RSS

All in a Day’s Work

29 Apr

My first task at work today was to get the naked guy in the lobby up to his room.  He was talking to the night auditor (the truthful one) and our security guard.

I was afraid to round the corner of the desk.  Who wants to see a naked guy at 6 AM?  Well, maybe in my younger years, but not NOW and NOT in the lobby of my hotel!

I was relieved that “naked” meant he was wearing only boxers.  I offered my suggestions on what to do, and let them know that if we weren’t able to find his room soon, we’d have to call the police.  It didn’t matter how sorry we felt for the guy, he couldn’t keep standing at the desk as families passed by for breakfast.

We finally allowed security to bring him up to the room he said he was in, with the knowledge that if he could identify his clothes he could stay.  Luckily someone was actually in the room, but had failed to answer the multiple phone calls.  And this equally drunk guy recognized the naked guy and verified he was a guest in his room.

Whew.  Now I could get on with my normal shift checklist.

And I did.  For about 15 minutes.  Then room 934 called down.

“Ummm… there’s a drunk guy passed out on the floor outside our room…..”

Crap.  Security had just left.  Night audit was gone.  My houseperson had called in sick, and no managers were in yet.

I ran over to breakfast and begged Baron, the supervisor of that department, to go up, wake him, check for ID and give me a call.

It took about 20 minutes, but Baron finally came down with an inebriated, but fully clothed thank goodness, young adult.  This guy had his wallet and ID on him, but he was not registered to a room.  He finally came up with a name of someone who was registered. That guest was in 936.  Close enough.

I called 936.  No answer.  I called again immediately and was greeted with a croaky hello.  I asked him if he knew this guy.  He did, and declared it okay to bring him up to his room.  I’m not sure if he really was supposed to stay with them, but if the registered guest allows it, I’m not arguing.  It was now 7AM, and I had yet to do anything productive.

Throughout the morning I had a few complaints of drunk adults running through the hall, banging on doors, and being obnoxiously loud til the wee hours of the morning.  Each time, we had sent security up, but with so many in the wedding party, and having them scattered throughout the hotel, it was hard to keep up.

Then I was told there was a torn up potted plant in the elevator. (so that’s where it went….) And I learned that the hotel next door had most of its bushes chopped down.  I’m guessing it was our imbeciles, I mean guests, who’d gotten a hold of some shears.

drunk crossing

By 7:30 AM, it appeared we had finally put the last of the partiers to bed.  NOW, I could get on with my work. And boy did I have tons of it.

Luckily, I had a few other desk agents with me by then, but with almost 400 people checking out, and many trying to check in early, we were extremely busy.

I felt uneasy leaving an hour early, since there was still some unfinished business, but god forbid I should get overtime…… That extra 10 bucks might break ’em.

So I left a detailed note of what the ‘left behind’ agents should do, and I clocked out with 2 minutes to spare.

My stress headache immediately disappeared as soon as I sat in my car and convinced myself that they would be okay.  Nothing I could do now anyway.

I drove my weary self halfway home.  I had to meet Chip and Mario for some much needed shopping.  A new phone for Chip and a dance dress for Mario.

The phone was a success, but after 2 hours of dress shopping, Mario and I called it quits and agreed to try again in a few days.

I drove us both the rest of the way home.

And now, I sit on the couch with a great feeling of accomplishment.

My work this day is done.  But in a few short hours, I’ll be back at it again.

 

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “All in a Day’s Work

  1. Rock Chef

    April 29, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    What a morning! I must say that I would have been tempted to write something on the forehead of the 2nd drunk…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2013 at 1:39 am

      The guests who found him were so concerned, they stayed with him til we got there. And he really was a sweet guy. At least he wasn’t banging on their door trying to get in like some of the other partiers. THOSE guys would have made ME tempted to write on them.

       
  2. Abby

    April 29, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    So I’m sitting here wondering what drunken holiday this weekend was that I am unaware of? Or is this just “another day at the office” for you?

    Reminds me of a shift in my hotel days. I was actually quite young and would have appreciated a naked man, but not one who was about 75 years old…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2013 at 1:47 am

      Nope. No holiday weekend. Just ONE wedding party who had a REALLY good time. I found out today, they were swinging a drunk girl around by her arms and legs and knocked a non-wedding girl on crutches down.
      We expect and plan for this stuff over Mardi Gras. But a Saturday in April? Not so much.
      EWWW… you saw a 75 year old naked guy? As a young adult? Have you ever been able to erase that image from your mind?

       
      • Abby

        April 30, 2013 at 4:01 pm

        Drunk girl swinging? The next sports spectacle?
        As for the old naked guy (and his old naked wife), what has been seen cannot be unseen, unfortunately.

         
  3. meleah rebeccah

    April 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    While I am so sorry YOU are the one that had to deal with that mess – I am seriously laughing my ass off at the naked guy at the front desk and passed out drunk guy in the hallway. And if I had seen either of those guys with my own eyes, I would have peed in my pants!

    Classic.

    Some drunk people are really really funny.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2013 at 1:50 am

      I see quite a few drunk people over the weekends. Most of them are clothed thank goodness. But I usually get a kick out of watching them and talking with them. Unless they are obnoxious of course.
      And they always make for a great story!

       
  4. lottajoy

    April 30, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Your Inn makes the Motel 6 sound peaceful and lovely. Your days make mine, even with an intestinal blockage, sound like a walk in the park.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 1, 2013 at 2:12 am

      We pride ourselves on being a top-rated hotel in downtown St. Louis. I’d like to THINK we’re better than a Motel 6, but sometimes our guests make us look like one.
      And I don’t think my worst day at work would make an intestinal blockage seem like a walk in the park. At least with my job, it ends after 8 hours! 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    May 1, 2013 at 1:40 am

    Your day sounds utterly exhausting! And I can’t believe how patient you are with the drunk guests (and guests of guests!) Well, maybe there’s something to be said for there never being a dull moment!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 1, 2013 at 2:28 am

      That particular day WAS exhausting. And not much fun because we were busy on top of it all.
      I am extremely patient at the hotel. Can’t really figure out the how’s and why’s of that, because if you were to ask my family if I was patient, they would laugh out loud.
      Luckily, we rarely have those drunken instances. Mardi Gras and New Year’s we can expect that kind of crowd, but most times we have well-behaved guests. 🙂

       
  6. agg79

    May 1, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Life is definitely interesting on your shift. Especially having to deal with all those drunk and nekid people wandering the halls. I bet the only thing that would have made it more enjoyable was to have the fire alarm go off as well. At least you survived it with your sanity and humor intact. With all of those shenanigans on one shirt, I imagine there are other stories/sites you could share that make these seem tame.

     

Leave a Reply

 
