RSS

Hold Your Applause

18 Jun

First let me wish all my favorite blogger fathers a belated Happy Father’s Day.  Don’t be offended that I’m late.  My own Dad’s card is still sitting on the counter.  But I’ve told him I have it, so that counts.  (Right Dad?)

I was fortunate enough (ha) to work on Father’s Day.  I think my Hubby had a good day.  I actually had Saturday off, and had all these plans for us spinning in my mind.  But then I found out HE had to work!  ugh. I never get a Saturday off.  He never has to work on Saturdays.  Just good luck, I guess.

I took advantage of a quiet house to bake something just for him, that I hoped he would love, so he would know how much I love him.

His favorite ice cream is butter pecan, so I made him butter pecan cookies.

Butter Pecan Cookies

And because he loves pie and the Florida Keys, I made him Key Lime pie with homemade whipped cream.

Key Lime Pie

Both of these were a first for me, but they turned out pretty good.  (The pictures?  Not so much.) I think I made him a little uncomfortable staring at him while awaiting his reaction.  But I needed to know.  It was the only thing I was doing for him, since I’d be working all day on Father’s Day.  Of course he told me he loved them while I was standing there, but when I saw him eating seconds… that’s when I knew he really did.

We also managed to squeeze in a motorcycle ride on his motorcycle.  I had wanted to ride mine, but I was a little concerned about handling the bike with my sore shoulder, so when it wouldn’t start due to a dead battery, I took it as a sign that I should probably just piggy-back on his.  It was kinda nice to wrap my arms around him and sit back and enjoy the ride.

Speaking of my sore shoulder….  It’s starting to heal and form a scab.  Such a painful process.  I still don’t want anything to touch it, but at least I’m able to move it.  My mom used to put vitamin E on our big ouchies when I was little, so that’s what I’m doing now.  It helps keep it soft so it doesn’t crack and pull when I move it.

And just so ya’ll know, I hit the big time with my last postImodiumAbuser.com is now following my blog.  But don’t worry.  I won’t forget all you little people who helped me get my start.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2013 in Baking, Family, Holidays, motorcycle

 

12 responses to “Hold Your Applause

  1. Rock Chef

    June 18, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Cookies and cheesecake – wonderful!

    People abuse imodium? Wow…

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 18, 2013 at 10:08 pm

      Who knew? Maybe too much cookies and pie leads to it?

       
  2. agg79

    June 18, 2013 at 10:46 am

    At least you got your dad a card. I have to figure out exactly where my dad is going to be so that I can try to get a card to arrive there in time. It sort of makes me think of the Temptations song (Papa Was a Rolling Stone). I forgot to tell you to try some local ice cream while you were down here last week. Blue Bell can make some really awesome Butter Pecan (but my favorite is Cookies and Cream).

    Glad to hear the shoulder is healing up. That’s going to sore for a while.

    Wow. So you have now hit the big time with ImodiumAbuser.com. Can I get your autograph?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 18, 2013 at 10:13 pm

      Yeah, with your dad’s schedule, I think a text would be sufficient.
      You know, I ate ice cream EVERY night, but not once did I have Blue Bell. How could I have forgotten? We found a neat little place on the River Walk that sold ice cream, fro yo, gelato, sherbet, etc. I got hooked on the tiramisu. coffee, hazelnut and rum. I had a different combination each night. Guess I’ll just have to go back down for some Blue Bell.
      Lots of people have been vying for ImodiumAbuser.com’s sponsorship, but they chose little ol’ me. If you want my autograph, come to St. Louis. 😉

       
      • agg79

        June 19, 2013 at 2:05 am

        With all that ice cream, tiramisu, gelato and desserts, you’ll have to put in a few more miles to counteract the effect.

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 19, 2013 at 2:17 am

        Actually, I ate all that ice cream to counteract all the miles we put in. 🙂

         
  3. meleah rebeccah

    June 18, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    “Of course he told me he loved them while I was standing there, but when I saw him eating seconds… that’s when I knew he really did.”

    Oh yes. Seeing someone eat seconds definitely means they REALLY loved it.

    Glad your shoulder is healing well!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 18, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks, Meleah! It’s gonna be a s-l-o-w process, but it gets better each day.

       
  4. Abby

    June 18, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I got lucky and ended up marrying someone who eats pretty much anything I put in front of him. Must be the Autism…
    I’m sure YOUR treats were delish, and I can totally see you staring at him all expectedly. Happy belated Father’s Day to him!

    Glad the shoulder’s healing, vitamin E sounds like a good idea, but be sure to abuse some Imodium too – to keep the followers happy.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

      I think my hubby would think Magnum is lucky because he married somebody who puts something in front of him. All my hubby gets is baked goods. And now, Imodium.

       
  5. territerri

    June 21, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Thank you! You have just eased my guilt for not getting over to see my dad and deliver his Father’s Day card until Tuesday after Father’s Day. I didn’t do anything special for my hubby for Father’s Day. For one thing, his Mother’s Day attitude happens to be “You’re not MY mother.” So I hold the same attitude for Father’s Day. Also, I told him a couple months ago when he bought a huge new, 3D, HD television, that he should consider it his birthday, Father’s Day and anniversary present.

    The treats you made look and sound delicious! I can imagine how much your hubby enjoyed them. And I’m glad you could get out for a ride together. Sounds fun!

    Imodium abuse? Why? Weight loss plan, maybe? I dunno. Doesn’t sound nearly as invigorating as running.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 21, 2013 at 12:54 am

      Other than the baking, Hubby and I usually don’t do more than a card for Mother’s and Father’s Day. And we do the same thing with big purchases – they count for everything!
      I don’t get the Imodium abuse connection either. Maybe because I linked it health? Or perhaps running and Imodium go together? I don’t know. But I know I’m not abusing it – unless you count neglect as abuse.

       

Leave a Reply

 
