RSS

Not For the Squeamish

16 Jun

As soon as I saw StupidTom’s latest title, Road Tripped, I wondered if he’d experienced the same thing I did. After reading through his story, I realized that although his road trip experience was certainly quite painful, it stung in a completely different way than mine.

I debated if I should post a pic… but only for a second.  This is too good NOT to show.

But be warned.

…….

It’s yucky.

…….

Ouchie!

Ew… it makes ME sick to look at it.

But this is what happens when you run too close to the edge of the sidewalk, and your foot slips off just a little bit, and it causes you to lose your footing, and you stumble for what seems like hours before crashing to the ground.

This is the result of MY road trip.

Funny thing is, I don’t remember landing on my shoulder.  I remember hitting my palms, and my knee, and my face – all with their own little scrapes and bruises, – but I don’t remember hitting my shoulder.

But I musta.  Pictures don’t lie.

I picked myself up immediately and continued to run before assessing the damage.  I managed three more miles before I was ready to give in to the sore shoulder that was now hurting inside and out.

It’s been a few days now, and I have a little more mobility.  Quite a relief since I first thought I may have seriously injured it.  In the hours after the fall, I couldn’t move my arm at all.

As he was bandaging me up, Hubby mentioned what it must be like to fall off while riding a bike, or worse yet, a motorcycle.  I agreed and said “I know I’m fast and all….”

“Not fast enough to catch yourself!” he reminded me.

I couldn’t help but laugh.  Fat lip and all.  Yeah – I couldn’t quite catch myself this time.  But now that I’ve been challenged, I’ll be working on my speed.  ‘Cause next time, I WILL be fast enough!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in Blunders, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Not For the Squeamish

  1. agg79

    June 16, 2013 at 3:13 am

    Owie. That one looks like it really hurts. A lot. I did the same maneuver a few years back before my first half and earned myself a dislocated shoulder as a consolation prize. I even remember the same slow motion comedic fall. Was trying to protect my iPod from the impact. Felt really stupid but it hurt like hell. Glad to hear there was no serious damage. You gotta watch your feet. Those sidewalks/curbs can be sneaky at times. Get some neosporin on that shoulder and keep it bandaged up. I hope it doesn’t hurt to bad in the morning.

     
  2. shadowrun300

    June 16, 2013 at 11:36 am

    It did hurt. A LOT. And I had to take a shower right after since I was working. I couldn’t even lift my arm to wash my hair. And of course, I didn’t want ANYthing touching it – not even water. A couple of Advil with my coffee helped.
    I thought about you afterwards. I knew you had dislocated your shoulder, and I was worried since I couldn’t move it at first, that I may have done something serious to it too. Luckily it was just a scratch. ha.
    And yeah, I have to laugh when I think about what I must have looked like going down. It really did seem to take forever. But thank goodness I got a few steps in before hittin’ the ground. It could have been much worse!

     
  3. Abby

    June 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Migosh, woman! That looks like a road trip to remember. And yes, it sounds very similar to Agg’s shoulder mishap. But hey, real runners have scars, wear them proudly! (but keep the Advil handy)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2013 at 1:58 am

      I’m very proud of it! That’s why I showed it off! 😉
      I tell Mario every time she points out a bruise or scratch that it shows she’s being active – it’s a good thing.

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    June 16, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    OHMYGOD!! You poor thing!! I am cringing just looking at that photo! I hope it heals quickly!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2013 at 2:03 am

      ugh. Not looking forward to the healing process. It starts to scab up, I move my shoulder, the scab cracks, it hurts….. yuck.
      But thanks for the good wishes. I always feel bad complaining to you. 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    June 17, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Nasty! Reminds me of the time I got a steam burn on my arm – took weeks to heal 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2013 at 12:32 pm

      oooh. ouch! Mine will probably take a while too. I scraped off a lot of skin. I asked my hubby if he thought anything looked swollen. He said it just looks flat.

       
  6. territerri

    June 21, 2013 at 12:33 am

    OW! That looks nasty! Much more impressive than the scab and bruise I’m sporting on my ankle after throwing my bowling ball at it. (Don’t ask. I don’t even know how one manages to hit their ankle when attempting to throw the ball down the lane!)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 21, 2013 at 12:47 am

      Ooooh… I’ve done that before while bowling too. Not sure how it happens, but it hurts! And it usually goes straight in the gutter.
      I wonder how I scraped the top of my shoulder so much. Must have had a lot of forward motion. I’d love to see it in slow motion. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
