5:32 am

      Thank you! I wish you the best of luck as well! It’s so fun to train and get prepped for the first race. I’ll check in with you to see how it’s going!

       
  2. agg79

    March 29, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    I’m starting to get excited for you as well. Glad that the blog juju has worked and you are back out on the road. Even better that the weather might cooperate (never dis Mother Nature).

    I love your strategy to camp out the night before in a local hotel so you don’t have to sweat the drive in (and hunt for a close parking). An excellent way to relax & prep for the race. I am positive that, come Sunday morning, both you and your knees will be ready to ride. I would definitely recommend hitting the Marathon expo on Saturday (or Friday if possible) to get your race packet/number. Give yourself some time to explore the expo (it will be packed on Saturday) – there are lots of things to see or do. Lots of companies/vendors with running gear/clothes/stuff who are VERY willing to separate you from your money. I know you are more that ready and will CRUSH the course, but take time to enjoy the whole event. Don’t worry about Holy Hill – unless it is a vertical staircase for 2 miles, it is all hype. Just keep your head down and keep thinking about about the finish line. Enjoy a great victory dinner at Pappy’s – you’ll have earned it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 30, 2013 at 5:44 am

      You’ve been such a great cheerleader through all of this! Thank you for your vote of confidence! And I hope you’re right about ME crushing the course instead of the other way around.
      I will have most of the afternoon on Saturday to explore the expo. I’m excited about it, but I need to figure out how to get my hubby excited about it since he’ll be with me.
      Anyway, thanks again for your support Agg! It means a lot!

       
  3. lottajoy

    March 30, 2013 at 1:35 am

    I have an addictive personality. I’ve been addicted to cigarettes, ice cream, and once, I needed a small juice glass of parmessean cheese every night! I see now that I have selective addictions. I’ve never been addicted to anything healthy, and you are certainly addicted to running.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 30, 2013 at 5:50 am

      It seems like every time you stop by, I’ve written a post on running. I occasionally write about other things too, just so ya know.
      I think you hit the nail on the head, though, I, too, have an addictive personality. And when I get my mind set on something, it takes up a great deal of my time and energy. I prefer not to think of it as a bad thing.
      Now my ice cream addiction… that’s a bad thing. But I’m not giving it up any time soon.

       
  4. Abby

    March 30, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Go get ’em!

     
  5. Rock Chef

    March 31, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    That’s the spirit! You are going to take that run by storm. If the going gets tough just pretend you are on that mud run!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 1, 2013 at 1:51 am

      Ahhh…. the mud run….. thanks for bringing back some fun memories! Fingers crossed that 13.1 miles will be just as fun!

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 31, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    I am so happy when you blog! About anything! But when you talk about RUNNING is particularly good! Because it shows how much you love it! Because it’s motivation and encouragement for those of us who want to follow your steps! It gives me HOPE and RESOLVE! which I very much need! 🙂 I truly think of you EVERY time I run… and makes me want to push myself … and know that I can do it! 🙂 Good job! You are awesome! I can’t wait to hear how you did!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 1, 2013 at 1:55 am

      I love that my runs give you hope and resolve. Just remember that I started out the same way you are – and look at me now! 🙂
      I’ll be sure to write about how I did. I just pray it turns out as well as your singing did!

       
  7. territerri

    April 3, 2013 at 2:30 am

    I’m so happy to hear that you’ve healed and are gearing up for the big run! I know what a disappointment it would have been if you’d had to miss it. Wishing you HUGE success! And have fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
