RSS

Next Time I’ll Just Work It

10 May

I think he was doing me a favor.  My scheduler that is.  He kindly gave me Mother’s Day off since I’ve had to work it the last few years. Unfortunately, my other day off was Tuesday.  Yesterday. Two days ago.  (It took me so long to finish this post, that it’s now Thursday night…. sigh.)

When you work 5 days in a row, then get one day off, then go back to work for another 4 days, it’s difficult to really be off on your off day.  Instead, you feel like you have to get everything done on the one day that you can.

And that’s what yesterday was like for me.  Worse yet, only one of the things I did was actually completed in full.  Everything else I did still needs to be done.  So the day was neither restful nor productive.

My cupcakes are frostingless.  My cookies are unbaked.  The laundry is still in the dryer.  And my daughter’s dance dress has yet to be found.  The one thing I did do was mow the lawn.  And if you want to know how that went, just look back.  Same story different day.

While sore and exhausted from the lawn work,  I baked the cupcakes, and I started the cookie dough, and I washed the laundry, and I shopped for hours with my daughter.  But nothing was completed.

No big deal right? I get off at 2pm Wednesday, so I can do it all then.  I can drive all the way home, pick Mario up from school, drag her back to the stores (which ones, I don’t know.  We hit every single one yesterday) And try to fit in some grocery shopping and her high school orientation,

So that’s what I did.  What I didn’t realize was that I was training a new girl at work.  I thought she was being trained by my co-worker, but when I got there, there was the trainee…. waiting for ME.  So all the work I did not complete on Monday, that I was expecting to complete on Wednesday did not get done once again.  By the end of the day I was feeling completely overwhelmed.  Most of my stress is due to the fact that I have to clock out at the end of my shift to avoid overtime.  A big part of me wanted to continue to work off the clock just to finish something.

Instead, I drove with a stress-induced sickened stomach 50 miles home, picked up Mario from school, then drove 40 miles back to the only shopping area around.  This would be our last chance to find the perfect dress for her dance on Friday, and we only had 2 hours to do it.  We tried two new stores that we missed the first time around.   Nothing. With 45 minutes left on the clock, we decided to make one last trip to Deb – a store that we had gone to 4 times before.  By this time I was literally praying we would find her something that I deemed appropriate for a 14 year old girl, but that she felt pretty and comfortable in and that would be similar to what the other girls were wearing.  (Not an easy task for a 5’7, broad-shouldered teen with size 11 feet)

She took 6 dresses into the dressing room and proceeded to put on her favorite, a sparkly slim-lined sequined dress.

When she opened the door with a pleading look on her face, I knew she loved it.  I scrutinized it, looking at the length, the sleeveless top, the fit….

and then with tears in my eyes I nodded my head in agreement.  I literally wanted to sob with relief that after all this time, we were coming home with a dress.

And if that wasn’t lucky enough, when we went to check out, the cashier gave us the total price.  $9.87.  It had been marked down 80%!

By this time I had been willing to pay any amount of money to just come home with a dress.  But to have it less than $10.  Sheesh.  I really felt my prayers had been answered.

So my cookie dough is still unbaked.  And my cupcakes are still not frosted.  And the laundry is still in baskets.

But we made it home in time for her orientation, and she’ll be going to her dance feeling great about how she’s dressed.   I am going into work tomorrow with one less thing to worry about.

May the fourth continue to be with me until Mother’s Day.

(Not one word about how late I am with that joke… I’ve been behind all week, and I’m just glad to have something else out of the way….)

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Next Time I’ll Just Work It

  1. Rock Chef

    May 10, 2013 at 8:44 am

    “Everything else I did still needs to be done” – what a great line!

    Well IMO you got the most important thing done – daughters need dresses, anything else can wait.

     
  2. shadowrun300

    May 10, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    Ha. I worked my tail off that day doing all sorts of things, but nothing was done…finished…completed. In fact, it’s STILL not done. But I MAY get to the laundry before work today….
    And yes, her dress was the most important thing. It had to be just right in her mind, and I was willing to do whatever it took to find it. It took forever and exhausted both of us, but we did it. Such a great feeling!

     
  3. Abby

    May 10, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    This can be a busy time of year with school kids, but your less-than-10-dollar dress find stopped me in my tracks! That makes the frostingless cupcakes and the unbaked cookies and etc. SO justified! You deserve a Royal Mother’s day.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

      I couldn’t believe it either. We had actually bought a $100 dress the day before, but neither of us felt it was “just right”, but we needed something just in case Wednesday’s trip came up dress-less. So on Wednesday, when we found the right dress and realized it was less than $10 we were ecstatic! The other dress was returned in no time flat!
      I hope to have a ‘dumb’ Mother’s Day. That’s all I want. Should I wish the same for you?

       
  4. territerri

    May 11, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    Oh, how I know that feeling! The middle and high school years are some of the busiest ones. And we moms put such expectations on ourselves – to be successful in our jobs, do it all for our kids and families and still find time to give to activities that fulfill our own selves.

    Why do we put such pressure on ourselves? I don’t know. Just know that you’re not alone. Some days you’ll get it all done. Many other days you won’t. We can only keep reminding ourselves that in the long run, it doesn’t really matter whether the house was perfect or not, or that we sometimes cooked hot dogs for dinner, or whether the grass was perfectly manicured. It matters that we do our best and have the love of our friends and family.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 11, 2013 at 6:33 pm

      Add to that – wanting to lessen the work my hubby has to do at home and with the kids since he’s STILL having to take care of his mom. It’s really been overwhelming. I have one more night of work and then I’m off again for one day. I plan to take a chapter out of Rock Chef’s book and just relax all afternoon. Keep your fingers crossed for me that it all works out as planned!

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    May 11, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    I have no idea how you manage to work those crazy hours and/or get ANYTHING else done, ever. Even half done.

    “So the day was neither restful nor productive” – Ugh. That’s terrible!

    But HOORAY for finally getting the dress AND ay 80% off! Holy crow!

     
  6. lottajoy

    May 12, 2013 at 4:38 am

    I laughed when you typed “May the FOURTH be with me”. Which shows how stressed you’ve been. Getting one thing done in your life is worth it’s weight in gold. May the FORCE be with you.

     
  7. agg79

    May 13, 2013 at 1:50 am

    The fourth was definitely with you that day. That’s a lot to juggle for one person on one day but glad it wound up in your favor. To FINALLY find the right dress is almost as much relief as finally seeing the finish line. And for the price you paid, well, that’s like finishing the race only to find out you were the top of your bracket! Double kudos! Whoot-whoot!! (as terri would say). Great end to a stressful day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
