RSS

Just Call Me Forty Fifty Eight

03 Apr

I’m trying really hard not to make all my posts about running.  But as you can see, if I don’t write about running, I pretty well have nothing to say.

Sure, I could write about how much I’m loving my new role at work, especially now that I’ve been weened from my trainees, Mark and McMark.  And how excited I am that the Cardinal’s home opener is next week, launching a fun-filled, crazy busy, couple of months.

And I could show you pics of all the goodies I made for the family to bring to Easter. (I worked most of Easter day.)  There were Angel Food cupcakes – some topped with pineapple whipped cream and some with strawberry whipped cream. These were from a cake mix so Mario took these on herself.  Then I made carrot cake cupcakes with yummy cream cheese icing.  And finally, I whipped up a batch lemon cookies with lemon icing.  It was nice to get a few pins off my boards!

I could also tell you how nice it was to see the in-laws again once I finally arrived.  It was the first time I’ve seen everyone since my father-in-law died.  He was missed, of course, but it’s what made being together even more special.  We’re all a little nicer and more patient with each other.  Hubby’s mom handled the day very well.  Because of her cancer, she tires out easily and has become quite forgetful.  It’s been difficult for my husband to watch, and difficult for him to stay patient with her when he hears the same stories over and over and over again.  But since I only see her once in a great while, I was happy to listen to all her stories.  As we were leaving, she looked at her calendar to see what she had planned for the next day.  I couldn’t help but smile as I read through the notes with her.  She had “High School Girls’ Lunch” written on Tuesday, but she was talking like it was on Monday.  When I questioned her, she said “Well, see…. I have an arrow that points up to Monday.”  Upon closer look, I noticed the arrow and also another note that said – “See the note about lunch.  It’s by the chair in the living room.”  and then a little further down was yet another note – “If you can’t find the note, call Carolyn.”   My heart just melted.  How sweet that she is learning how to deal with her forgetfulness, but how sad that a once energetic, active, intelligent woman has been dealt such a rotten hand.  Thank goodness she has all her family members close by, and all are willing to help.

So yeah, there are other things I could write about, but at this point, my mind is very focused on the race this weekend.  An email was sent out regarding the race rules, the starting time, lots of advice, and my bib number – 4058.  I’m excited to have a number, but the email itself stirred up a lot of nerves.  I registered my hubby’s cell phone so that he can receive text messages about where I’m at during the race.  That way he can step out of the bars long enough to wave as I run by.

My knee is still not normal but I was able to run 10 miles on Monday, so I’m feeling pretty positive about running the 13.1 on Sunday.  Gonna take it easy until then with a couple of 5-6 milers throughout the week.  At this point, they’re calling for a chance of rain on Sunday. The running gods sure aren’t making this a piece of cake. But as they say:

What Doesn't Kill You...

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Just Call Me Forty Fifty Eight

  1. territerri

    April 3, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    I love how your Mom in Law is handling her challenges. She could be having a big old pity party. She could be relying on everyone else to manage everything for her. Instead, she’s found new ways to keep up with all the things she’s used to managing. What an inspiring woman. Give her a hug for me, ok?

    Your Easter treats sound delicious! I’m on a lemon kick, so I’m going to check out your cookie recipe.

    And you SHOULD keep talking about your running. It’s exciting and I’m excited for you! You’ve overcome your own challenges, and you haven’t succombed to them, so no matter how you do this weekend, you’re a winner in my book.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 4, 2013 at 5:30 am

      That’s exactly what I needed to hear, Terri. Thank you! 🙂 I’m excited nervous and worried all at the same time.
      You know, I’ve never been a hugging kind of person, but when I left MIL’s house on Sunday, I gave her a hug. I rarely get to see her, and she has done SOOO much for me and my family, that I wanted to show her how much she has meant to me. I’d be happy to give her another one from you.
      As far as the lemon cookies…. they were delicious! I highly recommend them. I have a thing for lemons too and have many more recipes I’d like to try. Let me know what you think!

       
  2. agg79

    April 4, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Don’t apologize about posting another running. It’s your blog, you get to set the direction/tone. We’re just hitchhikers on this ride. Of course, I am not one to talk. I spun up my fair share of “running” posts pre and post run in January, so I get your concerns. I think you should be posting everything about the run. It’s a big deal. You’ve worked hard to get there. I like to hear all the ups and downs you have encountered along the trail. I sometimes feel like I am sharing some of the same road with you. Besides, after we’ve gone this far down the road with you, we have gotta see this through to the finish line. I know you are ready, even if those pesky gremlins keep questioning your resolve. Your pace plan is good, training is on track, you’ve got everything pretty much mapped out. And remember, I’m betting on a sub 2:00 hour run (way better than any of my times). Should be a cakewalk, just take care of the knee.

    BTW – another minor tidbit – if you do drive the course, scope out a good spot where hubby might camp out to cheer you on. Somewhere along the course where he can spot you coming and going. Some spectators I’ve seen on the course, have pictures and signs of encouragement for runners (Run Faster, Mom! We’re Hungry!).

    Love to hear how you spent your Easter weekend. Great way to enjoy time with the family. It is nice to hear how MIL is handling her condition. Watching your parents get old can be heartbreaking. And once again you are teasing us with all sorts of of tasty treats and not sharing… 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 4, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      I know what you mean about sharing the same road. I felt the same way whenever you wrote about running. It was almost just as exciting for me as it was for you!
      I finally rode the course yesterday before work. YIKES! My knee ached from driving up all the steep hills! I knew about Holy Hill, but sheesh! There are so many more! I almost wish I hadn’t driven it, because now I’m worried again. At least there seems to be as many downhills as uphills. So my sub 8 time may not hold. I think my bigger goal is just to have my knee hold.
      And now they are calling for lots of wind and possibly rain. Did you arrange that? 😉
      I think on Saturday we’ll pick a few spots for Hubby to hang out and cheer me on. There are supposed to be cheer stations, but he doesn’t do crowds, so I’m guessing he’ll find some quiet spots.
      Hope your Easter was just as nice. I need to figure out how to send some treats down to you. I’m always looking for guinea pigs to try my new recipes. My coworkers claim they’re getting fat.

       
  3. Abby

    April 4, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I bet your excited that Race Weekend is (nearly) here! Heck, I’m excited for you :D. You’ve got this.
    Your mother-in-law sounds so sweet. I love all of her little “notes to self”. I know how difficult it is to watch good people struggle.
    Have fun on Sunday! And don’t worry about the running posts. After all, “run” is your middle name!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 4, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Of Course! Run IS my middle name.
      I’m really excited about the race, so it’s hard not to write about it. Plus, I keep getting all these emails now and I want to share with everybody!
      I love my mother-in-law. Hubby just came home from checking on her and she now has a note that says “Walk on the treadmill or outside everyday.” He’s worried for her of course, but I think it’s great that she’s learning to cope. Just so things don’t get worse….

       
  4. Rock Chef

    April 5, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Good luck with the race!

    Surely your hubby will have planned a selection of viewing points that he can get to in time to see you go past and won’t really be propping up a bar?

    The note idea is great – I will try to remember that for when I need it. Now that sounded like I was trying to make a joke, but I wasn’t…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 5, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      I often wonder if she has notes to remind herself to read her notes. 🙂

      On Saturday hubby and I will be looking into areas where he can watch me coming and going, and that he can get to before I get there. I was kidding him about the bar. Although if the rain comes, I’d feel bad if he were standing out in it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
