RSS

For Rent

25 May

There was a time when I loved summer vacation from school.   It goes without saying that way back when I was in school, summer vacation rocked!  And later, as a teacher…. summer vacation rocked!  And even when the kids were younger, and I was a stay-at-home mom, summer vacation rocked!

But this year… it’s not rockin’.   In fact, Hubby and I are a little scared.

Right now, half of our kids have NO plans for the summer, and it’s not sittin’ well with either of us.  My hubby is especially worried since he works from home and will witness the sloth-like activities all day long.

We’ve been dropping subtle hints to Chip and Amp for the past month or so that we won’t allow a summer of nothingness.  And they nod their heads and assure us it won’t be.

Yet we’re only a few days into the break and already we know it WILL be.

The subtle hints have now turned into full blown nagging.

What’s with these kids?  When I was their age, I was never home!  I worked part-time and then spent the rest of my time with friends, or at the mall, or basically anywhere that was NOT home.

We’ve made home life way too easy for them.

sigh

At least the other half will be busy.  And the fact that Mario is one of them will actually keep Chip and Amp busy, since I plan to just make them run her around.  So there!

I like Abby’s idea of renting them out.  Anybody need a quiet teenage boy who knows his way around video games and computers like nobody’s business?

There’s only two left.  Get ’em while they last!

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “For Rent

  1. Abby

    May 25, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Oh, I hear ya. I was never home either, what’s with these kids today??
    We’ve got one with a full-time job, one still “looking”, and one who can watch YouTube like nobody’s business.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 26, 2013 at 10:30 am

      Am I THAT nice that they never want to leave? I hardly think so.
      And yeah, my two are “looking” too….

       
  2. lottajoy

    May 26, 2013 at 1:12 am

    If you truly think about it, we had NO REASON to stay home. There was such a thing as boredom, and the fact we couldn’t WAIT til we were old enough to break free. That doesn’t seem to be a problem for kids now.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 26, 2013 at 10:33 am

      You’re right. In fact, I had every reason to LEAVE home. I think that’s where I messed up. I’ve made things too easy for them. My constant nagging these days should help with that issue.

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 26, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    lol! Renting them out! Funny! Well, the thing is that in the past if you stayed home you didn’t hang out with your friends… and nowadays if you have a smartphone you hang out with your friends the same (or more) as if you were with them… Youth today (not everyone but many) seems unable to communicate, to really connect… weird!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 27, 2013 at 1:15 am

      I guess that’s true. They can communicate with their friends online, by phone, by texts, and even play video games with them from the comfort of their own home. Why leave?
      Just yesterday I heard Link and Amp carrying on a conversation with WORDS. Face to face! I was so relieved to know they haven’t forgotten how to talk!

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        May 27, 2013 at 1:05 pm

        LOL! And our children will not be able to complain about their moms… “we get it” “we’re into the internet too” but… we also know the value of talking with the people in front of you… 🙂 … I get worried when I see my little ones “easily bored” and it’s because they’re born in a time when “you don’t need to wait for anything” … at least video games are only allowed in the weekends and for about 1/2 an hour only here… but I hope I’ll be able to teach them about patience, waiting and being able to use their brains when it seems “there’s nothing exciting” going on 😛

         
  4. territerri

    May 27, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    It’s always a balancing act when the kids are at this stage in life, isn’t it? We want them to be productive, not just gone off somewhere doing “something.” But based on the college kids I know, jobs aren’t easy to come by right now. And you could always keep a running list of things that they can do for you around the house and yard. But somehow that becomes one more thing for you to monitor. It’s stressful no matter how it works out. I hope the summer takes a little more shape for your boys soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 28, 2013 at 2:28 am

      Yep. I’ve thought about the ‘odd jobs around the house’ job for them, but sometimes it’s easier to just do it ourselves than to make sure they’re doing it. I’ll give ’em another week to find something productive to do, (it doesn’t necessarily have to be a job) and then I’m taking over.
      As usual, Mario has enough activities planned to kind of even out the boys.

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 28, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    I know what you are talking about – but I think I find it sort of flattering that the kids aren’t desperate to escape the house, makes me feel like we have done a good job as parents.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 28, 2013 at 1:39 pm

      Not that my parents did a “bad” job, but as soon as I turned 18 I was out of the house. I struggled with bills, but I don’t really regret it. I wanted my independence and to only have to answer to myself.
      I don’t mind at all that the kids are still at home, and I’m glad we didn’t make them want to bail as soon as they were old enough. What I do mind is the sleeping til noon and then doing nothing the rest of the day. If we’re going to continue to support them, I expect them to be somewhat productive. I think they understand that, but they’re not always sure what to do. And the lure of video games can be somewhat overwhelming.

       
  6. agg79

    May 29, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Sounds like you definitely have a challenge on your hands. How to motivate them out of the house? I agree with Lotta – when we were younger, we where happy to get out of the house. I had several jobs in my youth that I liked to think built character. As things have become easier, it is easier/more comfortable to stay home than to venture outside into the cold, cruel world. I am thinking of Spaniard conquistador, Hernán Cortés who scuttled his ships to prevent his men from returning home and inspire them to success. Perhaps making things less “comfortable” or “convenient” would inspire your tribe to seek outside entertainment/employment. No internet or cable during the day? Having them pay for the internet/cable bills? Cruel? Perhaps. But it might serve to drive home the point.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 30, 2013 at 6:09 am

      Nope. Not cruel at all. In fact “renting the internet” from us is a brilliant idea! If THEY have to pay for it, I’m bettin’ they spend less time on it.
      But that means WE have to monitor it. ugh. Therein lies our problem. You sure you don’t want ’em?

       
  7. meleah rebeccah

    June 2, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Thankfully my 17 year old son has a job that should keep him busy throughout the summer! I can’t stand hearing, “I’m bored!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
