RSS

Accomplished

19 Apr

It didn’t take me long to get back to running after my race debacle.  Two days lying prone on the couch and a third day upright on the couch was enough non-action for me.  I was back at it in no time. 

Today, I finally broke out the new socks I splurged on while shopping for my race outfit.  As I bent down to grab my toes for a stretch, I saw this:

Can you see the little L and R?

Can you see the little L and R?

I immediately felt a sense of relief that I actually had them on the right feet.  I wondered to myself if I would have switched them if they weren’t. And of course I would have.

With my shoes and socks on the right feet, I set out for a run.  About two miles into it, I heard the sound of  a motorcycle in my ears.  It took me a minute to realize I was getting a call.  I usually have my phone on silent since it’s a major “no-no” at work, and I had forgotten that I chose the motorcycle rev for my ringtone.  Since I had my earphones in, I was able to hear the ring.  When I saw it was from the hotel, I cringed.  There was only one reason for them to be calling at 6:15 AM and that would be because someone called off.  I answered the phone anyway.

I managed to stall while waiting for a train to pass.  My mind raced to come up with a viable reason for not coming in.  I didn’t think “but I was gonna bake all day!” would go over well.  Luckily, I remembered my hubby’s car was in the shop so he had asked if he could use the Mustang for a short business trip today.  Booyah!

“I have no way to get to work today.  Is there anyone else you can call?”  I listened as he discussed some of other possibilities on how they could cover the shift, and then I continued on my run.  I felt a little guilty, of course, but I’ve had 3-4 days in a row of 10 to 12 hour shifts, and I was ready for a weekend.  Plus I really did want to bake today.

I was asked again to make cupcakes for a co-workers birthday.  I agreed, but made it well known that I was going to start charging a little more.  Deep down I didn’t feel so confident.  If I  charge too much,  then I feel like they have to be really good.  And what if this one time they don’t like them?  Oh the pressure.

PLUS, she wanted strawberry cakes.  I don’t know if you remember, but  previous strawberry cakes have ended up in the trash.  More than once.   I searched for a recipe I didn’t think I could mess up, and then I got to work.

I didn’t burn them.  Yay.  They’re a tad moist – from the fresh strawberries I’m sure…. and the icing tastes phenomenal, if I do say so myself.   Mario, the strawberry expert , asked for a second one, so they are edible.  I guess I’m okay taking money for them. 

Since I had the oven on, I knocked a few more pins off my boards.  And since I know Agg likes to see pictures, here you go!

So, I have accomplished everything I wanted this ‘weekend’.  Running, baking, a bit of cleaning, and an old folk’s walk with my hubby on a breezy, sunny, 80 degree afternoon!  (Don’t be too jealous Terri and Abby,  it’s not here to stay….)

NOW, I am ready to go back to work.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2013 in Baking, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Accomplished

  1. agg79

    April 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Them are some mighty fancy socks if they are specifically designed for each foot. Either that or the sock maker wasn’t sure the wearer could put them on correctly. I guess it’s a good thing you can tell your left from your right.

    Pretty handy excuse for not going in. You’ve earned a break and some “me” time. And you just love to tease, don’t you? Some really tasty treats there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 19, 2013 at 6:00 pm

      If there’s a benefit of L and R socks, I’m not sure what it is. I DO know that I will NEVER be able to just put them on anymore. I’ll always have to check and make sure they’re on the right feet. Great. One more thing to add to my OCD list…
      The treats weren’t really photo worthy, but I posted them just for you.

       
  2. Abby

    April 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Specific Left and Right socks? Okay, now I’m curious, do they make a difference? Or is that to help you not get lost on those long runs?

    Good job saying “no”. As I was reading this, I think I actually said “send it to voicemail, SEND IT TO VOICEMAIL!” out loud.

    The baked offerings look yummy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm

      I’ll never be able to tell you if it makes a difference, because I will never be able to wear them on the wrong feet! lol
      It was SO hard not to give in and go into work. It’s not like we don’t have any other cars besides mine and hubby’s. But the thought of running home (literally), showering and showing up 3 hours later seemed like a waste of time. By that time my shift would be almost over. So I hem-hawed my way out of it. And yes! Next time voicemail! What was I thinking?

       
  3. territerri

    April 20, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Jealous? What? ME? No way! I KNOW you wish you had our snow… and the rain and snow that’s promised to come over the weekend. You wish you were here! 😉

    Okay, yes. I’m jealous. But the way I figure it, I’m just going to be overcome with joy by the time warm weather finally makes its way here.

    So glad to hear you got back to running and had a day to do the baking you love to do so much. Your cupcakes and breads look scrumptious! Don’t you dare feel the least bit guilty about charging more.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 20, 2013 at 2:01 am

      Oh my gosh! You’re getting MORE snow? We just got a bunch of rain dumped on us, followed by a bunch of wind, but at least that’s more “spring-y” than snow! You SHOULD be jealous! lol
      And I DO feel guilty about charging more, but that’s my nature. A part of me is hoping they’ll quit asking, since it’s much different baking because I HAVE to, than baking because I WANT to. But if the cost doesn’t deter them, at least I’m making a few extra bucks. 🙂

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    April 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    I am super glad you did NOT go into work and that you were able to actually enjoy your weekend. Good for you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 24, 2013 at 2:21 am

      I’m proud of myself for just saying NO! As you know, that’s hard to do! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
