RSS

Tomorrow

06 Jun

Our plane leaves in 36 hours.  I haven’t packed.  I haven’t cleaned.  I haven’t rented the car.  I haven’t stocked the fridge for the two remaining kids.

I’m scheduled to work for most of the day tomorrow, leaving tomorrow night to get it all done.  I have a plan though. To make it easier on myself, I’m gonna leave out the cleaning.  Yeah, that sounds good.  Link and Chip wouldn’t keep it clean anyway.  They’d more appreciate a stocked fridge. But if I’m honest, that probably won’t get done either, so I’ll just throw a few twenties on the counter before we go.

I’ve done the research on cheap rental cars, but I haven’t pulled the trigger. I’ll do that tomorrow night, since I’m blogging right now, and I’ve already talked myself out of cleaning and shopping, so that’ll free up some time.

The kids and Hubby are in charge of their own packing, so all I have to do is unload my closet and drawers into the remaining spaces of the suitcases.  I’m not high maintenance, at least not in comparison to some people I know, but I do not travel lightly.  I’d rather have too much stuff than wish I had brought a certain something with me.

We’ve arranged for the oldest kids to take us to and from the Metro Link since I don’t want them driving through the city to get to the airport.  We’ll leave the house at 4:30 AM on Friday.  Link chose to do this one.  It’s considered early for most of us, but for him, it’s late at night.  He’ll just go to bed when he gets home.

Only when we’re settled on the plane will I finally feel the stress melt away.  It would help if I was being productive right now, but I’m tired, and I want some ice cream, and the mind-numbing-ness of the computer is too tempting.  Besides I do my best work under pressure.

So tomorrow, you might not see too much of me, because what’s due tomorrow I’ll actually have to do tomorrow.

But…

procrastinate

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2013 in Family, Parenting, Vacation

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Tomorrow

  1. Abby

    June 6, 2013 at 2:29 am

    I’m confident you will pull it all off! As someone who just returned from a (albeit shorter) trip, I pretty much followed your plan. It was so much easier to pack and prepare when I was under the gun to do so! Whatever works… And hey, you’ve already got the cleaning and food shopping taken care of!
    I’m with you too on “early morning” translating as “late at night”. Bon voyage! I’ll be watching for updates!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2013 at 1:19 am

      Thanks for your vote of confidence. I have a quick update. My suitcase is MOSTLY packed. The laundry is MOSTLY done, and the house is just as dirty as I’d planned. But get this…. the twenties are ALREADY on the counter! I did something ahead of time! 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    June 6, 2013 at 8:40 am

    Well have a great time – and make sure you take a ton of photos so you can blog them to us when you get back!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2013 at 1:21 am

      Yes! I plan to take lots of photos and blog about my trip! May not be as fancy as Malta, but I’m expecting to have lots of fun!

       
  3. agg79

    June 6, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Your travel prep plans sound a lot like mine. Leaving in 24 hours and haven’t packed, yet? Not to worry, that is what the night before is for. And I also typically pack too much. But, like you, I will fret over the details up until we are on the plane. Once the plane lifts off, I figure there’s nothing more I can do and what happens, happens. Besides, if you forgot something, there is always a Walmart or CVS nearby. Bonne Journee!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2013 at 1:40 am

      Funny you mentioned Walmart. The first thing I did after arriving in Colorado for the mud run, was hit up the Walmart for the things I’d forgotten.
      Less than 12 hours and I’ll be heading your way!

       
  4. territerri

    June 8, 2013 at 3:32 am

    I like how you worked out a justification for not doing so many of the things that need doing. And the procrastination? So much like me. I can’t really be effective until there’s a time crunch looming over my head.

    I know how much you need this vacation. I hope you have a GREAT time and I’m looking forward to pictures after you get back.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 9, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      I can always find justification to NOT clean. 🙂
      We’re down in San Antonio now, and we did not forget a thing, and I’m no longer worried about whether the older boys will be okay. They’re loving a little bit of freedom, I’m sure! I’ll be back soon to blog about all the goings on down here!

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    June 10, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I love how you talked yourself out of cleaning and shopping! That really made me laugh. Travel safe and have a FABULOUS time! I can’t wait to hear all about it when you return!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 11, 2013 at 5:17 pm

      I find it pretty easy to talk myself out of cleaning. And the boys preferred the cash over MY grocery shopping. I’m sure they used it for pizza and such….

       

Leave a Reply

 
