RSS

Hope

17 Apr

And I thought my run ended badly.

I can’t even describe how saddened I am by the tragic events during Monday’s marathon.  My heart and soul go out to the people running, and the spectators cheering on their loved ones.  It’s hit very close to home, especially since I was participant in a similar race just a few days ago.

Runners tend to have a connection with other runners.  A kinship that develops just by being at the starting line together.  And sometimes, you feel that bond even when you’re not there at all.

That is why I have been so affected by it.

What gives me hope is that these tragic events tend to bring out the best in people, and there are far more good people than there are evil.  

And even better… I just read how how Sheri Piers, a professional marathoner, vowed to race in the Boston Marathon again, despite what happened.  “We cannot let this terrible tragedy taint this amazing international event or let whoever was behind this evil act win. That’s why I will run it again.”

I’m pretty sure the runners, and Boston itself, will not succumb to the terror of this disaster.

I’ve seen this next quote floating around FB and a few of your blog posts as well.  It’s so heartwarming that I wanted to post it here as well.

mr.-rogers

 

That’s why I have hope.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Hope

  1. meleah rebeccah

    April 17, 2013 at 2:50 am

    I watched the new about the Boston bombings totally horrified. And then I turned to my Facebook news-feed and saw a black-and-white photo of a smiling Mr. Rogers making the rounds, with the caption, “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.'” – And that brought me a great deal of comfort. Because from that second forward that’s all I looked for while glued to my television for the rest of the day watching the tragedy unfold.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2013 at 1:35 pm

      I’m sure since you’re up in that area that the news had a great effect on you. We’ve all seen how well you guys tend to overcome adversity by coming together and helping each other. I expect the same will happen this time around.

       
  2. agg79

    April 17, 2013 at 10:30 am

    ShadowRun, you’ve nailed my feelings EXACTLY. As a fellow runner, I cannot help but feel the shock and sadness over the tragedy. As more and more stories come out about the show up about injuries to both runners and spectators, I just keep thinking of the runs we both did recently and that strikes to close to home. You are right about the unspoken bond of runners. Everyone runs at their own pace, but we all share the road. All of my complaints I had about my little run pale in comparison to the the whole tragedy in Boston. My heart and prayers go out to the runners, families, spectators, and the rescue workers who were there on Monday.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2013 at 1:32 pm

      In every race I’ve run, there is so much encouragement from other runners. Sure it’s a competition, but it’s never mean spirited. I’ve passed people up who congratulate me and wish me luck. During the half-marathon when I had to stop and stretch, everyone who passed me urged me to keep going. I don’t know of any other individual sport with so much camaraderie. I feel blessed to be a ‘member’. So yeah, when something like this happens, it’s heartbreaking. I’m quite sure that it will only make us runners a little stronger and a little closer and give us one more reason to push ourselves. In fact, this may have been just what I needed to commit to running another half.

       
      • agg79

        April 18, 2013 at 1:50 am

        Well spoken. One of the postings I read summed it up succinctly: It’s the only sport in the world where if a competitor falls, the others around will pick him or her up. We all need encouragement at stages of life to strive on to hit the finish line.

         
  3. Rock Chef

    April 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    That is very true. To steal a line from the movie Starman – people are at their best when things are worst.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      I can’t help but feel good about how well people come together in times of tragedy. I’ve never seen Starman, but love the quote. I thought NYC’s posting of Martin Luther King’s quote was good too. “Darkness cannot drive out darkness. Only light can do that.”

       
  4. Abby

    April 17, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    Good ol’ Fred comes through again!
    It’s so haunting to think about the people who were there at what should have been a festive time. But the way the unhurt people scrambled to help those that were injured is so inspiring.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 18, 2013 at 1:44 am

      I think this is the first time I’ve ever quoted Fred. But he, and his mom, make a good point.
      And yes, seeing everyone jump in to help was very inspiring. Just goes to show there’s a lot of good people around.

       
  5. territerri

    April 18, 2013 at 1:43 am

    It was gut-wrenching to watch the news and see the footage played over and over again. I broke down crying while watching an interview with an older gentleman. He was knocked down by the blast near the finish line said how he was so very lucky. His voice broke as he was speaking and I just started crying. It didn’t occur to me how much more intensely this would affect those of you who are fellow runners and racers. I am just so encouraged to see how much good and love always comes out of such tragedies.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 18, 2013 at 1:49 am

      I missed that gentleman’s interview, but I saw him get knocked over by the blast. It’s incredible that he wasn’t injured. I also find it sad that he ran so far, yet wasn’t able to cross the line. But you’re right – so much good comes after these tragedies. Like Abby said, it’s really inspiring.

       
      • territerri

        April 18, 2013 at 1:54 am

        I’m not sure where I heard it, but I guess that gentleman got up and finished the race. I hope that’s true!

         

Leave a Reply

 
