RSS

Stay For a While!

13 Apr

Spring’s having a great time Bobby Knockin’ us this year.

You know, it comes knockin’ on the door, then runs away giggling.  And just when I think it’s gone for good, it knocks again.  And my hopes soar that it’s finally here to stay.  So I open the door, and….

it’s gone again.

I don’t mean to complain, but this time last year I had my motorcycle out.  Remember?  And I had mowed the grass a few times, and our flowers were blooming.  In fact, by this time it felt like we were already in the summer season.

Okay.  Maybe I don’t want things to move that quickly, but IT’S THE MIDDLE OF APRIL!

And my Shadow is bored.

And I’ve forgotten what it feels like to have the force of the wind against me, the sunshine on my shoulders, and the vibration between… uh, wait… that’s just for me to know.

I’m so anxious for Spring to arrive, that I continue to answer the door every time it comes knockin’, even when it laughs in my face and darts the other way.

Because at some point, it’s actually gonna stay.  And when it does, me and my Shadow are headin’ out to play!

Me and My Shadow

 

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2013 in motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Stay For a While!

  1. lottajoy

    April 13, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Please stop answering the damn door.

    (and take my advice, run a hose from the exhaust to the outside and push that throttle on your bike into warp speed) Be sure it’s in neutral.

    my job here is finished.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 13, 2013 at 2:23 am

      Is that how you all keep Florida so warm? You coulda told me sooner!

       
  2. territerri

    April 13, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Yep. Sitting here looking out my living room window at the snow on the ground and the snow falling from the sky and I AM SICK OF IT! We keep getting teased too. I need to be outside, but I don’t want to be out there when it’s so dark and cold…. Ugh. Hope you get to ride your Shadow soon.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 14, 2013 at 2:49 am

      You’re the reason I feel bad about complaining. We don’t have it nearly as bad as you all do. It’s just not quite warm enough to ride.
      Surely your winter has to be over soon!

       
  3. Abby

    April 13, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    OH, I hear ya! I want mine out too! Motorcycle cops…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 14, 2013 at 2:52 am

      I can’t wait for your motorcycle cops either! Don’t see too many of them around here. Just the ones who have their speed gun pointed at ME on my trip into work. For some reason I don’t feel the same attraction to them…..

       
  4. agg79

    April 15, 2013 at 1:19 am

    Bobby Knockin’? That’s a new one on me. Will have to add it to my list of phrases along with “crap through a goose” and “busier than a one armed paper hanger with an itch”. I hear your angst. Shadow is itching to bust loose. You are sounding like you need some road time with all that horsepower between your legs. I hope that you are able to catch Spring before it ditches you at your doorstep and you can hold on. Keep polishing up the bike and you’ll be out on the roads before too long.

    Of course, I’ve got to note that, if you were down in here in Texas, you would have been already out on more than a few rides trying out some really good BBQ. Just saying. Hope that spring comes quickly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2013 at 1:59 am

      You want the truth? I had no idea it was called Bobby Knockin’. There’s actually lots of names for ringing the bell and running. I know, because I had to Google the name of the game. I just happened to pick this term. Seemed a little nicer than some of the other choices.
      Believe me. I WISH I was down in Texas, especially after seeing your pics from the weekend. Have I told you we’re flying into Austin in June? We’ll spend the day there then drive down to San Antonio to spend a few nights. We’ll be checking it out for “livability”. If we didn’t have the youngest two in tow, we could probably be talked into renting a few bikes. Either way, we will be checking out the BBQ joints for sure! Suggestions are welcome!

       
  5. Rock Chef

    April 15, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    Spring is showing its face here at the moment – not convinced it is gonna stay, though…
    Hope you get some biker weather soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      Thanks for the clip! That should get me through til we finally make it to 80 degrees. Anything less than that is too cold for me to ride in.
      Glad to hear you’re seeing signs of spring!

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 15, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    I read a previous comment where you said you’re flying to Austin in June! Oh my! That’s awesome! It would be so cool if we could ever meet in person, I am not in Austin but … it’s not too far from here… is it business related? 😀 … I hope spring stays this time… although I know I will be complaining soon because it will be “too hot” … right now the weather is beautiful… 80 degrees! Finally! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2013 at 1:21 pm

      80s is what I want! Anything less than that, I tend to get too cold while riding.
      Hubby and I are taking the youngest two kids on vacation to Texas. My daughter would really like to see The Alamo. How far are you from San Antonio?

       
  7. meleah rebeccah

    April 17, 2013 at 2:53 am

    I cannot wait for Spring to stick around either. I’m getting very tired of these cold and rainy days!

     

Leave a Reply

 
