RSS

A Beautiful Day

15 May

Is it okay to say it was a beautiful day for a funeral?

Because it WAS a beautiful day.    Sad of course, but sunny and warm with a slight breeze to dry our tears.

I’m bettin’ she planned it this way.

Looking back on yesterday’s events, I feel the need to send a bunch of kudos to the funeral home directors – a family of three boys who own and operate one of the two funeral home choices in the county. They are so professional, so respectful, and made things incredibly easy for us.  They took all of the guess work out of everything – for us, for my boys the pall bearers, and for the extended family.

They knew everyone’s names, and all their connections, and if we forgot a distant relative, they remembered!

After the funeral service, they took all the flowers and plants to the house for us, then met us back at the school cafeteria (which doubles as the funeral hall), to let us know what our next steps would be.

They did an amazing job, and I can’t thank them enough.

And thank goodness they were there.  Rose’s funeral was extremely difficult for us.  We had just buried Fred 4 months ago, and losing Rose so quickly afterwards has been hard.  Many people advised us not to feel like orphans, but in a sense, we do.  Not only have we lost a great mother and grandmother, but we’ve lost the anchor to our family.  Because of this, many tears were shed throughout the day.  Mario especially had a difficult time.  She and Rose had been quite close, getting together once or twice a week to play cards and catch up with each other.  Closing these doors will take quite a toll on us, I have a feeling.

But in the midst of all our sadness is a sense of relief.  She’s at peace now.  No longer is she in pain.  No longer is she struggling to breathe.  She’s with her beloved husband, whom she’s known since they were young children.  And we feel like we can breathe again.

when one door closes

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in Family

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “A Beautiful Day

  1. Rock Chef

    May 15, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    My family always uses the same funeral directors – they are great, just like you say. I guess you only do that sort of work if you really want to do it and do a good job.

    The saying in that photo is so right. Thinking of you all…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      You’re right. You only do that job if you WANT to. And if you WANT to do something, you usually will do it well. I love customer service, and love to help others and make things easy for them, but I don’t think I could do what they do.
      Thanks for thinking of us. It definitely helps. We feel a little emptiness, but we’re making it through.

       
  2. Abby

    May 15, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Good funeral directors are literal Godsends. I’m so glad you had that benefit in the midst of the mourning.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2013 at 7:38 pm

      Without a doubt! I imagine some people have a hard time putting one foot in front of the other during these times, so to them, a great funeral director is a must. We were so thankful for them! I sure couldn’t do it, but I’m glad they can!

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    May 15, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    I am very happy the Funeral home did such a good job for your family. It’s hard enough dealing with the grief. I’m glad it went smoothly and you had nice weather too.

    “But in the midst of all our sadness is a sense of relief.  She’s at peace now.  No longer is she in pain.  No longer is she struggling to breathe.  She’s with her beloved husband, whom she’s known since they were young children.  And we feel like we can breathe again.”

    HUGS!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 17, 2013 at 1:59 am

      It’s hard to compliment a funeral. After all, it’s an incredibly sad time. But they made it so easy for us!

       
  4. agg79

    May 17, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Funeral directors typically deal with people at the lowest points in their lives. Like Abby, I consider it a godsend that you have such a great group to lean upon at this time. They knew what was needed to help the family through this time of mourning. It is heartbreaking to lose one you love so dearly but at the same time a relief from the pain and suffering.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 17, 2013 at 2:06 am

      I still think of you and Mrs. Agg quite often, knowing that you’re going through many of the same things. It really IS a relief to have relief — yet so sad. Especially since Rose was the second parent to go. It feels so final.
      Still sending good vibes your way…

       
  5. territerri

    May 18, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that you had such a beautiful day. Saying goodbye is hard enough without the added pressures of bad weather and stress. I know the coming weeks and months will continue to carry some sadness with them, but hopefully you can all begin to heal as well.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 21, 2013 at 1:49 am

      Yeah – I think we’ll feel an emptiness in our hearts for a long time. I feel so lucky to have landed some incredible in-laws. I couldn’t wait to become a member of the family. 🙂

       
  6. llcooljoe

    May 20, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Just popped over from Abby’s blog. It’s so hard losing people we love. I think Funeral directors do a wonderful job, in fact I don’t know how they do it, dealing with death and sadness all the time. The are always very respectful and totally professional.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 20, 2013 at 2:49 pm

      I can’t tell you how much it warms my heart to have you pop over and take the time to comment! I knew exactly who you were! 🙂
      You really do have to admire funeral directors. It’s a tough job I’m sure. But they handle it so well!

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 31, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    I am sorry for your loss… I am glad you had the blessing to have a good funeral home… in the midst of all the pain you shouldn’t have to worry about anything else… I am just reading this now that I am trying to catch up with all the stuff I didn’t read while “I was gone” Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 1, 2013 at 1:24 am

      Have I mentioned that I’m happy to have you back bloggin’ again? 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
