RSS

The Short and Sweet Version

09 Apr

Sorry to keep you in suspense. I, for one, would have been quite upset to wait so long to hear how you did.

I didn’t want to keep you waiting, but… well… more on that tomorrow.

For now, I’ll keep this short and sweet.

First, I finished!

photo finish

 

I crossed the line at 1:48:22.  Not too shabby.  My pace was 8:15 which is much better than I expected!

Best of all, I conquered Holy Hill.  In fact, I placed second in my age group for making it up the two mile hill the quickest!  And I was worried….  pshaw!

The day was beautiful!  No rain.  No wind.  While waiting for the starting gun, I was a little cold, but by mile 4, I worried I was wearing too many clothes.

Beautiful Day

Perfect Weather!

My hubby found a couple of places to cheer me on and snap some pictures.  I was so thankful he agreed to come with me.

Start of Holy Hill

I wore bright yellow so he could pick me out.

It’s not easy to pick one person out of a crowd of 10s of thousands, but he’d gotten a text right before mile 6, so he knew I was coming.  The shot above was taken at the start of Holy Hill. At this point, I was feeling pretty awesome!

I stayed strong until about mile 10.  By this time we had climbed a couple of more long gradual hills and my legs were feeling it.  Not my knee, surprisingly, but my quads.  Especially my left one.  It began cramping up and burning so much that I had to stop and walk for a bit.  I stopped 3 or 4 more times to stretch and beat on them to loosen them up.  Each time, other runners would urge me on, giving me enough energy to go  a little longer.  I was determined to finish the last mile without stopping, and even crossed the finish line with a lot of gusto.

I was a little disappointed at having to stop, but happy that my overall time wasn’t affected that much.  I accepted my medal with pride.

Sporting my medal

 

Tomorrow I’ll explain why it took me so long to post.  But for now you can all rest easy that I actually did finish, and I’m NOT still running, RC.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “The Short and Sweet Version

  1. agg79

    April 9, 2013 at 2:24 am

    Bravo! Outstanding run! With all the training you’ve done, I just knew you’d break a sub 9:00 pace. I figured Holy Hill wouldn’t be as bad as you feared. 1:48 is a great time, even if you had to walk. I am so jealous. I’d be happy to break 2:00 but I am way older and slower than you. And I had to walk for part of my 1st run as well when my quads started cramping up. That’s the one thing I still have yet to master – training my legs to running for 2+ hours straight. Sounds like you smoked the course like I thought you would. How’re the legs feeling today? And the next question is: Will you do it again?

    I knew you had finished but was getting kinda worried when you hadn’t posted your results. Thought you might be in the hospital. Glad to see you conquer those 13.1!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      That makes me feel so much better knowing you had to walk part of your first race as well. In fact, many others on my race were walking way before I was. But still. Perhaps if I had paced myself a little better up the hills, I would have made it the whole way.
      My legs are feeling pretty good. My right leg is still a little sore, but no biggie. May lose a toenail too. :/
      Will I do it again? Well, I’m not sure. I hope to get my “not so sweet” version of the race posted today. Then we’ll talk.

       
  2. Rock Chef

    April 9, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Excellent stuff! Second up Holy Hill is one hell of an achievement. Hm, no that wasn’t intentional, but I will leave it in. And your finish time was great, especially after having to stop a couple of times.

    Sorry about the “still running” thing…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      I thought the “still running” was quite funny! No need to apologize! 🙂
      I’m proud of my Holy Hill achievement, but I think it may have done me in in the long run. More on that later…

       
      • Rock Chef

        April 9, 2013 at 1:39 pm

        Hm, hope it is not as bad as it sounds…

         
  3. Abby

    April 9, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    Well, I for one knew you would, of course, finish. With a decent time to show for it. Nicely done!
    I think one of the nice parts about doing a race is the way the runners support and encourage each other. Weather looked great too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2013 at 3:45 pm

      You’re right about the support from other runners. Seems like no matter what the length of the race, the runners are always encouraging. Even if you’re passing them up, they urge you on! 🙂
      We could not have asked for better weather. The forecast looked awful, but by race day, everything was perfect!

       
  4. territerri

    April 9, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    YOU DID IT! I knew you would, but it probably would have been a lot less stressful for you had you not had your knee issues so close to the big day. And 2nd in your age group for conquering that hill? IMPRESSIVE! So happy for you!

     
  5. shadowrun300

    April 10, 2013 at 12:32 am

    Aw thanks Terri! The knee caused a lot of stress beforehand, but during the race itself, it was not an issue at all. Instead, my quads were asking for special treatment. 😉

     
  6. meleah rebeccah

    April 11, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    Huzzah!! And good for you!!!

     
  7. shadowrun300

    April 12, 2013 at 10:28 am

    Aw! Thanks! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
