RSS

Spring, Sprang, Sprung

02 May

First of all, I’m not hot.

I’m NOT.

I’m just, well…

okay… I’m hot.

But I’m NOT complaining!

The last couple of days have been sunny and warm with a nice breeze to keep it from getting too hot.  But because the weather was so nice, I did every possible physical activity I could think of outside.  That’s why I’m hot.

The most physical activity was harvesting my lawn again.  The mowing itself took a few hours, and then I had to rake all the clippings and clumps.  By the time I was done, my yard looked like a hay field scattered with bales of hay.  

This is just a FEW.

And these are just a FEW of the bales.

My hands were blistered.  My arms were sore.  And I was 10 bucks in the hole.  But it was well worth it to have Amp bag up those bales and dump them in our mulch pile so that I……

could do this!

photo (2) My hubby was able to get some time away from taking care of his mom to enable us to go out for our first ride of the season. Absolutely gorgeous riding weather, and just as thrilling as I remembered!

And did you notice the shiny ‘Stang?  It got its first real bath of the season this weekend too!  Much needed since it only gets sponge baths throughout the winter.

And of course I took full advantage of the cool morning to run.  And run I did.

I hadn’t meant to run so far.   

I was just going to run my 6 mile route through the country.  I haven’t run that route for a while, because it’s been so dark in the morning and I’m scared of coyotes, but today, since it was light at 6 AM already, I made a spur of the moment decision to go that way.

The first thing I noticed was that there were no cars speeding past me.  Quite often, people will use the country roads as a short cut and will barrel down the road at high speeds.  But this morning, nobody was on the roads.

With only 2 miles to go, I found out why.

Flooded road

I felt a moment of despair when I realized I was going to have to turn around and run all the way back. My 6 mile run was going to turn into almost 8 miles.  And worse yet, I had asked the kids not to leave for school til I got back, so I was feeling a little pressure to get home. I picked up the pace and made it home with minutes to spare.  (And a new PR pace to boot!)

With tired muscles, blistered hands, and sun-kissed shoulders, I have succeeded in making my weekend a terrific one.  I’m headed back to work just in time for the rains to come.

So Abby, thanks for your Spring.  It’s been exhausting, but I have enjoyed every minute of it!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Spring, Sprang, Sprung

  1. territerri

    May 2, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    YOU have Abby’s spring? Okay, my turn now. Send it my way, please?

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend. I can’t blame you for doing everything possible outside. And a ride on the motorcycle too! Must have felt amazing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 3, 2013 at 3:17 am

      Well, YES, I took it! I couldn’t help it! I was off… I was itchin’ for a motorcycle ride… I needed to mow the lawn again… and I thought she was done with it!
      I’ve already sent it your way though. I think. At least that’s where I told it to go. You guys can fight over it until my next day off. Then I want it back.

       
  2. Abby

    May 3, 2013 at 1:27 am

    Uh. Yeah. YOU’RE WELCOME! Go ‘head and send it to Terri. At this point, I’m tired of waiting for the spring phone to ring. I’ll just live vicariously through you.

    And that’s quite a lawn. You should get some pet horses or goats or some other herbivore. They even come with built in fertilizer dispensers.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 3, 2013 at 3:27 am

      I’m not sure where it went, but I know it’s not here anymore. Yesterday I was hot. Today my toes are numb! But you know how that feels…..
      And goats! Of course! What a great idea! Sadly, they would fit right in. I’m not sure my neighbors would think anything wrong with a few goats milling about my yard. And they would certainly free up some more motorcycle time!

       
  3. agg79

    May 3, 2013 at 10:21 am

    At least you got a brief taste of spring. Hopefully, it will finally stick around and quit bobby knocking you. Nice to see your Shadow again. Looks like a great day for a ride. Just don’t forget the sunscreen.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 3, 2013 at 1:57 pm

      It’s amazing how it can be almost 90 degrees one day, and the next day it’s 50 degrees. But at least we’re not getting snow.
      It felt so good to get on the motorcycle again! We had tried earlier but my battery was dead. I was SO bummed. It only took a few hours to charge it though, so we were able to go out later that day. And I wore long sleeves, so my back and shoulders were safe from the sun! At least this time around….

       
  4. lottajoy

    May 4, 2013 at 3:24 am

    You are so darn cute on that bike. I remember being young, thin, and cute. I also remember my first bike. . . . I also remember how fast that brick wall jumped in front of me when I missed a curve. “Lay down and slide, Dana. Lay down and slide!” Which I did. I also remember walking home. But still, I was still young, thin, and cute. What I DON’T remember, is what happened to the bike.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 4, 2013 at 5:09 am

      Yikes! I’m glad you were able to walk home! That kind of spill could take the cuteness out of anybody! You’re lucky to have kept yours. (yes, you are STILL cute.)
      I’ll use your lesson to remind myself not to miss a curve….

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    May 11, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    What a fabulous weekend!!!!

     
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 31, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    WOW! You’ve been so active! (when aren’t you though?) those are all great pictures! You have a beautiful piece of land there! Quite a workout getting the lawn done! It’s funny when “running late” ends up working in your favor… you find out that you could actually run much faster than you thought … lol!

     

Leave a Reply

 
