RSS

Bookie

26 Apr

When I was in fourth grade, Mrs. Richardson would read to us often.  She’d gather us on the floor while she sat on a chair in front of us.  She’d pull out the bookmark, place it further back in the book, curl the pages back and read to us while sipping coffee.

I don’t remember any of the books, but I do remember how comforting it was to listen to a story and watch her turn and fold the pages.  The books were obviously well loved, as the pages and binding were very pliable, somewhat yellowed, and spattered with coffee stains.  It’s an image and feeling that remains vivid in my mind today. 

I’d always seen my mom reading, but there was something about the way Mrs. Richardson held and manipulated the books that I found soothing.  So when I graduated from thin story books to paper back novels, I would carefully make a bookmark and read my books just the way she did.

I’ve read millions of books since then.  In my younger days I enjoyed the Encyclopedia Brown series, the Nancy Drew, Beverly Cleary, and Judy Blume series.  As a young adult my favorites were the Harlequin romance novels (admitting that is difficult for me), anything by Danielle Steele (hard to admit also) and the Jane M. Auel “Clan of the Cave Bear” series (much more sophisticated.)  Now I prefer James Grisham, Brad Thor, David Baldacci, Dana Joy Wyzard, and SO much more.

When the kids were little, taking care of them got in the way of my book reading, so I began waking very early to be able to fit in a run and then settle down with some coffee and breakfast and a good book.  I treasured that time of day and would look forward to the peace and quiet and comfort it brought.

Breakfast time is still my favorite time to read, although now, I only get to eat breakfast at home a few days a week.  I’ve learned to treasure it even more.  I gather my food and coffee, and prep my book for handless reading.  I remove my bookmark, enjoying the feel and scent of the book, and open it wide to stretch the binding so it will lay flat. Then I escape to another world.  I stretch out my meal as long as I can, and always feel a sense of sadness when I have to replace the bookmark and get on with my day.

When Lotta Joy mentioned that she was getting a Kindle, I began questioning my opinion of them.  Sure, they’re easy to tote around and fun to play with, but would it bring the same comfort to me that a book does?  Right now, I have my doubts.  But I’m interested in how she feels about hers.  If she likes it, I may have to reconsider.

At the very least, it’ll cut down the size of my pile.

filing

   

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Bookie

  1. Rock Chef

    April 26, 2013 at 9:09 am

    My wife has a Kindle and loves it – the only reason I did not follow here and get one of my own is that I love to read in the bath…

     
  2. shadowrun300

    April 26, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure a Kindle and bath water shouldn’t mix. Similar to the time my daughter was texting her friends in the shower…. not a great idea.
    I don’t have the bath excuse. I just like the feel of a book. Despite my love of my computer and my phone, I’m till a bit old fashioned when it comes to books. But then again… I don’t miss my 8-tracks, my records, my cassettes, or my cd’s. Maybe I oughta give it a try.

     
  3. Rock Chef

    April 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    If you are clever it will seen pay for itself – there are so many free books out there. Just before my wife got her Kindle I payed £10 for a book that is now free to her!

     
  4. Abby

    April 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Texting in the shower… 😀
    I like the “idea” of the kindle and have played with floor models, but I haven’t felt a need to get my own. I like the feel of turning pages and marking my progress. I know I’d use a kindle if someone gave me one though!
    Your post reminds me of reading times from early school days. Good times!
    You’ve got quite a broad taste in authors, many of my faves too. Years ago, I used to frequent a discussion board for Jane Auel’s books. Magnum is really into Brad Thor these days.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 27, 2013 at 2:27 am

      Yes. Texting in the shower. It cost her a month of chores to pay for the new phone.
      If someone GAVE me one, then I would use it too. But I’m not sure I would give up reading book books.
      I loved Jane Auel’s books – one of the few I’ve read a couple of times. And I just recently got into Brad Thor. Reading one now in fact. He and David Baldacci are quickly becoming favorites of mine.
      I like all you blog authors too. 😉

       
  5. territerri

    April 26, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    As a kid, I read the same books as you. I LOVED Encyclopedia Brown, the Judy Blume books, Beverly Cleary, the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle series… As an adult, I’ve read almost every Jodi Picoult book and love historical fiction.

    I didn’t want an e-reader, but my hubby bought me a Nook Color as a gift. I didn’t want to love it, but I do. And I still read “real” books too. The Nook is nice for traveling… When I go on vacation for a few days or a week and know I’m going to read so much more than I normally do, I can carry several books without the bulk of several books. And I joined a site called Book Bub. I get daily notices for free and cheap e-books. So I totally don’t regret getting the Nook.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 27, 2013 at 2:32 am

      I was SO disappointed when I realized I had read every last Encyclopedia Brown book. And I’d forgotten about Mrs. Piggle Wiggle. 🙂
      I’ve read a few Jodi Picoult books too and have loved them. So many great authors out there. That’s probably one of the best advantages of having a Nook or Kindle. Easier access to some of the lesser known authors.

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    April 29, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Reading an ACTUAL book is the absolute best.

    And I love how you wrote this part:

    “I remove my bookmark, enjoying the feel and scent of the book, and open it wide to stretch the binding so it will lay flat. Then I escape to another world. I stretch out my meal as long as I can, and always feel a sense of sadness when I have to replace the bookmark and get on with my day.”

    EXACTLY!!!!!!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2013 at 1:53 am

      Speaking of books, I hope yours is coming along! I’m looking forward to reading it one of these mornings!

       

Leave a Reply

 
