RSS

Tid Bits

06 May

Wow.  Has it really been 4 days since my last post?  Time just flies when you’re…. working.

I’m not complaining. Really, I’m not. I still like my job, but it’s a tiring one.  The good news is, it has rained ALL day, EVERY day for the past FOUR days, and I haven’t minded ONE BIT!  I feel bad for our guests, but I have to be stuck inside anyway, so it can rain all it wants.  I have Tuesday off this week, and the sun is expected to be out by then.  Hooray for me!

Hubby, on the other hand, can’t find much to be happy about.  His mom’s health is declining rapidly, yet she’s still holding on.  She has needed round the clock care for the past 3 weeks, and hubby has taken most of it on himself.

Right before she got really sick, she asked him to not put her in a nursing home.  He promised her he wouldn’t, and he’s holding true to his word.

The hospice nurse comes regularly, and his two siblings will relieve him for a few hours at a time, but for the most part, he is her caregiver, spending the day and night by her side.  And she has grown so attached to him, that when he leaves, she’ll ask over and over again where he is.  She has reverted back to being a child, in ALL ways, which requires an extreme amount of patience on his part.  He looks forward to her naps, and tries to fit some time in for himself and his work when she does.

I’m really beginning to miss him around here, but I find what he’s doing incredibly admirable.  She has always been very unselfish and giving towards others, and he’s making sure it’s her turn to be taken care of now.

Not only do I miss him, but it’s obvious the pets do too.  Chancie mopes around and is constantly asking to go out and then come back in.  She’s not sure what to do now that she can’t spend her days laying at his feet.

The cat has taken to begging me for his daily rubbing.   ME.  I don’t do daily rubbings.  But he forces himself in front of me while I’m trying to brush my teeth, purring loudly to convince me to scratch behind his ears.  If I push him aside, he pulls out the bigger guns – a sweet face, a seductive purr, and a come hither wave with his paws.

I end up feeling sorry for him and will give him a very productive, 30-second rub down.  After all, he’s grown quite used to Hubby petting him continuously while working on his computer.  AND, he’s had a rough go with something that’s causing his nose to be stuffy.  He sniffs and sneezes and sparkles when he breathes.  Picture the sound (picture the sound??) a sparkler makes, and that’s how he sounds when he breathes.

It doesn’t seem to bother him too much.  He still has his normal appetite, but his drinking has increased dramatically!  I can’t keep him out of my sink!

My faucet has a very slow leak, so he’ll sit under that when ever he can, to play with the drips and then drink them up.  It used to be quite funny. Now, it drives me crazy.

But yet, I remain patient.  Heck, if my hubby can do what he’s doing, what’s a little fur ball in my sink?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Tid Bits

  1. agg79

    May 6, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I am very sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. Taking care of the parents can be a full time job in itself. We have the same thing going on down here with my in-laws except that both are not doing well. They finally moved FIL to nursing home for better/full time care on Friday. At this point, I don’t think he notices the difference. MIL is doing better (if you can call it that) in that she has more stamina, still understands things, but she still requires constant care. Between the two daughters and two in home assistants, she is getting lots of attention.

    Too bad that it is raining, but look on the bright side, at least it is not snowing…

    Funny sink cat. Stuffy nose? Dog allergies, perhaps?

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 6, 2013 at 12:53 pm

      I think my MIL wouldn’t know at this point that she’s in a nursing home either. Her mind is going quickly too. But at this point, we plan to keep her at home. Sounds like you know how draining this can be. I’m not involved in her care much, but I’ve taking over the poking and prodding of the kids to keep them going in the right direction (up and out of bed….), and I’m trying to keep the housework up so he doesn’t have to do anything at home when he does get a break.
      At least it’s not snowing…. so true! But my grass is a wheat field again! :/
      I keep telling the cat he’s allergic to himself. I’m thinking it may be his food. The stuffiness seemed to coincide with some new food that I got him, so I went back to the old stuff. That hasn’t helped at all. When that bag is gone, I’ll try the food we originally were buying for him years ago when we first adopted him. Beyond that, I don’t know what to try. We love him, *cough*, but don’t plan on spending the money to figure out the cause of his stuffiness. Especially when he seems to feel fine otherwise.
      Best of wishes to your MIL and FIL and the two of you!

       
  2. territerri

    May 6, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    I’m so sorry about your mother-in-law. How heartbreaking it must be to watch the decline in her health. Your hubby has earned himself a place in heaven for the loving care he has shown his parents. And you too… for covering all the slack so that your hubby can be there for his mom when she needs him the most.

    Does the cat have a name or is it just “the cat?” He sure is cute, but I’m sure it doesn’t seem so when you’re trying to brush your teeth and he’s busy satisfying his thirst.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 7, 2013 at 1:04 pm

      It’s tough to explain the emotions he’s feeling. It’s sad, yes, to watch her fade away. But they’ve had a lot of fun joking around. She’s been a good sport, laughing about her loss of memory. They joke about it quite a bit. Most recently though, she’s become delusional. She tells lots of stories that start out on one topic, but switch halfway through to another topic – and usually they are based on something she hears on TV. He laughs inwardly, because it IS kinda funny… but then again, it’s pretty sad. Yesterday was a tough day for her. Hubby thinks her kidneys are shutting down, so it’s probably just a matter of days now. He’s prepared for her to go, and I’m pretty sure SHE’s ready to go. She talks about seeing Fred again. So a lot of different emotions are being felt by all.
      Anyway… our cat is named Tiger. My hubby calls him Roger. I call him CAT! (in a loving way of course.) He’s pretty funny – a little delusional himself. He’ll zip around the house like something’s after him – and he’ll crouch and pounce on things that are only there in his imagination. He’ll beg you to pet him one minute, and then will attack your hand the next. He cracks us up a lot.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    May 7, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    I think it is great that you are supportive of your husband doing what he needs to do. In the long run it is the best thing for everyone.

    Poor CAT! I think you can be sure that his allegence will switch back when your husband returns…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 8, 2013 at 2:21 am

      Yes… I am very supportive of what he’s doing. He feels the need to do this, and I will do everything I can to make it easier for him. Including petting the CAT! (But honestly, do I have to let him sleep on my pillow during the night? I wake up to him sneezing on me or licking my face. ugh.)

       
      • Rock Chef

        May 8, 2013 at 10:30 am

        Hm, I think that having the CAT! you your pillow is going a bit far – you will become a Mad Cat Lady if you keep it up 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        May 8, 2013 at 10:44 am

        I may be mad, but I’m not a cat lady. It’s his idea to sleep on my pillow. He’s a Mad Human Lady.

         
  4. Abby

    May 7, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Sorry about your Mom-in-law. It’s sad about her talking about seeing Fred again. I’m sure it’s draining on all of you. My parents are getting up there and getting more and more frail, but still live at home. I know they would be miserable in a nursing home. My dad says that taking care of each other gives them purpose, in a nursing home, they wouldn’t have one.

    Your cat is quite entertaining in that sink! Our other cat used to like to drink water in the shower right after the showerer had gotten out. What was up with that?? I hope Tiger/Roger/Cat is over his sparkly sniffles soon!

    Happy Tuesday!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 8, 2013 at 2:25 am

      Tiger drinks water in the shower also, if I refuse to let him in my sink. His water bowl is always full – not sure why he won’t drink out of that!
      I hope your mom and dad will be able to take care of each other for many more years. I hope the same for my mom and dad… although they don’t live together, and haven’t for years, but… well, you get the idea. I’m not sure I could be as unselfish as my hubby has been.

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    May 11, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    That’s how it was with us when my grandfather, Poppa Sye, fell ill. We vowed NOT to send him away either – and we didn’t – we took turns caring for him HERE – in our house – until he passed. But it’s exhausting – emotionally and physically. I totally feel for your husband.

    PS: I am hysterical laughing at your cat in the sink!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 12, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      It is exhausting! But I think in the long run it pays off. And since my husband’s job offers so much flexibility, he took it upon himself to care for her – with his siblings helping out when they could.
      The cat IS cute, but enough already! lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
