RSS

Load Me Up

06 Apr

Two days.

Gawd I’m nervous.

As I sit here baking an Oreo cake for a coworker’s nephew’s birthday (why do I get myself into these things), I’m trying to figure out how to get 450 grams of carbohydrates eaten today, and it’s stressing me out.

My oatmeal, banana, and yogurt breakfast only consisted of 86 grams.  So now it’s looking like I have to eat rice and potatoes and spaghetti for my next two meals.  And only that.  And lots of it.

I like rice and potatoes and spaghetti.  But not all in the same meal and for every meal.  Worse yet, my stomach is in knots so I don’t want anything to eat right now.

And if my leg/knee wasn’t acting up, I probably wouldn’t be so nervous about it.  But it IS acting up, so I want to have enough carbs to give it enough energy to make it through 13.1 miles.

As if that stress isn’t enough, add to it an eye doctor’s appointment for Mario, a shopping excursion to Walmart, decorating of the cake, and packing of my clothes for the weekend.

Sheesh.

But I feel a little better now that I’ve got all that off my chest.

So let’s talk cake.

Lots of people have been asking me to bake stuff for them lately.  I guess I don’t really mind, but I have started to demand a little higher price.  After all, it means I have to bake on my day off, so I  should get some compensation.

This particular co-worker wanted something for her 19 year old nephew.  She left it up to me decide what kind of cake.  I’ve been anxious to try out a new Oreo cake and frosting recipe, so Oreo cake it is.

The hardest part was de-stuffing the Oreos without licking them.

De-stuffed Oreos

 

But I managed.  See?  They’re all there.

Cream Filling

 

Then I made THE BEST chocolate cake ever according to Kevin and Amanda.

The Best Chocolate Cake Batter

 

Chocolate cake, chocolate pudding, chocolate chips.  It really IS the best.

While the cake was baking, I excitedly started the Oreo cream frosting.

Oreo Cream Frosting

Who would have thought it would actually taste better than the real Oreo cream?

All that was left to do was assemble the cake cookie.

Oreo Cake

 

Frost it all.

Oreo Cake

 

And then make Oreo Minis  with the extras.

Oreo Minis

 

Hmmm…. perhaps I can substitute a cupcake for a serving a rice. I’m sure it’s loaded with carbs.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2013 in Baking, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Load Me Up

  1. lottajoy

    April 6, 2013 at 3:03 am

    OH COME ON…..You HAD to have licked a few of those Oreos.

     
  2. agg79

    April 6, 2013 at 3:11 am

    Oh, heck no. You’re off baking for everyone else and here I am am stuck eating left over Girl Scout cookies? I’ve been begging for a few measly crumbs but I ain’t got squat down here (insert pouty face here)? You keep posting pictures like those treats and I am going to hit the stash of Blue Bell Cookies and Cream.

    I see your gremlins have shown up right on time. One day and a wake up. If you ain’t ready now, well, you’ll just have to fake it. Those hills might appear intimidating, but once you hit the streets, it will all be academic. Too late to back out now. Practice is over, time to wrap it up, gather your gear, don your attire, lace up your shoes and hit the course. Have fun at the expo tomorrow, check out all those booths/stores. Maybe one of the places will have some RockTape demos that you could have them tape your leg/knee. Don’t sweat the race. It has been long in coming and you have worked hard to enjoy it. I am looking forward to see you smoke the course with a sub 9:00 pace. You may not see me on the sidelines. but I’ll be rooting for you on Sunday!

     
  3. shadowrun300

    April 6, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Sorry Agg. My family at least got to lick the beaters and spatula. 😉
    My stomach is in such knots. I almost can’t wait to run just to ease some of my anxiety. My worst fear right now is failing – or having my leg fail me. I just need to remain positive and remember that it got me through 10 miles less than a week ago, so it should be fine. I just have this nagging ache to remind me it’s not completely right.
    Thanks for being a great cheerleader through all this – and for rootin’ me on tomorrow! I’ll be sure to post as soon as I can!

     
    • agg79

      April 6, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      You let the kids lick the beaters? How sweet. That reminds me of when my mom would let us lick the beaters. Sometimes she would even turn off the mixer.

      I totally get your butterflies. My first year I was pondering bailing on the run (going to use my dislocated shoulder as my excuse), but somehow stuck with in. Even after 5 years, I still get them the days leading up to the run. The difference now is that I know my limitations and what to expect, Besides, I know where the hills are. Don’t fret them butterflies. I guarantee that they will all disappear once you hear the starting gun. I’ll be thinking of you at 0700 tomorrow. Just hope the rain holds off. Go 4058! Run hard!

       
      • shadowrun300

        April 7, 2013 at 2:11 am

        I admit when I woke up this morning, I thought of bailing. But that would be the biggest fail, so I’m going for it and giving it my all. I have less nerves tonight than I’ve had the last couple of days. It’s a great feeling.
        The rain looks like it will hold off til the afternoon and hopefully the winds will calm down overnight. And with luck, the butterflies will keep my adrenaline pumping the whole way.
        And what a sweet mom you have – turning off the beaters before you licked them. Maybe next time I’ll be as nice with my kids. Maybe.

         
  4. territerri

    April 7, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Sorry I’m late! Today’s race day and I’m thinking by the time I’m writing this, you’re probably done running. I know you gave it your all and hope you did great! I can’t wait to hear all about this adventure of yours.

    The oreo cake looks amazing. I see a dessert business in your future. You love to make them and people are begging for your specialized treats. How fun would that be? 🙂

     
  5. Abby

    April 8, 2013 at 12:37 am

    I’m late too, but better late than never! Gutting Oreos? Yeah, you’d BETTER get compensation! The cake looks marevelous!

     
  6. Rock Chef

    April 8, 2013 at 8:17 am

    So how did it go? Are you still running? 🙂

     
  7. meleah rebeccah

    April 11, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    OMG! I am drooling over that cake & cupcakes. YUMMMMMMMMMMERZ!

     

Leave a Reply

 
