RSS

Miss Goody Two Shoes

01 Jun

I’ve always been a Goody Two Shoes.

Even now, I have a difficult time NOT following the rules.

So years ago, when my mom taught me if I can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all, it stuck with me.

And that’s why I haven’t blogged for a while.  I’m having a hard time coming up with something nice to say.  All I really want to do is whine and complain about how tired and busy I’ve been, but then I think about what my dad used to say….

“If you don’t stop whining, I’ll give you something to whine about!”

Of course, I don’t want something REAL to whine about, so again, I chose not to blog.

But then I remembered,  I am an ADULT now,  and I’ll whine if I want to.  *hmph*

So here I go.  (You’ve had your warning.)

I am sooo tired.

Work has been insanely busy.  Which I love!  I think.

The city is holding a huge convention of educators from all over the world, and they’ve been arriving the last few days.  Which isn’t that big of a deal, but we’ve been oversold the last few nights.   Being the supervisor, the balancing of rooms has fallen to me.  I’ve spent the last few days calling other hotels, checking their availability, asking them to hold rooms for me, and then calling arriving guests and begging, coercing, groveling at their feet, until they agree to stay at a different hotel for free.

You’d think most people would jump at a chance to stay a night for free, but usually it involves some inconvenience.  Our hotel is located very near Busch Stadium, where the Cardinal’s play, which is a big draw for us.  If the guests stay at a different hotel, the walk to the stadium becomes the issue.

More begging, more coercing, and more groveling ensued, until we were all happy.

It’s worked out splendidly these last few nights, but the stress, the late nights, and the early mornings have all been catching up to me.

And last night, after leaving the hotel at 11pm, and driving through a torrential downpour to get home, I plopped on the couch with a bowl of ice cream, ready to rest.  And rest I did.  I actually fell asleep while eating my ice cream.  I’d wake up, take another bite, and drift right back off to sleep.  I had to laugh at myself.  But I wasn’t backing down.  I wasn’t going to bed without finishing it.  It’s a rule I have.  And I follow the rules.

Hold on, I’m not done whining yet…. there’s more!

I’ve had split days off for the past three weeks, so I haven’t had a real weekend in a long time.  I worked 4, was off 1, worked 4, off 1, and after today, I’ll work 6!

The three day Memorial Weekend that people with normal jobs have was rolled into ONE day for me… the day AFTER Memorial Day.  It was great.  I fit everything in – motorcycling, cleaning, baking, relaxing – but then it was right back to work.

No matter though.  Most of the reason I have to work the next six days is because we leave on Friday for our half-the-family family vacation!

Hubby and I are taking Mario and Amp to Texas for a four-night, fun-filled, educational, relaxing good time!  .

I can already taste the Texas BBQ,  I can already see myself lounging on the roof top pool, I can already picture myself visiting the Alamo, I can already see the beauty of the Riverwalk and  I can already feel the coolness of the river as I glide along in my tube.

With the help of a fellow Texan, (thanks, Agg!) our trip has been planned.

Yee-haw!  San Antonio, here we come!

I hope I can stay awake for it.

vacation

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in Everyday Living, The Hotel, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Miss Goody Two Shoes

  1. Melissa Gastorf

    June 1, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Enjoy your trip, it sounds like you deserve it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 2, 2013 at 1:19 am

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to it. This time, I’LL be the guest. 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    June 1, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    I know exactly how you feel about thinking you shouldn’t complain on your blog. I tend to hold myself to that same rule, and then I end up letting days pass by without writing. (I recently let almost two weeks go by with no post, and then it was such an effort to write when I finally did!)

    I’m GLAD you wrote here about your struggles with work and not having enough time to yourself. It makes me realize that others have the same problems I do sometimes with trying to find a balance. Keeping a positive attitude can be such a challenge when life feels out of control.

    We shouldn’t refrain from writing anything less than beautiful, happy and fun. Life is all about the ups AND the downs! So thank you for sharing yours. I’m glad you’ve got a vacation coming up. Sure sounds like you could use one.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 2, 2013 at 1:22 am

      I suppose deep down I know I really have nothing to complain about. I lead a pretty good life, and I really do LOVE my job…. it just gets hard sometimes and a good venting session always helps. So thanks for listening!

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 1, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    Don’t worry… it’s ok to whine once in a while! LOL! 🙂 I was wondering if you woke up to find melted ice cream all over you… 😛

    Your vacation sounds awesome! I am sure you’ll re-charge there! 🙂 Sorry the next six days will seem longer, a week before vacations is like torture! I’ll send you good vibe from here!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 2, 2013 at 1:24 am

      It was melting, but I managed to keep it contained in my bowl 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    June 1, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    From the week you’ve had, you definitely deserve a break away from it all. I’ve been down that same path of going absent from blogging for days on end. Hard to get restarted after slacking off for a week or two.

    I hope the trip pans out like you have planned and you guys have fun on the Riverwalk. Here’s to good BBQ and safe travels. Take lots of pictures.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 2, 2013 at 1:27 am

      If we can get all the transportation logistics worked out, it should prove to be lots of fun! Thanks for all the great advice! And yes.. there will be pictures. But they’ll go through much scrutiny before they get posted. 😉

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    June 2, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    You have every right to be whining! If I dealt with what you’re dealing with, I would be whiny too!

    I hope you have the best vacation getaway EVER!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Uhh… you deal with MUCH more than I do! I’ve got it pretty good, so I really shouldn’t whine. But sometimes I just want to. 🙂
      I’ll be sure to blog about my vacation so you can see first hand if it was the best EVER!

       
  6. Abby

    June 3, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Whew! Vacay just in time sounds like. When I was a “hotel chick”, I enjoyed the job quite a bit but saw how difficult the demanding schedule is on people with families. I hope any future ice cream naps are of your choosing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2013 at 12:38 am

      Yep. As much as I love my job, the scheduling can really wear a person thin. It’s not a 9-5 job for sure and for the most part I can accept that. Just sometimes it’s hard….
      Next time I’ll know to nap before I sit down to rest with a bowl of ice cream! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
