RSS

The Champ

23 Apr

I got in a fight with the lawn today.

Grass Wars

Grass Wars 2

Grass Wars 3

If you think I’m messed up, you should see the clumps I gave the other guy.

Lumpy

This all started because nobody had time to go out and mow it in between all the rains. So the grass took full advantage of the situation and grew and grew and grew.

Today, I decided to put an end to it all.  Early this morning, before the rains came, I took out my weapons. Knowing full well the grass would fight back by clogging up the mower, I had my hubby tie back the chute.

Powered with my mower, the gas can, and a stick, I stepped into the ring. 

I took most of my punches right away.  The grass was thick and slightly damp and clogged up the mower every few feet or so.  I managed to fight it off with my stick, pick myself up, and keep going.

As the fight went on, the grass began to weaken.  It no longer clumped up near the blades.  Instead, it fought back by flying out of the tied-back chute pummeling me in the face, the legs, the back…. no part of me was safe.

I didn’t back down, though.  Even when it began raining.  Even when the mower sputtered and ran out of gas.  I was determined to go at it til the very end.

As I cut the last blade off, I triumphantly pushed the the overworked mower through the drizzle and back to it’s resting place.

The After Shot

No sooner had I plopped down in my own resting place, did the rain begin to pour.   

With some clean clothes, dry socks and a hot cup of coffee, I celebrated my victory.

Of course the rain today will just cause another fight in the future, but for right now…

I am the Champ!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Humor

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “The Champ

  1. territerri

    April 23, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    You are a brave woman! But I guess someone had to do it, right? Lawn mowing usually falls on the men folk in our house, but I’ll do it, only when the weather conditions are to my liking. (Sunny, warm and no rain!)

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 24, 2013 at 12:34 am

      Our lawn usually falls to me, and I don’t mind at all. But in the springtime it’s hard for me to keep up since I’m only off a few days and they usually don’t coincide with non-rainy days. And if the kids don’t help out, it gets so tall that it’s tough to get through. (In their defense, we have three other lawns to take care of too).
      So yeah, I had to do it, and I had to do it today or it would have been WAY worse. Now I’m just hoping the strong winds from this storm will blow the clumps around so I don’t have to rake. :/

       
  2. Abby

    April 24, 2013 at 1:20 am

    Wow, that lawn has Muscle! A worthy opponent from the pics.
    Ours isn’t doing much yet, just barely waking up, but it’s been moisture loading lately.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 24, 2013 at 1:28 am

      It put up a big fight for sure… but I’m not defeated easily.
      I have a feeling once your snow finally subsides, your grass is going to thrive. Start training now! Don’t let it beat you!

       
  3. agg79

    April 24, 2013 at 2:23 am

    You da king of the lawn! Way to show the yard who was boss! Neither rain, nor sleet, nor cold shall stay your yard duties. I was wondering if you were trying to mow the yard in between snow storms. Glad to see your yard has sprung back from all that wet and cold weather with a vengeance. Impressive job. I’m impressed that you took it upon yourself to do the yard without help from the menfolk. Of course, I’ve got to admit, I’m a bit possessive of my Honda and won’t let just ANYBODY handle her. Given the abuse your mower took, I’d recommend one with mulch and power drive.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 24, 2013 at 2:40 am

      I actually like mowing the lawn, and with three other lawns to take care of, the menfolk have plenty to keep them busy. So I don’t mind, unless the lawn puts up a fight.
      We have another mower with mulch and power drive, but I prefer the Honda. I find it easier to maneuver, and with our thick lawn, the mulcher on the other mower doesn’t help much. Probably ’cause it’s not a Honda.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    April 25, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Mowing lawns…

    Haven’t had a lawn to speak of in years and when we did it was Mrs RC’s job to cut it. She likes gardening. However, I did used to have to cut my dad’s lawn, which was never ending….

    You seem to have had fun with yours, though!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2013 at 2:25 pm

      I like a good challenge, so I suppose it WAS fun. I much prefer to mow on a non-windy, non-rainy, day when the grass isn’t as tall as the wheat field behind us.
      As much as I love it, I have a feeling if/when we move, we’ll look for a place with a much smaller lawn and somebody who will mow it for us.

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    April 25, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    You ARE the champion INDEED!

     
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    You sure defeated your rival! 🙂 Great job! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 26, 2013 at 4:23 am

      It was tough, but I’m tougher!
      lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
