RSS

Tomorrow?

27 Jun

Tensions are high here in the ShadowRun household.  My ‘weekend’ isn’t quite turning out the way I had planned.

There’s been some sloughing alright, but only because I’m too down in the dumps to really do anything.

I awoke early yesterday to get some exercise in before our ride down to get the motorcycles serviced.  The plan was to get them serviced early so we could have a longer ride later.

Long story short, my battery was dead again.  We connected it to the charger.  Nothing.  Hubby tried to jump start it like he’d done many times before.  This time, however, ended in catastrophe.  I won’t go into details, but both Hubby and my Shadow are little scratched and bruised.

We canceled our service appointment, and with a heavy heart (more for my hubby than my Shadow), I decided to wash my car instead.   Seems there may be no ridin’ this weekend.

The one highlight of yesterday was lunch.  We took the kids to Applebee’s for Chip’s birthday celebration.  I always enjoy being in a relaxed setting with them.  They’re funny kids, and get along so well when they’re together.  I really hope to do it more often.

Today didn’t start out any better.  I have a new battery for the motorcycle, but I’m not pushing for Hubby to put it in.  I started to do it, but don’t trust myself at all. So I put it aside and planned to mow the lawn.

Then the rains came.  And came.  And came.  My spirits were dampened even more since I feel like I’m hogging all of Abby’s rain.

Worse yet, we found a letter from Chip’s school saying that he wasn’t accepted into the Nursing program since his scores weren’t high enough.

This news was enough for Hubby to drag all the boys out of bed for another good talkin’ to.  All of it needed to be said, of course.  I’ve written before about how lackadaisical they are being.  But the tension in the air was increased tenfold.

*big sigh*

I often like to imagine that the events, good or bad, that happen in my life are signs.  Signs that I should or shouldn’t be doing something.  Or perhaps signs that the kids should or shouldn’t be doing something.

I don’t know.

Sometimes I view them as hurdles.  Last week when my motorcycle battery was dead, it was a sign. This time I view it as a hurdle.  But what if it should be a sign? And is Chip’s letter of non-acceptance a sign or a hurdle?

I really don’t know.

But I do know I don’t like all the tension.  So I did what I do best in times of distress.

I baked.  A fresh peach cobbler.

At least our bellies are a little happier.

And the sun should be shining tomorrow.  Perhaps it will be a sunnier day for me as well.

tomorrow

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Tomorrow?

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 27, 2013 at 3:49 am

    Hi friend! I am sorry things aren’t looking quite as planned! I am happy you baked! Such a great therapy, right? Today I made a delicious (well, that’s what hubby says, you know I don’t even try that stuff) but at least I know it was a delicious LOOKING blueberry buckle. 🙂 YUM! Your peach cobbler sounds delicious… in Mexico we say: “Panza llena, corazon contento” translation: “Full belly, happy heart” and it’s true! 🙂 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2013 at 3:44 pm

      Peeling the peaches was therapeutic! 😉 I’ve also pinned a blueberry buckle recipe and am looking forward to trying it. I love anything blueberry.
      “Full belly, happy heart” – my new motto. Today’s seeming a little better ’cause of it!

       
  2. Abby

    June 27, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    I’m bummed that the “hurdles” seem to be piling up. When it rains it pours, right? Heh… sorry…
    I know other young students that don’t get into nursing programs. They can be highly selective. Maybe the rejection will be a catalyst for change? Parenting can be tough when time out is no longer an option, whew.
    Peach cobbler, though. Nice touch!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Yeah, the nursing program is very selective. I think what bothers us the most is it didn’t look like he was giving a full effort while school was in session. And of course, we wonder if he had, if things would have been different. Hard lesson to learn, but the important thing is to actually learn from it.
      Now that the kids are older, the only time-outs given now are for ME. 🙂
      The peach cobbler was scrumptious!

       
  3. territerri

    June 27, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    Ugh. I feel your pain. I really do. When I’m in a slump like this, I try to remember that there’s usually a light at the end of the tunnel. It sure can be hard to wait it out, though. Signs? Maybe. Hurdles? Maybe that too. And almost always an opportunity to learn and grow, but it sure would be nice if these opportunities didn’t have to be so painful sometimes.

    And I’m sorry about Chip not getting into the nursing program. It’s always hardest when we have to see our kids fail to get something they were striving for.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 28, 2013 at 2:47 am

      There was light today! And yes, I think we’ve all learned a few things – We as parents, Chip as a student. We’ve had great conversations since then. With all the kids.
      It’s not necessarily the end for Chip. He can reapply later, if he chooses. But he’ll have to start figuring out Plan B just in case. It’ll all work out. I’m sure of it. 🙂

       
  4. Rock Chef

    June 28, 2013 at 10:11 am

    There are times when you feel that life is just taking a huge dump on your head….

    Hope things settle soon – hm, maybe it is actually a plan by the family to get you to bake! Have you thought of that? 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 28, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      Heck. They coulda just asked.
      But I enjoy baking so much more when there’s a reason behind it – good or bad. And this time, peach cobbler was exactly what was needed to comfort us all.

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    July 1, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    Oy. Vey. What a bummer.

    But at least you made fresh peach cobbler!

     

Leave a Reply

 
