RSS

Wrapping Up

25 Jun

I’m wrapping things up as most people are just starting their week, it being Monday and all.  But I’ve always preferred to do things my  own way.  Okay.  I’m really doing things my scheduler’s way.  And my schedule has Monday, today, as the last day of the week.  At least this go around.

Church Lady left yesterday.  She got a few more jabs in before she left.  And even when she was on her bus, she called a few times.  It was for nothing in particular.  She thought she might have left something in her room.  I think she might have just needed to continue to boss us around.  Members of her group stopped by a few times to secretly apologize for her behavior.  It helps to know that she’s like that with everyone she comes in contact with.  At least we only had to be her “friend” for a week.

My shoulder is healing nicely.  Most of the layers have grown back so it’s not quite as flat as it was.  My diligence at applying vitamin E  paid off.  The house is littered with little vitamin E ‘prunes’, but it kept a yucky scab from forming.  At this point, I’m most upset that I shaved off a part of my great Texas tan.  The light pink color of my new skin really stands out.  But as Abby mentioned, it’s a battle scar, and I’ll show it off proudly!

Yesterday, I saw my daughter for the first time in 7 days.  I hardly recognized her.  She looked so grown up standing on the stage where she and her camp friends were performing the show they spent the last week learning and rehearsing.  It was beneficial for her in many ways.  Being a music, art, and drama camp, it enabled her to make friends from all over who are interested in the same things she is.  Being an overnight camp allowed her to be independent.  And being a church sponsored camp, of another denomination, gave her a taste of how others worship and believe.  I’d love for her to make her own decisions about her faith, especially since we haven’t been very dedicated Catholics as of late.

But the biggest lesson she learned?  That she CAN go a whole week without her cell phone.  The camp did not even allow them to bring it.  I think I had a more difficult time with it than she did.  I missed her.  Even more so when I knew I couldn’t talk to her or send her a text.

I brought her phone with me when we picked her up.  However, I knew as soon as she had it, I would get no further information about the goings-on at camp.   So I made her share stories with us first.  It was nice to hear her ramble on (and on, and on).  When all my questions had been answered, I allowed her the phone.  As soon as she turned it on, it buzzed with multiple texts she’d been sent from friends who didn’t attend the camp.  From that point on we appreciated the silence as it was pouring down rain making it difficult for hubby to drive.  (We tried to  will it your way, Abby.  Honest.  We’re tired of it!)

So my week ended on a high note.  Better yet, I;m looking forward to having not one, not two, but three days off –  IN. A. ROW!  I’ve got motorcycle rides planned, a birthday lunch for Chip who is now 19!, and some pins that need to be baked.  Plus, I’m hoping to take a page from RC’s book and slough for part of it.  I’ll need to rest up, because when I go back to work, we’ll be preparing for our Fourth of July crowd.  The city of St. Louis knows how to celebrate Independence Day, and everyone will be coming down for it.

I wish you normal people a great week of work.  I’ll be thinking of you as I flit around on my Shadow and then slough off the rest of the time!

And I do know that turn-around is fair play.  I’ll be working this weekend when most of you are off.  It’s okay to rub it in.

but please be nice.

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Wrapping Up

  1. Rock Chef

    June 25, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Enjoy the time off – you really earned it 🙂

    Glad your daughter enjoyed camp – sounds great! Did I ever say that she makes me think of Taylor Swift? And that is a good thing as far as I am concerned.

    I am actually a little surprised (but very pleased!) that your wound is healing so well – are you going to tell the truth about how you got it, or will it be a scar from your fight to the death with Church Lady, who is now drifting down the river 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2013 at 1:03 am

      I love Taylor too. And I’ve thought the same thing about Mario – that she reminds me of a Taylor that plays piano instead of guitar. (Although we’re trying to get her to pick it up).
      I’m pleading the 5th as far as how I REALLY got my scar. Just know that Church Lady is no longer bullying us……

       
  2. Abby

    June 25, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Three days?! In a ROW? Are you being rewarded for not throttling Church Lady??
    Mario’s camp sounds like so much fun, and right up her alley. Any camp that can get a teenaged girl to give up her phone for a week has got to be special!
    I’m going to remember your vitamin E remedy… not that I’ll ever need it, but so I can pass it along to others. And rain? Yes, please.
    Enjoy your slack time! Don’t get too crazy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2013 at 1:11 am

      Yep! In a ROW! (but they’re not starting off as I had planned) :/
      Anyway…. Mom’s advice of using vitamin E was right on! She’s always told me to do it, but I never have. This time, it was bad enough that I thought I would try it. It worked so well, I plan to use it after every fall. (With my record, I’m sure there will be more.) I hope you never need to use it.
      It didn’t rain here today – does that mean you got some?

       
  3. territerri

    June 26, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Ugh. That church lady! I was really hoping you’d find a way to secretly get even with her… just a little bit! But I’m glad she’s gone anyway.

    Good to hear that your shoulder is healing. Wear your pink battle scar proudly!

    What a great idea for the camp to make kids leave their phones at home. I think most of our kids forget what it was like to not be connected 24/7. I’m glad Mario made some friends who share her interests and had such a fun week.

    Happy birthday to Chip! Hope you enjoy your time off with a good mix of productivity and slothness! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2013 at 1:33 am

      Someday, someone will give Church Lady what she deserves, and I will be thrilled. I just don’t have it in ME to do it.
      Mario told me the first day of camp dragged on, and she wasn’t sure if she could make it the whole week without her phone. But by the next day, she didn’t miss it much at all. Like I said, I missed not being able to text her more than she did.
      I’ll pass your birthday wishes on to Chip. And I’m hoping my next two days off are better. Today ended fine, but the start of it was just awful. Maybe I’ll blog about it. :/

       

Leave a Reply

 
